We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Meikleour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Informal Comfort”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This traditional old Inn is situated on a quiet country road, a mile or so from the busy A 93 Perth to Blaairgowrie and Glen Shee road.There are 5 bedrooms of a very high standard, which can be accessed by a side door from the car park, to avoid going through the bar, dining room, and small lounge. Our bedroom was on the ground floor, looking out onto the car-park on one side, and onto the road the other way.The magazines in the room were about shooting and fishing, reflecting no doubt the main clientale .The bar and dining room appear to be popular with local people, which gives the place a lively feel. The lounge was rather basic, but as the bedroom was so attractive, this was not important for us.The friendly staff told me that the Estate, who own the hotel, are taking over the management in April, so there may be some changes.The food was inexpensive, and was of an acceptable standard. It was good to see a list of the local suppliers ( this being the week of the horse meat scandal !). Breakfast was good, with the eggs coming from a named local farm.

Room Tip: To have a view, the first floor rooms may be better. Ground floor good for mobility problems, as ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    65
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
53
143
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we booked an overnight stay at this hotel at short notice. It was lovely - so friendly and comfortable. The room was spacious and the bed luxurious. The meals wre reasonably priced and delicious. The lounge was lovely with the log burning fire and friendly locals. So peaceful at night. Look forward to go going back.

Room Tip: our room was lovely and spacious on the ground floor - great as we had our dog with us and it gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed the first Saturday night in February to go to a party nearby. We had a couple of drinks in the bar in the early evening, and that was fine, though the room was the highlight. Splendid, spacious room; big, comfy bed; a duvet that felt luxurious and enveloping. Tea and coffee-making and a carafe of something which may have been whisky (we didn't try it!). Nice bathroom, too. Hearty, full Scottish breakfast (but you need to get there by 9am even on Sunday) with refills of toast and very pleasant service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Translanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

very couthy coaching inn in perthshire. the food was good and the service friendly although bar staff paid more attention to chatting with friends at the bar. Why oh why did they not have their fires on instead of a measly convector heater? Good location for a bar lunch. Dog friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our fires are oil NOT log buring, and we have had an issue with frozen underground pipes, so a convector was our only option at that time. So sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went for a meal and have to be honest it was one of the best meals I have had , the service was fantastic , staff extremely friendly and the surrounding perfect. If your looking for somewhere special please try here as you would never be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. WE do try to ensure that guests have a positive experience when visiting the hotel either to stay or just to have a meal, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Meikleour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with my on the last Saturday of January 2013 for dinner bed and breakfast. The room we were given (number 1) was very comfortable. Huge bed, well appointed room and bathroom. Very quiet annd peaceful.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Very good Inveralmond brewery real ale on hand pump.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but number 1 was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, Room 1 ( Mercer) is my favourite, with a double aspect window makes the room bright, and airy. Although you did not see other rooms they are all of the same standard, so another visit another room in the future maybe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights around Bonfire Night when weather was frosty. Rooms and hotel were cosy. Easy access from car park at the rear to a large ground floor bedroom and ensuite with bath/shower. Had our dog with us which was no problem although he did not like passing the stuffed animals in the hallway! Dining room was not busy and could choose a time for evening meal which was included in a dinner, b&b package. Service at table was friendly and efficient for both evening meals and breakfasts. Food and wine both of good standard. Wine more expensive than I would normally have but was good and package price meant that you could have any food on menu for the fixed price. Did not have time to experience the bar or the hotel during the day as on business in nearby Blairgowrie. On passing the bar seemed interesting with bar meal areas and was not at all noisy on the nights of our stay. Dining room very nice and very separate from the bar area. It is not a large hotel and there is not much public sitting areas outwith the bar and restaurant room. Would recommend access and ground floor rooms for anyone who has difficulty with stairs and also dog friendly. Village is very residential and quiet but that was no bad thing on Bonfire Night. Blairgowrie is about 10 minutes by car. Have stayed at similar hotels in the area which have been noisy on weekend evenings but this one was quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck-Wilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeikleourHotel, Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you found us quiet and relaxing, and hope that you might find the time to revisit the hotel at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meikleour
2.0 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
16.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
8.4 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Address: By Blairgowrie, Meikleour PH2 6EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meikleour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meikleour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meikleour Arms is a traditional small country hotel in Perthshire, at the heart of the conservation village of Meikleour, internationally renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and the spectacular Meikleour Beech Hedge. Our restaurant offers great local pub food and is only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a salmon fishing holiday on the River Tay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing