We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent a night in one of the sheilings, and were delighted by both the accommodation and the very friendly staff. Having read other reviews, we were expecting a good dinner, but were quite amazed by the quality of the meal we were served. In our experience, this was food on a par with Michelin starred restaurants. We were very impressed, and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is somewhat surprising, so very British on the road with the phone booth and all, and with African strawhouses as rooms (real walls, don't worry). Very friendly staff, excellent restaurant ( fully booked on that bank holiday week end). Good view on the garden and Loch Tay, great walking around. The lounge is nice, with a fireplace, although decoration is a bit basic. Our room was in the main building, and was rather average, although very clean. I would prefer a door in the bathroom. Delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Decide wether you want to be in the garden in a hut or in the main building. The difference counts w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one evening in a standard room and had a wonderful stay.

The room was nice, shower powerful, loved having a dressing gown and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The weather when we were visited was awful which was a shame as it would have been lovely to have a walk but instead we spent the afternoon in the library which has a fantastic view, and was so relaxing and comfortable that I fell asleep.

The 6 course tasting menu was fantastic, the wine selection excellent and the service was impeccable. Dishes were all explained to us and we had a wonderful evening.

Breakfast was good but a little large for me, the breakfast muffin in the bread basket was delicious!

A lovely stay and would recommend if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highland_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After an excellent stay in 2012, this hotel was an immediate choice for us to retire to for the few days after our wedding. Surprised with the journey there (my new husband arranged to get there by Sea Plane!) we arrived in style and the hotel was ready to accommodate us. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Sheiling and this was just beautiful and perfect for a romantic get away.

As always the staff made the stay very special with personal service especially from Rodney ,Tom and Jose.

The food was superb and the wine selections by Rodney , outstanding.

I have no doubt we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is just about perfect for a romantic getaway. There is so much that's right, from the location on the banks of Loch Tay to the quiet and comfortable lounges - we particularly enjoyed the library for the view over the loch to Ben Lawers. The food is the star here, though. The seven course tasting menu was delicious from start to finish and was the equal of any we've had. The restaurant is situated to make the most of the view down to the loch and the staff are friendly and attentive.

The only slight niggles we found were in the decor of our room - it was a bit scruffy, needed a coat of paint and had a bare picture hook on one of the walls (the same was true of the staircase leading up to our room). If you take the picture down, take the hook down. Those were pretty minor annoyances but (though they didn't detract from our overall enjoyment of our stay) do stop me from giving this place full marks. That said we've only just got back from our stay and we're already planning to return so even with those slight niggles, I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a loch view to make the most of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maltman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped in a couple of weeks ago and had a simple but superb lunch ...... so went back for a wonderful weekend.

Ardeonaig in its present form was the creation of a South African chef called Pete Gottgens - but went bust in 2010, and is now owned by Adamo Hotels. Its an small, isolated luxury hideaway half way along the south side of Loch Tay. Access is by a single track road with passing places - so plan 40 minutes for the last 10 miles of your visit.

The rooms are unchanged - they are luxurious, well equipped, and have lots of fabulous extras (Molton Brown toiletries, more huge fluffy towels than any sane person needs, real coffee and cafetiere, dressing gowns and so on)

Pete Gottgens food was superb - but the new chef beats him hands down. Saturday night involved 7 courses, every one a taste and texture marvel, and with well chosen wines in support. Even breakfast was exquisite - a limited selection, but with offerings like poached pineapple, bacon on french toast with maple syrup, its no hardship !!

The service matches everything else - attentive, thoughtful, discrete.

All in all, the Adamo Hotels team have taken something excellent and improved it!!! Well done guys

Room Tip: The Sheilling rooms are separate from the main house - access via a gravel track - umbrellas provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wonderful food, the tasting meal is now the only meal served when you arrive you will be shown that evenings menu, so if there's something you are allergic to there is plenty of time for the chef to prepare something else; though probably best to mention that when you book. Our meal had the most delightful tastes of beet root, a veg i usually hate, so don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. So nice to have endless supply of water with out being charged!

An adequate selection of wines by the glass and a good wine list.

Breakfast was wonderful, again different every day, we stayed two nights. There is a lovely walk that goes from the nearest town, Killin, over the hills back to the hotel, wonderful views and you can convince yourself that you deserve that evenings meal.

We stayed in one of the Shieling rooms very well appointed, but bring your iPod/MP3 player dock as there is no TV or radio in the rooms there is no signal. There is WiFi in the main building of the hotel so you can easily sit in the lounge and catch up with correspondence.

There are out of season deals for dinner, bed and breakfast but visit soon because as the news spreads about this hotel it is going to get very busy. Perhaps I should not be posting this review as I want to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjwlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
646 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
931 reviews
15.6 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 1 in Balquhidder
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range: $152 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing