We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardeonaig Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Achray House Hotel(St. Fillans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
321
74
34
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
74
34
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle track roadloch tayhotel groundsnew ownersben lawerswonderful foodhot chocolatethe hotel managerdining experiencedinner menufull marksthe main hotelbeautiful locationwonderful hotelour wedding anniversarywalk in showerrob roy way
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 455 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for one night in a Sheiling and can't wait to go back. It is the most perfect place to relax and unwind in a stunning setting. We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and cannot praise the hotel highly enough. The dinner was exquisite, the wine superb, the bed incredibly comfortable and, despite not thinking I was capable of eating another thing, the breakfast was simply delicious! The staff were all very efficient but friendly, and the young barmaid mixed the best gin and tonic! A perfect place to escape to for a well deserved treat - we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The Sheilings are in the grounds, well spaced apart so you do have total privacy and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, the staff were friendly, the evening meal was excellent and the location fantastic & peaceful. Bad points were the room was not dusted & the douvet cover was on inside out, room was dated just little points that do make a big difference. Food five star & rooms three.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennielouisewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a sheiling lodge prior to going to a family party. We hadn't really appreciated just how good the food and service were going to be. Nothing was too much trouble for the ultra-professional but very welcoming Rodney and the staff. They stayed up when we chatted to another couple into the small hours, not intruding but checking regularly we had what we needed, then appeared again cheerful at the wonderful breakfast. The rooms are modern and well designed, the views from the restaurant and the nearby shoreline magnificent (when the mist lifts!). Can't recommend this gem too highly and we are already working out when we can go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussymungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of July for two nights covering a Friday and Saturday night.

We were upgraded from a standard room to a superior room on arrival. It was very nice although it did not have any view. The room fittings were excellent, the bathroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Rodney, the owner, and Tom were very attentive without being obtrusive and created just the right atmosphere.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and were helped by the weather during our stay. The walk down to the lakes edge and sitting on the jetty looking along Loch Tay was truly superb.

Turning now to the food, the evening meal was essentially a set menu and consisted of 7/8 courses referred to by other guests as a taster menu. The food was truly superb and although the portions were not large we both have fully satisfied at the end of the evening. Some very interesting courses and there was not one that we did not enjoy. All in all it was truly excellent. Rodney was also very knowledgeable on his wine recommendations.

Breakfast was again very enjoyable and there was a choice of three different courses.

Basically, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

One small point is that they appeared to be a little understaffed particularly in the housekeeping department. I would say that the rooms needed a deep clean to get them up to scratch.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a Sheiling
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phbatbjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent two nights at the Ardeonaig Hotel as a short break in Scotland. We'd booked online, which was very simple and efficient. On arrival we were welcomed with a very personal check-in and a brief history of the hotel going back to the sixteenth century.

Our standard double room was clean and tastefully decorated with a very nice bathroom. The room did not have a TV, but this was compensated by the wonderful view over the hotel grounds to the Loch and Ben Lawers beyond.

The six course tasting menu (plus amuse bouche) was amazing, finalized each day according to what was available each day. Dishes were well balanced, beautifully prepared and expertly cooked. Each dish was clearly explained as it was presented. Service was attentive, friendly and beautifully under-stated. The accompanying wine list is excellent.

Breakfast was an unexpected pleasure. Far from the usual and predictable 'full Scottish', breakfast at the Ardeonaig is different each day. We found the breakfasts imaginative and very satisfying; the perfect preparation for a day of enjoying the gorgeous scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews