We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / diner Log burner located in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Kitchen / diner
Log burner located in lounge
Feature stairs leading to bedroom, balcony and sitting area
Dingies Howe
The Ring of Brodger near Tiffyhall
Highland Park vats of Whisky
Highland Park visitor centre
Mullhead, Deerness
St Margaret's Hope
Maeshowe
Skara Brae
Stromness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deerness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nich0la88
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great getaway”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

great place to stay and the hosts make you very welcome. you are spooked on arrival with a range of local goodies including butter, bread and of course gin. it was a good base to tour the island from. the views were great and we saw many different species of birds from the living room and enjoyed watching the antics of the hares in the field.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thanks for the great review and we hope you come again.
Thanks
Karen and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Excellently equipped kitchen
Very comfortable throughout
Well equipped
Very clean and tidy
Hosts charming
Scones delicious
Easy access to airport
Good parking


Only downside if you are elderly, toilet downstairs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Thanks for the great review Pam. We hope to see you both again soon.
Thanks
Karen and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautifully located farmstead cottage”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautifully converted cottage surrounded by fields with view to the sea. Warm welcome from hosts Colin and Karen - a generous welcome pack of local produce (including freshly made scones with jam and clotted cream - fantastic!) Owners living next to the property - accessible when needed but never obtrusive. Exceedingly comfortable and well equipped property. Property is situated on the eastern side of mainland Orkney - easy driving to all places of interest. Would have no hesitation in recommending Tiffyhall 2 to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thanks Iain,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting you both.
Thanks
Karen and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nich0la88
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, with a great sea view”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

So we arrived to a great welcome from Karen, including scones, jam and cream, local bread and oatcakes and a lovely wee bottle of local gin! What a start. Really well outfitted cottage, everything you could possibly need. Sometimes self catering, there's something you have forgotten, but not here - everything is provided for you. Clear views to the sea from the one bedroom cottage - the curlews, hares and even a sparrowhawk have kept us entertained. About a 10 - 15 min drive to Kirkwall, so not difficult to get to all the sight-seeing areas. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Hi Nichola
Wow! What a fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Karen and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan I
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a great little cottage. Lovely views out to the sea in the distance. Well-equipped. Nice touch with the eggs / milk / essentials there on arrival. Loads of local information leaflets available. Even some freshly baked scones one evening! The only thing we'd add would be blackout curtains for the bedroom - you can actually see the light from the lighthouse over 5 miles away at night!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Hi Duncan,
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope our guests feel comfortable while here. As we just took over the business 6 months ago we really appreciate all feedback. We shall get new curtains made. Hope to see you both again.
Thanks,
Karen & Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbgkin
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely comfortable well appointed cottage”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Convenient location. Lovely welcome pack. Lots to see and do on Orkney. Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our cottage extremely comfortable, we do aim to offer value for money and as you said there is lots to do in Orkney and our cottage is located such that you are not too far from it all, but far enough that at the end of the day you can come back and relax in comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethergre...
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is one of the best self catering holiday places I have ever rented. The cottage is beautiful and the kitchen is extremely well equipped. I don't think there was anything I wanted that I couldn't find. There are beautiful views from the bed loft. Our bed was very comfortable and we slept extremely well. We were very grateful for the fresh eggs that we were given from the farm flock of hens, and for the friendly treatment we got from the owners. The farm is in a pleasingly rural area. We had a rental car and were able to take advantage of the excellent roads to go exploring. However, there are also buses running reasonably regularly into Kirkwall. We had a wonderful time and would be delighted to return. (The weather was great too, but I don't suppose the hosts can guarantee that!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you for your review and we are both pleased you found our cottage met your needs. We do aim to make the cottage as comfortable as possible and as much as a home as possible. The views we agree are spectacular and we feel we are in a good location to allow visitors to enjoy Orkney. Our Chickens are good layers so we have an abundance of eggs at the moment. A car is good to get about, however there is a local bus service too and from Kirkwall. We do hope you are able to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing