We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem, Beautiful hotel on a the majestic Loch Tay”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a cottage suite. The suite was large with a very adequate bathroom. The suite has a superb view of Ben Lawers across the Loch. The staff were all very efficient and made our stay very easy. All the food was exquisite. A gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 439 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ended a two week tour of the western isles with a 3 night stay at the Ardeonaig, and if I'm totally honest I was really tired very ready to go home by this point.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Rodney, he gave us a quick guided tour of the hotel and showed us to our rooms, instantly we began to feel revived after a long day travelling from Iona.
The hotel is in a tranquil environment, with a fantastic view, and as mentioned in other reviews the taster menu is divine (we ate here 3 nights), but for me, the care and attentiveness of the staff gave this hotel it's wow factor.
The small front of house team's attention to detail was second to none.
Just listening to Rodney talk to guests about wine was mesmeric, Richard's hawk eye in spotting guests needs was outstanding, Charming Tom was always so cheerful and willing to help and Natasha (who was leaving to return back to school) was just adorable.
We will be returning so I can try one of Richards Mojitos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fobgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were delighted by the Ardeonaig Hotel. The staff and facilities were both delightful. The cuisine first class. A tasting menu was served for dinner that showed remarkable skill. A variety of wines were available.

Well worth the drive along the narrow lane!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWMMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip to Scotland. We stayed in one of the sheilings - a very well-appointed thatched hut. The sheiling was relatively newly built with a very nice bed, bath and walk-in shower. It was lovely to be surrounded by trees and grass, with a stream running by the back of the hut and sheep grazing outside our front door. You can also walk down to the loch from where boat hire or fishing is possible. £360 per night for two for dinner b &b is not cheap, but was worth every penny. We received impeccable service from Rodney and Tom throughout and both dinners were among the best we had during our stay in Scotland. My partner had certain dietary requirements which were easily satisfied. Highlights of our gastronomic feast were a pork loin with pork cheek and some wonderful fish courses. Although not listed on the menu we would recommend the wine pairings. Rodney offered some exceptional wines throughout. Our meals were served at a relaxed pace, as we looked out at the surrounding fields and hills. We understand that the property has not been open long under its current owner, but predict great things for it. If you want an example of service and food at the highest level you should give it a try.

The hotel is somewhat remote, and does involve driving about seven miles on a single-track road from the village of Killin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

'Welcomes come in many forms' the website for this hostelry states ,but not for us.We travelled for 2 hours to reach this place only to be told that any lunch was NOT available,despite the website stating 'it was not necessary to book for a drink and light snacks'.All we would have been able to have was a cup of tea!So much for Scottish Hospitality!We were told to go to Killin or Kenmore which we were assured were 'very nice'(endorsements not necessary as we know both villages quite well) We would love to be able to write a review but alas this will not be possible as our custom has been refused once and we will never attempt to try again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bwf2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a Sheiling , the accommodation was fantastic , the bedroom was large and very comfortable , the bathroom was fantastic and we loved he Molton Brown products. We were a bit disappointed to find that the bedroom rubbish bin had not been emptied prior to our arrival and we were not left any extra toilet paper in the bathroom so we had to ask for some at reception (!) but apart from those minor hitches - everything was fantastic ........
Rodney and Tom made us feel so at home that we couldn't help but relax in their capable hands, nothing was too much trouble , and the food is incredible .......
The 6 course taster meal each night was amazing, the food and presentation were definitely worthy of a Michelin star , would have loved to have met the chef personally to compliment him on his culinary skills! Breakfast was great too - a great start to each day ...........
The views of Loch Tay were incredible , have never experienced such a breathtaking and peaceful view , could easily have stayed an extra few days .
Will most definitely return , sooner rather than later !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendyc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Good first impressions on arrival. Friendly, helpfull staff. Our room was nice, if in need of some TLC.
Big comfortable bed and a bath. Toilet roll holder hanging off the wall.

The grounds are in need of some maintenance and the courtyard needs a good clean.

My Fiancé found the toilet in the public area a mess, not having been checked or the bin emptied for a couple of days! The gents toilet seat was detached!

The food was very good with a 6 course taster menu for dinner. No other menu available but they were able to change the main pork dish for a fish. Breakfast was very nice!

If the place had a gardener and a handy man it would lift it to a more desirable level!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgiathchuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range: $150 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing