We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fife, scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We surprised my mum with a trip here for a big birthday and the inn certainly made it a memorable one for her! From making the booking to check out the service was excellent and staff certainly went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everything was perfect. The rooms we were allocated were very spacious with views of the Tay and had plenty of room for our 2 boys aged 2 and 4 to run about without hopefully not causing too much noise!! Food was superb, great menu with food cooked to perfection. The staff are a credit to the inn, they certainly all know how to deliver excellent customer service. Thanks again. We will be back, hopefully in the summer where the kids can play outside and we can enjoy relaxing and taking in the views! Xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    78
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
215
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballindalloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place from the minute we arrived. The room we had was huge with great decor and all you need for a comfortable stay. The bar is very cozy with candles everywhere adding to the warmth. The food is superb and service is top notch will be back and highly recommend ....thanks to all for such a pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willhenobeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place to stay. Right on the banks of the River Tay. Beautiful hotel where staff go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a good one.
Will definitely go back but in the summer so we can sit outside and watch the brave souls on the river. Although we were lucky to have heavy snow fall on the Friday and the area was breathtaking.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped and very clean.
Big thanks to Sarah and Fraser who worked tirelessly to look after you. Plus all the background staff.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay celebrating a 'big' birthday. From the moment we arrived, the staff were so attentive with nothing being too much trouble - Fraser and Ros especially were just amazing and looked after us all so well. Rooms overlooking the Tay are really spacious and food just wonderful. Will definitely return and can highly recommend this wonderful hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This pleasant small hotel, with a nice bar and restaurant, provides good food and the room we stayed in was well-equpped and spacious. But it is the location that adds to me recommending the hotel.
It is set within a nice Perthshire village and right alongside one of Scotland's best-known rivers. Fishing, rafting and kayaking are all available locally.
Another bonus is the fact that the main A9 road is nearby, which connects Perth and Inverness. There are several popular tourist towns alongside the A9, some better than others. Grandtully is slightly further away but it is worth travelling a bit extra to enjoy its peace and quiet (although the river makes itself known, especially when in spate). Personally, I'd be inclined, were I a tourist, to stop off here overnight rather than push on to some of the larger towns along the A9.
The staff are very pleasant and you are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A smart little hotel with much to offer. The service and hospitality is excellent and the staff are really friendly. Only 6 rooms available at the Inn and our room was lovely, spacious, well furnished and overlooking the rapids of the river Tay.

The food is great and the helpings large and the surroundings of both the restaurant and bar are cosy and welcoming.

I really cant fault the The Inn on the Tay on this visit. If I were to return which is highly likely of course I think I would go for a room that does not overlook the river. The river is noisy. The velux blinds could be doing with being black for the summer.

The staff are wonderful though and I am sure they have all matters in hand to make everyone that visits the Inn have a memorable stay and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river can be noisy so avoid if like me you are a light sleeper otherwise bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

located next to the river tay ,beautful setting ,warm and inviting in with great service,
nothing is to much trouble,and is great base for out door activities and touring 2nd visit
just as good as the 1st

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,704 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
735 reviews
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Property: The Inn on the Tay
Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing