We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just back from a most enjoyable two night stay. We were made to feel very welcome and were shown to a lovely large room looking out to the river. The whole place was spotless. A lovely airy dining room and an outside sitting area overlooking the Tay. A varied menu with a good selection of choices, the wine list ample and modestly priced. Post dinner drinks can be taken in a comfortable lounge area. All staff members most pleasant and helpful would definitely consider a return visit

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank johnmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 452 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was one of a group of 12 staying for one night DBB. I concur with all the previous reviews in that it is a super small hotel; best river view anywhere; large airy rooms, extremely attentive and friendly staff. So what is my 'if'? I ordered a steak which came with chips, roast onions and peppers, and salad. I requested no peppers. When my steak arrived it had no peppers, but also no onions. The salad was the tiny chopped veg variety which can be scooped up by the spoon, and this contained peppers. My plate was removed and the salad replaced with a bunch of watercress! So I had steak and chips for £19. I feel this is unacceptable and I should at least have been offered a proper salad. The starter of Hot Smoked Salmon, could not be seen under it's complete topping of watercress and served on the same 'scoop' salad. The amount of salmon was minimal. Pudding was Blackberry Frangipangi Tart, which was delicious, albeit it only contained 3 blackberries. Breakfast on the other hand was superb and thoroughly enjoyed. So my 'if' is, if only they would change the starter and main course garnish and include some vegetables. Not a mushroom, pea or carrot in sight,

Room Tip: Room 6 has its own parking area and staircase. No one walking past your door late at night chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

despite being very busy - a Sunday evening after a busy lunchtime - we had a good stay, made very pleasant by the excellent staff - particularly Sarah(?) for whom nothing was too much trouble. Food varied but good on the whole.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable couple of days at The Inn on the Tay, which is in a lovely setting. We were very well looked after, the accommodation is very comfortable, and the food is delicious. Very good value. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the Inn for two nights as part of a voucher deal. We did not know what to expect but found the Inn located on a picturesque riverside, with very welcoming staff and a lovely clean, large room overlooking the river. The staff were outstandingly accommodating and friendly. The food was absolutely delicious with a great range of options. Our stay was incredible value and even though it was a voucher deal, the standard price is still a bargain for the quality of service you receive. All in all, the Inn exceeded our expectations and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are overlooking the river. Lovely to go to sleep with the sound of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamanuim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed h ere for two nights and it was a wonderful experience. Situated in a prime location the scenery frowm the decking is quite spectacular. The River Tay rapids can be enjoyed when having a quiet drink or lunch. We were greeted by Fraser who was a charming young lad and the other member of the team was Eilidh who again was extremely personable. The rooms were basic but clean. One drawback is the towels are not changed on a daily basis and there w ere no complimentary items save 1 shower gel and 1 shampoo. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and a shortbread biscuit. A small flat screen TV was also in the room. The food was very good and the Fish and Chips come highly recommended. A walk from the hotel to Aberfeldy was wonderful as the side banks are covered by a carpet of Bluebells. Make sure you wear long trousers are the path does narrow and there is a warning sign re Ticks. We met one of the owners as we were leaving (Jeff) and he was everything you would expect a "mine host" to be. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I dropped in to the Inn on the Tay for lunch with my older relatives (all pensioners). We received a warm reception and were sat at the bay window area with great views of the river. Service was excellent and 3 of my relatives didn't want big meal so asked for smaller portions. They received the children's size portion which was perfect for them and all commented on how good the fish and chips were. I had a burger which was good, thick cut chips and a side salad. Great place to stop off if your in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
703 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,115 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
923 reviews
8 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range: $127 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing