We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Lounge
Northern Lights in Orkney near Tiffyhall
Sunset at Tiffyhall
The Ring of Brodger
Stromness
Maeshowe
Yesnaby
Highland Park vats full of Whisky
Maltings floor at Highland Park
Skies of Deerness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Deerness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christoph...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic place. Arrived to a warm welcome, a home baked cake,milk butter and cheese in the fridge plus a loaf of bread, a nice touch after a long journey. The cottage was well equipped with everything you need,it was immaculate throughout. Situated in green fields an ideal place to escape from the city. Easy commute to any of the local attractions, truly a place of natural beauty, steeped in history. Plenty to see and do. Thank you Tina and Paul for contributing to a fantastic holiday

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
We are pleased you found our cottage met your needs and you enjoyed your time in Orkney. The welcome pack is offered to guests who book for 7 nights or more including the home baked cake and the eggs contributed by our own hens. Even though we are located on the East Mainland we find it easy access to all the sites and a welcome retreat at the end of the day in calm surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry M
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a rough crossing from Aberdeen it was a relief to be welcomed at the ferry terminus in Kirkwell by Tina and Paul who kindly turned out after midnight to pick us up. Lovely to find eggs, cheese, milk, bread and a delicious cake on the fridge!
We found the cottage very warm and comfortable. It is a bit isolated - although the village store (about a 15 minutes walk) provided most things we needed and was open on Sunday.
On the Monday we hired a car in Kirkwell and enjoyed the following days exploring this fascinating area..
We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and comfortable cottage in peaceful location.
Liked least: Local heating would have been useful to save us putting central heating on .
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
We were very glad to be of service by picking you up at the ferry port, it wasn't a problem at all. Thank you for leaving a good review very much appreciated and we are both glad you like our welcome pack of Orkney produce and home back. Maybe one day you will be able to return to Orkney.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0ugal211...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil holiday haven”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect holiday cottage! Characterful barn conversion, high standard furnishings, comfortable, cosy and well equipped. Tranquil rural location, stunning views, with dependable wifi.
In my opinion you definitely want a car if you plan to stay at Tiffyhall.
A previous reviewer had mentioned a welcome pack of groceries, so perhaps unreasonably I had expected this ... But we did receive the gift of 6 eggs, fresh laid by Tina's hens. Lovely! And the kitchen was well stocked with condiments and spices.
Bring your slippers! This is a real home from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our cottage and all it has to offer. With regard to the welcome pack, in the T&C's it does state that this is available to all guests booking for 7 nights or more. Sorry you felt you had missed out on this. We do hope you will come back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire...
Where else
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and very friendly owners”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was very comfortable with 1st class furniture and fittings with amazing views across Pentland firth. I would recommend this cottage.my only negstive comment was that I couldn't find a vegetable peeler.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: we loved the peace and quiet
Liked least: Could do with thicker curtains in the bedroom to shut out the early summer light
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you for giving us a good review, we are glad you enjoyed our cottage, the views and your stay. Sorry you couldn't find a vegetable peeler, we will ensure there is one in the cottage for all future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsaMinor...
Cambs
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, spacious, well equipped and immaculate”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our short stay in this lovely cottage was very pleasant. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Wonderfully quiet with extensive views. And the bonus of decent WiFii!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. We are glad you found out cottage met you needs and yes we agree with you the views are extensive. Thank you for your comment on our free wifi as we upgraded it recently so it is good to know it met your needs and that you found it a bonus. We do hope you come back in the future and are able to stay longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portiacam...
cambs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a really lovely holiday home”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is probably one of the best holiday homes we have stayed in. We were greeted by Tina & Paul even though we arrived later than anticipated. Tina showed us around the cottage & explained about the heating etc. There was a 'Welcome pack' consisting of cake (save me buying one as it was hubbys' birthday on the Saturday), bread, cheese, butter, eggs & milk. Cake was lovely with a cup of tea!
Didn't realise towels & hair drier would be included when I booked the cottage (my fault, should have asked).
The only down side was I thought we wouldn't require our own transport. I didn't realise Deerness wasn't near to Kirkwall & the airport etc. Public transport was very sporadic, so I would say, book a car prior to your visit if flying.
Very suprised to see Tiffyhall on the market. Such a shame. I hope that whoever buys the properties will look after it as well as Tina & Paul

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you for a great review, Tiffyhall is located in Deerness and is approximately 8 miles from the airport and 12 miles from Kirkwall. There are bus links into Kirkwall at least 3 times a day, we also travel to and fro Kirkwall daily so can drop anyone into town if needs be. But yes if you want to travel further a field and are flying into Orkney a car would be recommended. The welcome pack is all locally produced products which are fresh and as for the cake, I enjoy baking and like to share. Yes Towels, bed linen, hair dryer are included and if not sure then yes do check as we do try and accommodate our visits as much as we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was warm and welcoming and maintained to a very high standard.
Liked least: Bad signal for calls and texts. Internet was fine.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
We are pleased you like our cottage and that it met all your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing