We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with gourmet meals - a real treat!”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with gourmet meals - a real treat!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The combination of scenic setting, charming accommodation and wonderful food is hard to beat. But above all what made our three-night stay memorable was the friendly, personal and attentive service from manager James and his staff. Every aspect of the amenities and service showed great sophistication and flair as though it just came naturally - brilliant! The gourmet chef delivers some wonderful and unusual gastronomic experiences, and this alone makes this hotel a destination for some. Those with a hearty appetite may find the portion sizes a bit delicate, but I can't say we were left unsatisfied at the end of dinner. The tasting menu, with wine selections, was particular treat on our last night.

Highly recommended for a short stay on a special occasion or just to treat yourself

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    56
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
47
261
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Ardeonaig apparently recently changed hands, and new management is obviously making an incredible effort to impress. Our stay was spectacular. The rooms we had (in a separate building) were huge and absolutely beautiful. The service was beyond thoughtful. For example, having been disapppointed in an excursion to a distillery, we mentioned to the manager that we wanted a Scotch whisky tasting, and asked if he could arrange it. He personally did it,and it was wonderfully educational and interesting. And the food was beyond belief wonderful, well worth the price. The setting also is spectacular, looking down to Loch Tay. This is an outstanding place to stay, in a beautiful region of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is very special - the food is excellent and we recommend the tasting menu with wines. The opening of a bottle of champagne with a sabre was the start of our stay - it was a first for me!
You will not be disappointed, the loch together with the hotel is worth the journey- Go
Vicky and Richard Fleetwood July 2012

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRfleets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We returned to Ardeonaig for the first time since it's new owners took over having been a couple of times previously. It remains the haven we remember. The food is fantastic and service absolutely brilliant. It is a place to celebrate a special occasion and if a bottle of bubbles is called for, having it "sabraged" is a must!
We spent two memorable days here with few other guests around and the service from Rodney (James off on a well-deserved holiday) and his team was perfect. We will definitely be back and soon i hope!

Room Tip: For a real treat, take one of the Sheilings or better still, the cottage suite facing that amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were treated brilliantly from the moment we set foot in the hotel... simple but important things such as staff remembering your name and knowing what you want. It was a chilly couple of days in June that we stayed at the hotel, and the wood fire was lit in the evening, which added to the ambience of the hotel. There had been a lengthy refurbishment there shortly before we stayed, and the decor is lovely. The surrounding countryside is fabulous and I recommend walking. We met very friendly local people whilst walking,too. The food was also very good, served in a fairly quiet restaurant with lovely views over the loch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Dundee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very much enjoyed our recent short break. Service and accommodation were first class. While the food on our first evening was top quality, tasty and well presented it was rather too close to 'nouvelle cuisine' for our liking. However that was all resolved next day when we opted to eat from the bar menu which although restricted in selection was excellent. (We'd thoroughly recommend it to those with a heartier appetite!)

Many thanks to James and his team who were professional yet friendly and welcoming all at the same time for making our break so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and i had one of the best dining experiences ever, The food was absolutely superb,the staff were excellent,explaining the dishes as they were placed in front of us.It is our 25th wedding anniversery next year and i can see a week staying at this beautifully restored hotel being an absolute must.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scribeEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.6 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
17.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Property: Ardeonaig Hotel
Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing