We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrods in the Highlands”
Review of Legends of Grandtully - CLOSED

Legends of Grandtully
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chocolate Lounge is a comfortable home from home in which to relax and enjoy real coffees & fine teas paired with Iain Burnett's international award-winning Velvet Truffles and Spiced Pralines, famous truffle hot chocolates, savoury bites & cool drinks, ganache ice-cream and delicious cakes. Nestled in breath-taking Highland Perthshire, there is outdoor seating in the courtyard for warm days. After refreshments, check out the rest of the unique visitor attraction which is home of master chocolatier Iain Burnett. Watch chocolatiers at work in the production kitchen, learn about gourmet chocolate at The Scottish Chocolate Centre and browse the gift and chocolate shop. For a more in-depth experience book a tour. It's the perfect day out for all chocoholics! Open every day 10.00 to 5.00. Check the website for winter hours.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Harrods in the Highlands”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I enjoyed my visit but it is rich for my taste. Spoiled myself with some chocolate though well I was on holiday. The chocolate was the best I have ever tasted I must admit and didn't eat much only a few squares over the weekend as it is truly Rich. I dont know what I have been eating before but it hasn't been chocolate.
It was worth the visit just made me feel that I had discovered chocolate.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    17
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Precocious Cafe believing its something more important”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The good, the toilets are clean and tidy and the food/drink is okay. However its expensive for a basic cake and drink stop and what is it with the uncomfortable seats? There are better stops around the area worth more of a visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinHP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth popping in”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I visited here just prior to white water rafting across the road. Interesting wee place with educational material on chocolate making. Interesting displays of high tech choc making and the very expensive cost that are involved. Nice wee tourist type shop. Cafe lovely ambience with interesting takes on hot chocolate drinks etc, don't go here if on a diet! Overall worth a look round if in the area

Helpful?
3 Thank KHJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“WOW, £70 for a box of chocs??”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stopped here to experience the chocolate being made and the hot chocolate. We were all disappointed though. First of all there is a viewing window to watch chocolates been made but nothing was going on. Secondly the cafe although it is in the same building doesnt really have anything to do with the chocolatier particularly, so I would suggest if you want to taste home made drinking chocolate then this isnt the place to come. It was nice enough, but expensive and nothing out of the ordinary. The chocolate shop sold lots of various chocolate but you know I would never spend that much even if was the most magnificent chocolate in the world. Really Really eye wateringly expensive and no justification for the cost. So sorry, we were all feeling a bit duped by the experience advertised.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank petti120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice K, Manager at Legends of Grandtully, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit.

From our viewing window visitors have the ability to see all steps in the chocolate-making process. Some stages are more exciting than others, but there is always something happening from Monday to Friday in a working kitchen – our team work the occasional weekend.

Our Coffee and Chocolate House offers a thick and luxurious artisan hot chocolate ganache, which comes straight from Iain’s bespoke chocolate kitchen, along with a full range of coffees, teas and cakes.

In terms of pricing, all chocolates are handmade and of an artisan gourmet standard reflected in our pricing which is competitive for this type of product. In comparison to the prices of luxury chocolatiers ours are modest yet we use a 70% cocoa of single origin which is fairly rare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth getting off the A9”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

On our way back to Pitlochry from Dunkeld on the A9, we saw official-looking signs for "The Highland Chocolatier" that indicated this place was at least as large and prestigious as the distilleries of the area. We followed the signs, which led us far, far afield, to a disappointingly small and extremely unextraordinary gift shop and cafe. Definitely not worth our time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jjsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice K, Manager at Legends of Grandtully, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
So sorry you were disappointed by your visit to our premises which are 5 miles from the main A9. We are a 4 Star visitor attraction and home to the Scottish Chocolate Centre which is a unique visitor attraction dedicated to chocolate, its origins, and the wonderous ways of turning cocoa into the most sought after confections. Production of our award-winning chocolates takes place onsite in our purpose-built chocolate kitchen, which has a public viewing area.

We offer chocolate tours, but unlike the tours created by large distilleries, ours are small, intimate and very personal, allowing participants a deep insight into chocolate and providing a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of Grandtully also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing