We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out with Orkney Aspects Guided Tour”

Orkney Aspects Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Deerness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orkney Aspects Tours provide private guided tours and small group shore excursions of the Orkney Islands. All the tours are individually planned to reflect the guests interests and the time they have available.Orkney Aspects Tours are open all year.Get more from your Orkney visit by taking a personal guided tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out with Orkney Aspects Guided Tour”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was lucky enough to discover Orkney Aspects whilst searching for things to do on Orkney to make our trip a memorable one. After a couple of emails back and forth, Pat Stone and I had sorted a date and itinery. On the day of our tour Pat picked us up from our hotel, which incidently was recommended by Pat and was absolutely superb too, and after a few minutes chatting both my wife and I felt as if we had known Pat for ages. We fine tuned our tour as Sarah and I had already been to one of the attractions Pat had in mind. She was very flexible about this and we weren't made to feel awkward at all about asking for some last minute changes. Pat is an absolute fountain of knowledge, enlightening and entertaining to be with as well as very kind and friendly. We enjoyed the most fantastic day, met local people who treated us like old aquaintances because we were in Pat's company and saw places of interest almost to our selves because Pat knows when to visit to avoid the crowds. Not that there are huge crowds on Orkney, but some of the sites like Skara Brae can get very busy! We would have enjoyed our trip to Orkney without Pat's guidance, I'm sure, but we felt privileged to have spent such a wonderful, extra special day in Pat's company. We'll return one day and will definitely look Pat up when we do! Thank you Pat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An inspirational day with Pat Stone.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

As a fairly metropolitan couple used to being lectured to, my husband and I were expecting a standard professional guide for our day visiting the World Heritage sites. What we experienced with Pat as our guide far exceeded our expectations. Pat was not only extremely knowledgeable about the archaeological sites and refreshingly up to date with her information, but her friendly, down-to-earth manner, her local knowhow and her infectious enthusiasm ensured a most memorable day. From the moment she picked us up in her smart, comfortable people carrier to the late afternoon drop-off at our hotel we learnt a great deal, had a delicious lunch, realised just how much more there is to see and do on Orkney and the other islands, and most importantly, we had fun. Any wide-ranging questions about Orkney were answered with ease and one day didn't seem long enough to mine her deep well of information. If only every place had an ambassador like Pat. Our appetite for the islands whetted, we are returning next time for a fortnight.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic visit to Orkney”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Three of us spent 2 wonderful and informative days with Pat Stone. We had arranged a customized itinerary by email which included neolithic sites, the Ness of Brodgar dig, the Churchill Barriers at Scapa Flow and the Italian Chapel. We were lucky enough to be at the dig when a beautiful, 5000 year old ceremonial Axe-head was uncovered, (photo attached).
Pat's local & historical knowledge helped us to cover a huge amount in the 2 days and we are all very grateful to her for making our visit so memorable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“One of the best tours ever!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate to have Pat as our guide. What made her unusual was her execellent and deep knowledge of the history and geography of the area. She had an "insiders" knowledge , access and view of the sites we visited. Pat made the context for what we were seeing so much easier to understand and her background information was remarkable.
Pat was also able to get us moving ahead of the crowds and most sites we had to oursevles. She also knew everyone on the island and was able to steer us to the right people for the extra expierences we wanted to be involved in.

We would definitely go back to Pat and loook forward to doing so in the future.

John and Sharon Davies Massachusetts, USA

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Day with Pat Stone”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Four of us spent a terrific day with Pat Stone. We came in by cruise ship where Pat picked us up. We had arranged a customized itinerary by email which included neolithic sites, a visit to a craft potter, pub lunch, and some local jewelry shopping. There's not much else to add that hasn't already been said in other reviews...our day with Pat was the highlight of our trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orkney Aspects Tours also viewed

 

Been to Orkney Aspects Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing