We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!!!”
Review of The Inn on the Tay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on the Tay
Ranked #1 of 2 Grandtully B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had a 2 night break(27-28 June) at this super Inn. Loved the location on the glorious Tay watching the kayakkers avoid the rocks. The Inn has been beautifully decorated ,smart but very welcoming. We had a lovely room overlooking the river, well appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfasts were freshly cooked to order, included smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We enjoyed dinner in the Inn on both nights,delicious local produce. It was great to meet the locals and appreciate life in this bonny village. The owners are very "hands on" and take great care and pride in their service; Ros and her staff were consummate professionals. We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the river and has its own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 451 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Recently had the pleasure of a 2 night stay and it soon became obvious to us both that it was not long enough. We were met on arrival and shown to our room which was clean, spacious and extremely comfortable with a beautiful view over the river. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and found the menu interesting, the food and service excellent. We spoke to Geoff at breakfast the morning we left and he is certainly passionate about making sure his guests are given the best of service. No hesitation in returning and hopefully sooner rather than later. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful break. B & P McN

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at The Inn on the Tay. The Inn is situated next to the river and we were lucky with the weather which meant we could sit on the decking overlooking the river. The Inn is now one of my favourite small hotels with only having 6 bedrooms. Our room was spacious, very bright and spotlessly clean. The super king size bed was very comfortable and we had a DVD player and Freeview.

We ate in the Inn both nights, and the food was very good. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Do not be put off with the Inn only having 3 stars, it warrants a minimum of 4, and probably worthy of 5.

A terrific place for a 2 or 3 night stay. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just as Tina Turner sang, so are we - "Simply The Best!"
This small hotel is truly fantastic!! Everything about it was par excellence. Food, service, location and staff.
Oh, and the local characters Peter, Graham (and his wee girl) and the dogs! We had a wonderful, wonderful time in the care of Josie and Geoff, Ros and Stuart at this hotel. We even watched the goal that never was in the Euros 2012 in Ukraine v England - a la 1966!! :-)
Heres to the next time!
Jim and Alison McB

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Jim & Alison
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We've passed them on to the staff and our "friendly locals" who have enjoyed their Andy Warhol moments! We, in turn, enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you & your lovely dog back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We discovered this at just the right time for lunch and were not disappointed. The setting was stupendous and we got a table on the deck overlooking the river so instantly felt relaxed. The menu was extensive but we only wanted a snack so we both had lovely sandwiches as well as a cup of tasty homemade soup -and the prices were very reasonable

Room Tip: We were only having lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bigton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit this year to this great little hotel. We took advantage of the Spring offer to revisit and were not disappointed. The location is stunning and the service, food and accommodation are first class. Our room was spacious and well appointed with great river views. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. We cannot wait to return again, hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: A river view room is definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for our second visit to Inn on the Tay on the spring offer for one night dinner bed and breakfast. Wonderful value for money and such a beautiful place to be. Had a small problem with a dinner main course but the staff dealt with this extremely professionally and attentively and was resolved to our satisfaction. Our room was lovely with de luxe large bed and snoozing off to sleep by the sound of the river is just unrivaled - book now!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagmure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandtully
3.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,901 reviews
3.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Tay

Address: Pitlochry, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Grandtully
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grandtully
Price Range: $126 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Tay is a beautifully refurbished family-friendly 6-bedroom hotel nestled into the banks of the roaring River Tay at the rapids at Grandtully, in the midst of the stunning Perthshire countryside.The Inn on the Tay has 6 beautifully presented, contemporary bedrooms, most with river views, and all with ensuite facilities. Our rooms are spacious and family sized, each able to accommodate two adults and 2 children if required.All rooms have Flat Screen TV's with a FREESAT system, Tea/Coffee facilities and hairdryers. Cots and highchairs are available upon request.You can enjoy relaxed, informal dining in our Restaurant which has been refurbished to an exacting standard and offers one of the most memorable settings for a dining experience anywhere on the Banks of the Tay as you sit and watch the canoeists and rafters negotiate the Grandtully rapids.Our Bar at the Inn on the Tay is a cosy, friendly watering hole, with a spectacular extension of external decking offering incredible views of the River Tay and a children’s play area.Free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on the Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Tay Hotel Grandtully
The Inn On The Tay Grandtully, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing