We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Wonderful food and service in a beautiful location, thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for this lovely positive review. We are glad that you have decided to try Meikleour Hotel and enjoyed your day with us. We are look forward to your next visit soon.
Kindest regards Sylwester Nowocien Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 360 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

We arrived at the hotel restaurant one sunny afternoon in August at exactly 2.31pm and all we wanted was a quick bowl of soup and perhaps a sandwich for lunch. The lady behind the bar said, 'sorry, we stop serving lunch at 2.30pm' to which I answered, 'but we're only a minute late.'
She then told me all the chefs had gone home when lo and behold who should pop his head out of window but a CHEF!
Basically, they didn't want the custom of one Scot and seven American friends and sadly, this reflects the attitude of many Scottish tourism businesses. Poor customer service, indeed

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
4  Thank gill10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

We apologize for the way you felt that afternoon. As you can appreciate kitchen closes at 2:30pm due to quiet lunch lunch that day kitchen staff and equipment were off at 2.30pm exactly. As for seeing chef in the window he was in the process of changing after finishing his shift. Our changing room is located on the top level of the building. Please note that our action did not meant to offend anybody. We are truly sorry if this caused any inconvenience while traveling trough Scotland. Your sincerely Sylwester Nowocien Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Most comfortable little hotel with excellent food at reasonable price given quality.
Ideal venue to tour Perthshire and within easy reach of some excellent golf courses.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Meikleour Hotel and hope that you had a good trip back. Looking forward to welcoming you to Meikleour Hotel again soon. Very best regards, Sylwester Nowocien Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a very cosy, unpretentious hotel with a standard of cleanliness, good-sized rooms, excellent food and friendly staff - all very reasonably priced. The hunting/fishing theme is there but you don't have to partake to enjoy this hotel.Excellent flat-screen TVs and very comfortable beds. Quiet at night and within easy reach of Dunkeld and Blairgowrie.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipshinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for this lovely positive review. We are glad that you have decided to try Meikleour Hotel and enjoyed the atmosphere and overall experience with us. We are hoping to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards: Sylwester Nowocien Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Meikleour(pronounced MacClure) is a picturesque ex coaching house/hunting lodge.It is in a tiny rural hamlet ideally placed for many Perthshire tourist high spots.It is"roses round the door pretty"There are some lovely woodland walks and all the locals we met were very pleasant.There are only five bedrooms,all full during our three day stay-13th to 16th Aug.2010.Our room was a double upstairs to the front.The room was quite small but very nicely finished with a comfortable bed,a good television and a working radio alarm(with instructions!)We took advantage of the book two get three nights-£260 for three nights B+B for a couple.The welcome tray was excellent with sweets.fruit,shortbread and a small sherry-except on our 'free'day.The bathroom was small but lovely with an excellent shower.Cleanliness was very good.A couple of negatives-traffic noise(luckily the road was'nt too busy) and intra-room noise seemed to depend on who was next door.
Staff generally were friendly and attentive and service was good.Breakfast was good with a good degree of flexibility but NO porridge-in Scotland.Dinner was patchy-fish and chips,salmon were good but porterhouse steak and burger a bit unimaginative;lots of choice from lobster at £28 to vegetarian curry a £9.Beer very good but lowest cost house wine £18-quaffable but not in great quantities.Extensive wine range.
The longer we stayed the more we liked it .The clientele ranged from crusty colonel types to all the members of the European union and going by the guest book all who wrote in it had a good time.
Suggestion-definitely consider it but go for a downstair garden room and stick to the beer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tudashope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for this positive review and your comments of how we can take Meikleour Hotel even higher. We cherish our guests and strive to make them feel like home away from home. Looking forward to welcoming you again and your comments will be taken into consideration and action. Kind Regards, Sylwester Nowocien Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We booked and stayed in this delightful hotel for one night this week... We were given such a lovley welcome when we arrived...We had our dog with us and there were lovely walks nearby, we were also invited to bring her into the hotel or there was a kennel outside if we wanted. The room was spotless and had everything we needed including a nip of sherry on a tray... Dinner was delicious , we had it in the bar where there were several tables...It is a very good half way stop near to Perth on route to the highlands.... Will go again anytime we are heading north...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Meikleour Hotel, we have stayed at the hotel previously. although only for one night for a stop over whilst travelling. We had enjoyed the hotel so much, we decided to take a short break here and explore Perthshire. The hotel is small and intimate, the rooms are exceptionally comfortable and the hotel itself is set in an idyllic village. The setting is a dream. The staff and management at the hotel are very professional and nothing is too much trouble. The food at both breakfast and dinner is of the highesst quality and st
standard. Meikleour is an ideal location to visit Castles in the area, being local to Scone, Blair Atholl and Glamis. You will not be dissappointed with the setting, hospitality and value for money. This hotel is well worth a try. We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saddleworth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. I am delighted to hear that you and your Husband had such an enjoyable stay with us and that staff and management were up to your expectation! We look forward to welcoming you back to Meikleour Hotel in the near future. Very best regards Sylwester Nowocien, Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
823 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,438 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
310 reviews
16 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meikleour
Price Range: $114 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a boutique country hotel in Perthshire at the heart of Meikleour Estate, renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and spectacular woodlands. With 11 stylish bedrooms and 5 luxurious family cottages we can welcome up to 40 guests. Completely renovated to high standards in 2017, all hotel bedrooms have superking beds (some with four-poster), luxurious marble bathrooms (Superior Rooms have separate walk-in shower as well as bath) and top of the range hypoallergenic bedding and toiletries. Dogs are welcome free of charge in all family cottages and in our downstairs bedrooms which have wooden floor. Our award winning restaurant offers beautiful country food using the produce of our land. We are only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a sporting holiday in Perthshire or a lovely family break in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing