We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel

Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This destination dining spot is set inside the historic Meikleour Hotel, a picturesque, ivy-covered inn located between Blairgowrie and Perth. The home-made bistro-style menu here attracts food-lovers from far and wide, and the cosy wood-panelled dining room - with its tartan carpets and white linens - has become a local institution. All the food here is prepared in-house, from the stock-pots to the puddings, and fresh fish is delivered daily from the boats in Aberdeen, and the wine list is hand-picked. Ideal for romantic meals and celebrations, the Meileour has a feel-good home-away-from-home atmosphere, and star dishes include the beef pie flavoured with the hotel���s own Perth-brewed Lure of Meikleour ale.
Weetangera, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were from Australia tracing our ancestors. After exploring the Kilspindie church and graves at Kilspindie, where my ancestors were christened, married and buried. We also went to church. Walking around,Castle Gascon Hall where my great grandfather x4 was a servant.
Wonderful to sit at Meikleour Hotel gather our thoughts and enjoy our wonderful meal. The staff and guests were all incredibly friendly. Lovely atmosphere

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harpej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    5
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely pub grub in nice surroundings with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. Traditional fare, well cooked, nicely presented and a good varied menu. Local beer tasty and decent wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sus-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have made this our local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Meikleour Hotel is where we go when we want a very good pub meal (the food is of a far higher quality than one would normally get at a pub) and they are always welcoming to us when we come with the children, and even with the dog, although we then have to eat in the bar, which is fine. The food is worth the extra 20 minutes by car from Perth, and the drive through the countryside to the location and setting itself always feels like a treat. We never tire of the place and even think of it as our 'local', even though it isn't!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmcfuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location was good for us as we were fishing the river tay .
Accommodation ,food staff all excellent , also great for a bar snack if you are just Visiting the area .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The food was slow to arrive and the quality was mixed. My scampi was poor however one of the starters, black pudding with an egg inside, was very good. What really let the restaurant down was the poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1moray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross

Been to Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing