We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of Ardeonaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have been staying at the hotel for many years and returned to find it in very good hands. All of the staff made our weekend very special and one to remember. As soon as you leave your car you can smell the wonderful peat fire and the Ardeonaig experience has begun. The rooms, food and location make this a wonderful place to stay.
The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. A lot of original ideas have been translated into very scrummy food.
Keep up the good work and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryE103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    60
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
48
272
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

On behalf of three couples let down badly at 4p.m. on a Saturday (confirmed) booking at the Cromlix Hotel for three rooms with dinner bed and breakfast, I telephoned James at the Ardeonaig Hotel in a desperate search for an alternative at 4p.m.having read a review in that morning paper as I waited to see if the Cromlix staff could be bothered to assist us. A forlorn hope unfortunately.

Immediately James arranged our accommodation and promised a stay to remember. We travelled an hour to the hotel arriving in darkness to find three beautiful rooms warm and welcoming prepared to the highest standard. The staff were on hand to ensure we were welcomed and made comforatble before we attended some time later in the lounge. Again a well prepared room with a woodburning fire ensured our evening began in the right style.

The meal, wine and service was as good as you will get anywhere and at its finish we were led to the library to enjoy our coffee before being left to enjoy the hospitality.

In the morning, with day light the views from the bedroom were spectacular. After a nights sleep in a wonderfully cosy bed, to look out on the nearby 'falls' leading out to the Loch with the autumnal hills on every side was a great start to the day.

Breakfast was great and time allowed to just sit, talk and enjoy. Again the staff were on hand to ensure everything was to our liking.

For a stay involving three grown up couples with only an hours notice of an arrival our surprise visit was a great success. Good luck to this hotel - it deserves to succeed.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a single track road and looks to have no pressures as far as passing traffic. The l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Have just spent a very enjoyable Saturday night at Ardeonaig with friends - the welcome from management, the fantastic location, the wonderful rooms and the superb food all made for an unforgettable experience - absolutely well worth visiting!

Room Tip: The two cottage suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcLarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Many thanks to all at Ardeonaig for a very special weekend treat. Ross, the food was superb over the 3 nights and made our celebration weekend exceptional. We particularly enjoyed all the courses 'in between' as well as the detail within the menu. For me the breakfasts were a special treat. The hospitality from all the staff at Ardeonaig is fantastic. They are very attentive and remember all those special likes and dislikes
Special thanks to James for all you friendly hospitality and particularly for rescuing us after our long walk in the hills... that was definitely over and above your normal duties and the tea and scones tasted the best ever. and Rodney thanks for all those detailed explanations of the treats on our plates. Our cottage suite was superb with views of the Loch. We will definitely be back....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I booked two nights for me, my wife and my two children, aged 17 years and 8 years. We all had the best short break ever. I cannot speak highly enough of this place, Rodney was fantastic, James was like an old friend and knew all our first names right away and Ross and his fabulous team turned out top notch food, dish after dish. The whole team looked after us from start to finish and went well beyond the norm looking after our every request.
I have not stopped raving to my friends and family since we got back.
The area is stunning and the view from the library is superb.
I could go on forever but I am away to contact the guys to book a couple of nights for just me anf my wife.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The restaurant at Ardeonaig is really worth a visit! (though I do look forward to experiencing one of the luxurious rooms in the very near future too) We went for the dinner menu & enjoyed three delicious beautifully presented courses with additional surprises from beginning to end. Truffle is one of my favourite foods so I was thrilled to have it in my starter as well as my main! The team were fantastic, there wasn't a thing they didn't know about the dishes they were serving which I found very helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Had a wonderful weekend at Ardeonaig for my birthday recently. I'd been most interested to see the hotel was open again as we had considered going there on a prior occasion - but were put off by the attitude of the old management! We knew the hotel was in a fabulous setting and had great potential to be a wonderful luxury-in-the-wilds experience! The new management are clearly very focussed on ensuring its an extra special place to be - and indeed it was! The service was outstanding - v friendly as well as v professional. The food was really fantastic - our choice of lamb main proved exceptional and my pistachio souffle was truly divine! Breakfasts too were really special with wonderful fruit shots and unusual and delicious fruit salads - as well as v tasty hot savoury options. Oh and the homemade jam was amazing! We were quite surprised to meet the Ross the head chef and see how young he is! He definately has talent and a huge passion for quality food.
A lovely lovely experience - so we hope to return before long. It'd be lovely to be there in different seasons. Which reminds me about the fantastic style of the dining room - with huge picture windows. A great contemporary addition to the original quaint old coaching inn.
Full marks all round for service, food and ambience! The only potential improvement I'd suggest would be to reduce the African theme in the decor as it feels quite incongruous (only understood by knowing the recent, rather chequered, history of the hotel). Good luck - and thank you - to the new owner, management and staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeonaig
17.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
896 reviews
17.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardeonaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeonaig Hotel

Property: Ardeonaig Hotel
Address: South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Ardeonaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeonaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardeonaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ardeonaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardeonaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing