We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, but where you are looked after.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sannox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darven Cottage B&B Sannox, Isle of Arran
Ranked #1 of 2 Sannox B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2009

From ferry to bus to an unexpected welcome from David at the bus stop at Sannox and into the cosy house. Rooms and facilities clean and tidy. David can provide good home cooked evening meals usually with an inventive twist. You will not go hungry here. Arriving back after a very wet walk up Goat Fell there were no problems in drying out clothes and boots ready for the next day. We were walking around Arran on the coastal path, and to avoid us (and himself) getting up very early to catch the first bus he went the extra mile- literally - and drove us to Lochranza to start our walk, and joined us for the first mile with his dogs. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

This is one of the most welcoming B & B’s I have visited.

We has planned to stay at Aros Beag for one night, we extended this to two nights due to a combination of the standard of the accommodation, David’s welcome and good weather.

The accommodation has one double and one twin room, with a shared bathroom, our party took both rooms. The bedrooms and bathroom were both clean, well decorated etc.

What elevates this accommodation from an average review to a five star review is the attitude of the owners. David cooked us a good traditional breakfast on the first day, using what were clearly high quality ingredients, including fresh orange juice and berries. We asked where we could buy fish, intending to BBQ on the beach that night, David took us fishing! He was going out to check his own lobster pots that evening and took our party of four with him. We had a very enjoyable time catching mackerel in the bay and filleting it on the pier close to the B & B. David cooked some of this for our breakfast the next day. An unexpected, enjoyable and memorable experience.

If we return to the island we would stay in the same place and also sample the evening meals, offered by prior arrangement. Highly recommended.

If you are looking for an evening meal elsewhere the Sannox Bay Hotel and Restaurant does good meals with large portions, this is located just north of the Aros Beag Bed and Breakfast. Their main meals are not cheap, but do offer good value. Booking ahead is recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennismonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

From the moment we got to Aros Beag, we felt spoiled. After walking from Brodick (over Goat Fell), we arrived at this home-away-from-home rain-soaked and tired. Hot showers were followed by tea in the living room. We could type on our laptops and look at the view of Sannox Bay. David, our host, cooked dinner -- mouth-watering smells emanated from the kitchen. Our dinner was the best meal we had on Arran: fresh cheeses and vegetables, lamb cooked to perfection accompanied by an excellent wine. We even splurged and had two desserts: local ice-cream and berries followed by Arran cheeses! We greatly enjoyed David's hospitality and humor. He was able to accommodate food allergies easily.

Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious. David walked with us on the Coastal Way with his two dogs so we wouldn't get lost leaving Sannox. (And we didn't want to leave).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AG_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

lovely warm welcome from David. We instantly felt at home. The view from our room was awesome of Sannox Bay and the walks behind the B and B were staggeringly beautiful. Our party of six walked up Goatfell and David provided us all with a great off the cuff packed lunch for a fiver a head. On our second night David made us a very nice impromptu dinner. Lovely breakfast with free range eggs and freshly caught mackerel. David and Claire couldn't have been more accommodating even at 1 in the morning on a Sunday night after a wee swally (us, not them!). My better half has told me to mention the nice touches that gave it a great comfortable beachhouse feel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazza1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

After camping in Macrihanish for a few days, we decided to pop over to Arran to take a look. We arrived without a booking for a place to stay. A bit silly really in August but that’s just us.
So at very short notice David was able to provide us (two adults and an 8 year old) with a lovely restful room in his immaculate house.
Breakfast the next day was wonderful (really wonderful) and David is an excellent host.
We stayed one night but it was the perfect end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Had the most wonderful stay at Aros Beag in beautiful Sannox. David and Claire are a really lovely couple, very welcoming and friendly, you can tell they really enjoy what they do.
The Bedroom was clean, tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern and immaculately clean with a bath and shower.
David had checked with us in advance what types of things we liked to eat as we were also staying for the evening meals, which was really thoughtful. Breakfast was fabulous, I dont think their was anything that he didnt have, a variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and a very tasty cooked breakfast every morning with endless slices of toast! and of course a little box of coco pops for my daughter which went down a treat!
David also let my daughter feed the chickens and collect the fresh eggs from the henhouse, which she was very excited about.
In the evening we were treated to a superb three course meal all made from scratch using local ingredients including herbs from their garden.

On the last night, we dined out in Sannox, David and Claire had twelve people for dinner, this being B&B guests, friends and family, and being such great hosts we were invited to join them when we got back, what a great evening it was, a lot of lovely memories to take back to Glasgow.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and we are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndiLouGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was my first ever trip to Arran and, while the natural beauty and charm of the island was outstanding in itself, the experience was crowned off by our stay at Aros Beag. Proprietors David and Claire were welcoming from the second we pitched up. David knew we were on the late ferry and was actually looking out for us when we pulled up and promptly ventured out into the lashing rain to open his driveway gate for us. We were welcomed in, given a cup of tea and then had a very pleasant chat with the host couple before being shown our very comfortable room.

The double bedroom featured all I want in a B&B: a comfortable bed, simple but tasteful furnishings and, best of all, no TV (when you are on Arran for a weekend you shouldn’t need the distraction!) Okay, so there is one a very minor downside in that you have to share a bathroom with the occupants of the other twin room but this very minor point is overshadowed when you walk into the large and what appears to have been recently modernised facility which includes both a bath and shower.

Breakfast was served at a civilised time of 08.30 and featured a wide selection of cereals, fruits and cooked food including, locally sourced fruits and meats as well as eggs direct from hens in our hosts’ back garden. David was the chef and on both mornings my choice of poached eggs with sausages was prepared to perfection.

Like most places on Arran, the village of Sannox is beautiful, situated on the seafront with a lovely beach just a few meters from where we were staying. Access to the Goatfell trail is only 1.5 miles away. We also had the pleasure of dining in the local hotel where the food (I had venison, my wife had sea bass) was locally sourced, plentiful and delicious.

The layout of the accommodation is ideal for a B&B: the guests of the two rooms and the shared bathroom occupy one section of the house while the dining room, kitchen and hosts’ living area takes the other part. A well positioned home such as theirs gives both you and your hosts a bit of personal space too, which is something that can be an issue with some B&B’s where the accommodation is not as well set out.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend Aros Beag: a lovely setting, welcoming and very engaging hosts, clean and comfortable accommodation and excellent food. This is the way that all B&B should be. I wonder how great Scotland could be as a tourist destination if these standards were applied across the whole tourism industry?

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank billshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannox
6.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,742 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Viewbank Guest House
Viewbank Guest House
#2 of 6 in Whiting Bay
61 reviews
5.5 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
68 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darven Cottage B&B Sannox, Isle of Arran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darven Cottage B&B Sannox, Isle of Arran

Address: Darven Cottage, Sannox KA278JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Sannox
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sannox
Price Range: $46 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample a taste of traditional Scottish island life on the shoreline of beautiful Sannox Bay. We sit nestled at he foot of spectacular Glen Sannox - ideally situated for walking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing - or just chilling. Our breakfasts and evening meals feature plenty of local produce, including fish, crab and lobster landed by ourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darven Cottage B&B Sannox, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing