We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Wonderful Ecperience

We returned for another tour and meal at this local Quebec City sugar shack. The staff was... read more

Reviewed May 31, 2019
David L
,
Sudbury, Canada
via mobile
Highly informative.

We went here as part of a coach group. I loved the forest and the activities. The food looked good... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2018
Julene M
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
11
6
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
6
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maple syrup sugar shack pancakes ham canadian experience horse drawn all you can eat food production entertainment activities meal process forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2017

As part of a Conference, we visited the Sugar Shack on the Chemin de Roy. Tucked away in the maple forest from which the nectar is harvested is one of the original maple syrup factories. The tour/talk takes you through the working practices and explains how the maple is harvested and treated, there is time for a walk through the groves, to see some of the artefacts and to have a horse drawn coach ride through the trees. The highlight, though, is the wonderful all-you-can-eat meal and the great entertainment. We danced, we played the spoons, we sang! It was a very uplifting morning.

Date of experience: November 2016
3  Thank VirgoLady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

I went to this maple sugar house with a group, we had breakfast and "tour" and it was just OK. One woman does the talking, serves the breakfast and is the cashier at the gift shop. The tour was a big disappointment....there was no tour, just a talk and we got to stand in the set up sugar shack. Breakfast was just ok. I would not go back for sure, once was enough. The gift shop had a great selection of maple sugar products and trinkets.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank taber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

The food was okay (typical sugar shack food) but we were packed in like sardines. Dining room was overcrowded and cetain foods, like bacon, there were not enough for everybody at the table and the service was real slow. There was a nice ride available in a horse drawn carriage outside and the "tire sur la neige" was delicious.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank GregA135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015

Call ahead to make reservations and discuss what you would like to do and see. Depending on the number in your group and the season, you may not get everything you need. This is family run so be persistent with your calls if you can't speak to someone right away. They speak English. The facility is designed for groups but they will accommodate families. Cute gift shop with lots to choose from.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Desertdwellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I had dinner here when we were staying in quebec. Be sure to contact them ahead of time as I believe they do individual dinner reservations only when there is a group booking as well. The price was very reasonable. The food was wonderful! The maple whiskey I had with the pork cracklings would have satisfied me all by themselves. It is served family style: ham, baked beans, boiled potatoes, pork cracklings, beets, slaw, meatballs, meat pie. Pancakes for dessert! It was all fabulous and the nice ladies kept offering to bring us more food! There were 2 groups there and they were on one side of the hall while we were on the other side and a stage was in between. There was another couple there as well but they were seated at another table. This was nice as it let us have our time together. There was live traditional music throughout the dinner. Eric was wonderful! Very entertaining and engaging. Once dinner was over he got everyone involved by playing the wooden spoons. The he managed to get some folks out there and teach everyone a traditional dance. Everyone seemed to have a great time. After dinner you can go to the little shop and purchase all things maple, as well as some other local things. Rose gave a tour of the maple processing area and gave historical and nutritional information on maple syrup. It was very interesting. If you are able to arrive early you can walk around the maple groves. The last thing as you are leaving is maple taffy on snow. Crushed ice is put out, maple syrup is poured on it and you roll up the hardening syrup on a stick. Delicious! The Chemin du Roy was about 30 minutes drive from the old town in Quebec City and very much worth the drive. It was fun, informative, delicious and very inviting. It felt a bit like being welcomed into the home of someone local.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank pivo1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews