We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perthshires Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Meikleour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Meikleour Hotel, we have stayed at the hotel previously. although only for one night for a stop over whilst travelling. We had enjoyed the hotel so much, we decided to take a short break here and explore Perthshire. The hotel is small and intimate, the rooms are exceptionally comfortable and the hotel itself is set in an idyllic village. The setting is a dream. The staff and management at the hotel are very professional and nothing is too much trouble. The food at both breakfast and dinner is of the highesst quality and st
standard. Meikleour is an ideal location to visit Castles in the area, being local to Scone, Blair Atholl and Glamis. You will not be dissappointed with the setting, hospitality and value for money. This hotel is well worth a try. We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saddleworth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. I am delighted to hear that you and your Husband had such an enjoyable stay with us and that staff and management were up to your expectation! We look forward to welcoming you back to Meikleour Hotel in the near future. Very best regards Sylwester Nowocien, Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

If your idea of a great holiday is exploring some of Britain's most beautiful countryside, the Meikleour Hotel will provide you with the perfect base. Located near the majestic river Tay, with the gateway to the Grampians to the West and the Angus coast to East, the Meikleour Hotel offers warm, efficient service, very clean, well-appointed rooms, and good, honest fare. You can choose either to eat in the snug bar, washing down Scottish specialities such as Abroath smokies or Angus beef with local beers, fine malts, or any one of the wines on the extensive list, or in the more formal but still 'couthie' dining room. The well-cooked Scottish breakfast will set you up for the day, and owners Kia and Andrew Mathieson will be happy to advise you on places to visit or on your chosen pursuit, whether it's fishing, shooting, walking or sightseeing. An absolute gem of a small hotel. This fisherman for one will be returning, to try his luck once more on the Tay or on one of the many fine waters which abound in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallaceSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late May. We were welcomed by the owner Kia Mathieson early in the afternoon and shown to our room, which was very inviting with tasteful decor and comfort. The food was exquisite with excellant quality and presentation. All the staff were very attentive, friendly and made you feel relaxed. Will almost certainly return when we visit Perthshire again. Great Fishing locations in the area, and some lovely woodland walks. We had a great stay and still think of the food served at the table.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Meikleour Hotel is a charming former coaching inn near the famous giant beech hedge. The rooms are very comfortable, with lovely beds, luxurious bathrooms and White Company toiletries. Dogs are welcome too. There is a cosy bar and restaurant and the food is simple and delicious as well as being very good value. They also offer an excellent selection of Malt Whisky. The hosts made us feel very welcome and all the staff are friendly. I would thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Manager at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Meikleour Hotel for your stay and for your recent review. We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments and I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With best regards, Sylwester Nowocien, Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

warm welcome, great service,the manager Sly and staff could not do enough for you. We ate in the restaurant and our meals were excellent. Our room was beautiful with a large comfy bed and pillows, modern spotless bathroom, overall lovely touches !!
We enjoyed mixing with the locals in the bar and were made very welcome.
Find last review very surprising..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalmers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Have been twice before for meal only, very good food, presentation etc, reasonable price considering quality. However, my recent visit on a Saturday lunch time was not a success. Lady behind bar gave no welcome and unsmilingly steered us to a table just vacated and cleaned. About 5 mins after this, a local VIP arrived with 3 other guests at the adjoining reserved table. His party was immediately attended and their wine was attentively poured for them. After 10 minutes with no staff contact at all, we decided to leave for a meal elsewhere, at this point a male came over with the menus, I informed him service was too slow. He looked bemused and did not even offer any excuse. Sadly their focus appeared to be on encouraging a better class of customer, at the expense of the routine customer. The lady behind the bar needs to smile, welcome customers and accepting that they are busy, simply pass the customer a menu stacked on the bar, allowing the customer to browse, in this case they lost 2 customers who have had many staff smiles from Raffles in Singapore to that great chippy in Anstruther. Local feedback is they are aiming too high and "getting too big for their boots", time will tell, but other premises nearby have mastered the basic welcome. At the end of the day, a good premises, but we shall not be back, lots of fish elsewhere to be fried.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveGow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Excellent location for beautiful walks and visits to castles. if you are keen on fishing or shooting this is also a good base. We just needed some time to relax and found it here aplenty. Lovely comfortable room with all the little extra touches that make it special (decanter of sherry in the room!). Wonderful food and friendly staff that made you welcome. We'll definately be back .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
793 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,334 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
134 reviews
17.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meikleour
Price Range: $109 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a boutique country hotel in Perthshire at the heart of Meikleour Estate, renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and spectacular woodlands. With 11 stylish bedrooms and 5 luxurious family cottages we can welcome up to 40 guests. Completely renovated to high standards in 2017, all hotel bedrooms have superking beds (some with four-poster), luxurious marble bathrooms (Superior Rooms have separate walk-in shower as well as bath) and top of the range hypoallergenic bedding and toiletries. Dogs are welcome free of charge in all family cottages and in our downstairs bedrooms which have wooden floor. Our award winning restaurant offers beautiful country food using the produce of our land. We are only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a sporting holiday in Perthshire or a lovely family break in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing