We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn on the Tay

The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Grandtully
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I have visited the Inn on the Tay quite a few times over the past 3 years, we discovered the restaurant by chance on a day trip we were having from Fife and decided to stop for a spot of lunch, and take in the stunning views from the the car park and decked area of the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and made a mental note to return at some stage if the opportunity arrived. We have now been back several times with friends, it takes us an hour and twenty minutes to drive from our house, and we have never had a bad meal. I have had the steak, lamb, burger, risotto and the specials and the meals have been perfect every time. The staff have always been helpful and accommodating, you feel special and a warm welcome is guaranteed every time you arrive. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant to one and all. The other bonus being they are opposite the the best chocolate shop in Scotland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A rural gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a find on a very wet October day. A stunning location on the stunning Tay. We started off in the cosy bar, complete with wood burner, where we enjoyed a lovely wine and an excellent beer. We ate in the restaurant with lovely views of the river. The food was excellent, I can thoroughly recommend the venison burger, it was clearly home made and delicious. Service was very friendly and attentive, a lovely relaxed atmosphere. What a pity we live 200 miles from it, but we will return, hopefully to stay next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great views over the River Tay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I came across this establishment on a Saturday whilst en route to the Fortingall Yew Tree and it was very busy. Many canoeists arriving and departing and the car park was almost full. I noted the beautiful views across the river from the lounge/dining room and vowed to come back at a later date. I took the family back on the Monday when it was much quieter and we had a most enjoyable lunch there whilst watching some canoeists practicing their survival skills in the water. Unfortunately, the weather was not warm enough to sit outdoors but the views from the dining room were still excellent. Afterwards, we paid a visit to the Highland Chocolatier & Legends Coffee House just across the road where we couldn't resist buying some very tasty chocolates.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beekay1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped off here for a drink at weekend. Lovely setting by the river. Watched canoes and rafts zip by through the rapids while we relaxed. Very friendly owner and staff. Would like to stay there in the future. Nice restaurant and food looked good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ootnaboot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice food with a beautiful outlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The restaurant has a beautiful outlook on to the rapids at Grandtully and is beautifully decorated, there is also an outdoor seated area though it was a bit cold when we were there. The food was very nice, infact the prawn starter my husband had was amazing!. It was just a lovely place to eat and relax for an hour or so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tweenieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn on the Tay also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing