We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A beautifully situated hotel on the bank of the River Tay. A ehite-water championship on the rapids opposite to entertain when we arrived. A pleasant room but rather lacking in basic furnishings such as a wardrobe. A good and very solid evening meal with reasonable choices and a fine breakfast. Efficient and very pleasant service. Somewhat of a disappointment after reading earlier reviews and also, compared with other hotels visited in Scotland, rather over-priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_mary159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    78
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
214
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay using an Itison voucher for dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel is in a lovely setting right on the bank of the Tay, with a lovely terrace overlooking the river. There were four of us and both rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. Without exception the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The meal the first night was very nice and contributed to a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The meal the second night however was less satisfactory. Two of our party had enjoyed the mussels starter on the first night and we were all looking forward to having them on the second night, only to be told that there were none left. This also applied to the scampi, with there only being a half portion left although they did fill this up with prawns. Three of us had the fish and chips that night but the fish was only half the size of the portion the previous night and was very overcooked, and although we all ate most of it, it was not at all nice.

Having said that, the breakfast was exceptional, with the muesli and fruit being particularly nice. Overall we had a really nice stay and would definitely go back again although we may well go elsewhere to eat. The bar is well stocked and the prices are good. As I said before the rooms are excellent but very bright, with the blinds on the two velux windows being a light purple in colour in both rooms. Unfortunately, this meant that by 0500 the rooms were totally lit up by the sun making it difficult to sleep. Fitting blackout blinds instead would sort this out.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were really nice. Rooms 4 and 5 were the rooms we were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for all your kind comments which are greatly appreciated and which we share with our team. However, as conscientious hoteliers we feel we should address some of the issues you raise.
It is unfortunate that we had run out of some of the dishes on our menu on the second night of your stay. Our kitchen had provided meals throughout the day for over 130 people in a rural location on a Tuesday. These were obviously rather exceptional circumstances and as we only provide fresh food, as opposed to frozen, inevitably some items ran out. We are more concerned with your comment regarding our Fish & Chips, although we feel slightly helpless as you were checked on throughout your meal and no issues were raised and, as you say, you ate it all without giving us any negative comment for us to address at the time.
We do note your comment regarding the blinds and will certainly investigate getting black-out blinds in the future when our rooms are less busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifer
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a most enjoyable two night stay. We were made to feel very welcome and were shown to a lovely large room looking out to the river. The whole place was spotless. A lovely airy dining room and an outside sitting area overlooking the Tay. A varied menu with a good selection of choices, the wine list ample and modestly priced. Post dinner drinks can be taken in a comfortable lounge area. All staff members most pleasant and helpful would definitely consider a return visit

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was one of a group of 12 staying for one night DBB. I concur with all the previous reviews in that it is a super small hotel; best river view anywhere; large airy rooms, extremely attentive and friendly staff. So what is my 'if'? I ordered a steak which came with chips, roast onions and peppers, and salad. I requested no peppers. When my steak arrived it had no peppers, but also no onions. The salad was the tiny chopped veg variety which can be scooped up by the spoon, and this contained peppers. My plate was removed and the salad replaced with a bunch of watercress! So I had steak and chips for £19. I feel this is unacceptable and I should at least have been offered a proper salad. The starter of Hot Smoked Salmon, could not be seen under it's complete topping of watercress and served on the same 'scoop' salad. The amount of salmon was minimal. Pudding was Blackberry Frangipangi Tart, which was delicious, albeit it only contained 3 blackberries. Breakfast on the other hand was superb and thoroughly enjoyed. So my 'if' is, if only they would change the starter and main course garnish and include some vegetables. Not a mushroom, pea or carrot in sight,

Room Tip: Room 6 has its own parking area and staircase. No one walking past your door late at night chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

despite being very busy - a Sunday evening after a busy lunchtime - we had a good stay, made very pleasant by the excellent staff - particularly Sarah(?) for whom nothing was too much trouble. Food varied but good on the whole.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable couple of days at The Inn on the Tay, which is in a lovely setting. We were very well looked after, the accommodation is very comfortable, and the food is delicious. Very good value. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the Inn for two nights as part of a voucher deal. We did not know what to expect but found the Inn located on a picturesque riverside, with very welcoming staff and a lovely clean, large room overlooking the river. The staff were outstandingly accommodating and friendly. The food was absolutely delicious with a great range of options. Our stay was incredible value and even though it was a voucher deal, the standard price is still a bargain for the quality of service you receive. All in all, the Inn exceeded our expectations and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are overlooking the river. Lovely to go to sleep with the sound of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamanuim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing