We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on the Tay
Nearby Hotels
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
$172
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$120
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel(Pitlochry)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
362
84
12
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
84
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite chocolatewhite water raftingfish chipssticky toffee puddingcullen skinkporridgeboth nightslovely mealbanks of the riverfantastic locationsingle bedfirst classmain courselarge roomsalmondining roomrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 466 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for our second visit to Inn on the Tay on the spring offer for one night dinner bed and breakfast. Wonderful value for money and such a beautiful place to be. Had a small problem with a dinner main course but the staff dealt with this extremely professionally and attentively and was resolved to our satisfaction. Our room was lovely with de luxe large bed and snoozing off to sleep by the sound of the river is just unrivaled - book now!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagmure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a cycling holiday; we were very much looking forward to a spot of luxury after a hard day in the saddle but we were very disappointed. The initial greeting was well below par as we were left wondering what we were supposed to do once greeted; no offer to assist with luggage. The room was well below luxury standard - afterall it was £100 for the night B&B - cheap fittings and furniture, a sofa only really suitable for children to sit on, a tiny TV; paper thin walls between rooms meant we could here other peoples toilet use and love making - not very pleasant, really. A hole in the wall from the door key; no toiletries in the bathroom; pathetic shower, tide mark in the bath, part roll of toilet paper with no spare. Breakfast was mediocre, lumpy porridge as they didn't even stir it after it came out of the microwave. Having said all this I can say that the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was very good; evening meal was quite good; staff all friendly enough. I did raise all this in the morning when settling the bill and got the usual "I'll take your comments on board".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robbo042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff w, Owner at The Inn on the Tay, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

From the moment this couple left our premises we have been anticipating this review, with all our staff who encountered them finding it very difficult to engage. The gentleman's exact comment while beng served dinner by the owner was "do we scare you?" and mentioned tripadvisor on two serparate occassions during conversation almost as a veiled threat.
It is true they were not offered assistance with their luggage, something we always do, however, on this occassion as the reviewer indicated they were on bicycles, so on arrival their panniers were still attached to the bikes.
The room rate this couple were charged of £50.00 B&B is correct as they booked their room through Booking.com which in turn receives 15% commission. Had the booking come directly to the Inn they would have been able to accept a DB&B rate of £60.00 per person, with a dinner allocation of £20.00 which would have reduced their B&B rate to £40.00. We are not able to offer online guests this discount while also paying agency commissions.
The Inn on the Tay is proud that last year Visit Scotland chose us to host their guests from Canada for the World Spurtle Championships ( porridge making), as one of their representatives had previously stayed at the Inn and experienced our porridge. We cannot comment on the lumpy porridge these guests experienced as until now we were not aware of the matter.
It would be very difficult for any member of staff to deal with the behaviour of neighbouring guests, the morning after, however, it is only the second occasion in 5 years that we have been made aware of this being an issue and do not consider our walls "paper thin".
The gentleman's comment to the owner was that there was not enough toileteries in the room not that there was not any and he was offerd more without hesitation at the time.
We are aware of the hole in the wall made by a recent client accidentally, it is about the size of a 50 pence coin and hidden to most behind the door.
All our rooms are fitted with a 26" lcd television with freesat.
At the heart of the Inn is a team of twelve staff who every day approach all clients who are kind enough to telephone, email or walk through our front door with an attitude of trying to offer the best possible product and customer care. It therefore goes without saying that on this occassion all twelve will read this and be desparately disappointed that despite difficulties experienced by both parties, ultimately this couple left unhappy with their Inn on the tay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our family stayed for the weekend.I had already visited and I wanted to take my family.The rooms we had were really well appointed and clean and comfortable .I love being able to hear the river from my bed and then look out over the rapids.Each room had a sofa and a selection of up to date magazines .There is a kettle and nice little touches like Arran Aromatics in the bathroom.The staff are really friendly .Our meals were really delicious and a cooked breakfast and the porridge with white chocolate and raspberries was a great hit and set us up for a day in the hills.They went out of their way to help us even making an alternative vegetarian meal for our daughter.We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our second stay did not disappointment again. We were recognised from our previous visit last year by Geoff and Josie and their fantastic friendly staff. The room was beautiful and the food was first class. We had a wonderful weekend. Looking forward to next year already.
Anne W

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Despite being cold (from rafting earlier in the day) and hungover (from being with a Stag party), we had a great late lunch at the Inn on the Tay. Lovely bar - well stocked and comfy seats, great decking to watch the paddlers on the river, and a lovely menu (could have eaten anything on it). They even did a wee deal for us fish or a burger and pint for £12 - all beautifully cooked. The white bait starter was excellent, and everyone enjoyed their meals. Seemed to be busy with local people too - always a good sign. Lovely re-furb (but need to sort the emergency lighting (yellowed covers!) and the hole with wires coming out of the roof!) and looking forward to taking my family there later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicelikegrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews