We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home cooked food”

Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This destination dining spot is set inside the historic Meikleour Hotel, a picturesque, ivy-covered inn located between Blairgowrie and Perth. The home-made bistro-style menu here attracts food-lovers from far and wide, and the cosy wood-panelled dining room - with its tartan carpets and white linens - has become a local institution. All the food here is prepared in-house, from the stock-pots to the puddings, and fresh fish is delivered daily from the boats in Aberdeen, and the wine list is hand-picked. Ideal for romantic meals and celebrations, the Meileour has a feel-good home-away-from-home atmosphere, and star dishes include the beef pie flavoured with the hotel���s own Perth-brewed Lure of Meikleour ale.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The menu is biased towards locally produced items and everything I ordered was cooked very well.

Fon the broccoli and Stilton soup and fresh hot hoe made bread roll.

Porterhouse Steak and cheese board with 2 pints of local beer only £26.

Friendly locals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    6
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

fairly priced - good menu - served by friendly staff. We actually ate in the bar as it was so comfortable with the log fire burning - perfect for a cold February night.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went for lunch today, ordered Fish and Chips, from lunch menu, at the rear of the menu - food arrived within a reasonable time - excellent meal and very happy until I came to pay and found the Fish and Chips were nearly twice the cost advertised. Spoke to the waitress who went and got a lady who was very rude, arrogant and aggresive. She said that I did not complain - that is true - seemingly there was another Fish and Chips in the middle of the menu for near twice the price. Her attitude was you did not complain, you ate the food, so pay for it and about turned and walked away. The poor waitress apologised and said she was sorry as she had taken the wrong order. What a way to speak to customers - surprise they have any left- certainly will not be back -- so beware folks read the menu in full ! ! !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnm3perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Show!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself, hubby and two other couples arrived at Meikleour on a Sunday evening at 8.30pm in the hope of getting something to eat. We were told in no uncertain terms that the restaurant was closed and they stopped serving food at 8pm. We requested a plate of sandwiches and once again was refused by the barmaid in a very unecessary brisk manner. Our third and final attempt was to ask for crisps or nuts, Yes..you guessed the answer!! We were told they did not have a single packet of crisps or nuts to offer...In fact they could only offer us a drink and nothing at all to eat! The staff made no attempt to apologise and even came accross as rather smug! Considering the pub/restaurant had only three customers and the chef (who even introduced himself) in the place they were hardly stretched and could easily have made up a plate of sandwiches. I have been many times to Meikleour and have never failed to be disappointed with the level of service to the customer. This pub has so much charm and potential..What a pity the same cant be said for their staff!! Just for the record this is the first time I have ever taken the time to write on tripadviser which surely demonstrates my level of disappointment!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value dinners and breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good food and wine in very pleasant dining room - service friendly and efficient - on a 2 night package which included dinner at a fixed price so could enjoy anything on menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck-Wilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant at the Meikleour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing