We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus
Ranked #2 of 2 Skjak B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

At this time of year it was about the only place open on a long isolated area north of Lom. The hotel has lots of old world charm with the rooms being upgraded to a fresh, minimalistic Scandinavian style. The two owner could not have been more helpful and took us to the start of our ski tour and collected us at the end. Its remoteness is part of its charm and the area around it is very beautiful. It is a good place to stop at on a journey north or south and it was indeed an old staging hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped on our way to Geiranger and we the only thing we enjoyed was the good weather! This guesthouse charges hotel price and it's not worth it all. The room was dark and with carpets full of dust. When even touching the couch the air got filled with dust!

When reading other guests comments we expected the staff to be friendly but no, the lady at the reception barely answered our questions and the other staff members were busy playing with an old dog and that was it. They promise wifi in room but that was also a joke, not even wifi in restaurant or reception area. They blamed it on other guests using all the capacity watching net tv.

The place is in the middle of nowhere and we had dinner in the "restaurant". We ordered a local fish dish which was almost uneatable, the worst meal ever in a restaurant in Norway. They didn't have any soft drinks to sell, this was Monday evening and they said they were empty until Thursday. We were offered ice water, but the water was actually lukewarm.

The breakfast was not so bad, but we were very happy to leave early in the morning, this was really a rip off! We had trouble leaving too, as the guesthouse dog was chasing the car and the owner didn't even bother to get control over the dog.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skjak hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We visited Pollfoss last summer and it was one of the best budget places we visited during our 14 days in Norway. It is a really nice old building with a generous parking place. It is right by the way to Skjak but keep in mind that you have to drive about 30 mins to get to a nearest town.

The staff was really friendly (Dutch origin) and helpful. A very welcomed change in comparison to other budget places in Norway.

We stayed there two nights. It was a quiet tidy place. We rested well no complaints.

The breakfast was fresh and adequate. What was a pleasant surprise was the dinner which we had the night we came. It was quite late already but the lady didn't hesitate to prepare us a delicious fresh fish from Lofoten.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was a perfectly fine low-budget hotel, with adequate food, a friendly welcome, a clean room (but uncomfortable bed), and some old-wordl charm.

However, it is NOT in Skjak! It is up the road AWAY from Lom, towards the wild interior, in a town that could be Bismo, or Nordberg, but definitely ISN"T Skjak. As it is 40 km from Lom, I estimate that it is about 35 km from Skajk. If you wish to stay closer to Lom, you'll have to try another place!

Room Tip: We booked online via Expedia, and the room we got was perfectly fine for a low-budget, not frills ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoQuatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skjak
0.0 mi away
Elveseter Hotel
Elveseter Hotel
#2 of 2 in Boverdalen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mogard
Mogard
#7 of 7 in Skjak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kvila Turistheim
Kvila Turistheim
#1 of 1 in Garmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skjaak Turistheim
Skjaak Turistheim
#1 of 2 in Skjak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hindseter
Hindseter
#1 of 1 in Vagamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus

Property: Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus
Address: Skjakvegen 3484, Skjak, Lom 2690, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lom > Skjak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Skjak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and cosy hotel with good local food. Quiet rooms with waterfall view. Hiking, trout fishing, rafting and moose safaris. Built in 1889, last renovation in 2009, all 26 rooms with shower/toilet. Small museum onsite with carriages and horse outfit. Close to Geiranger (55 kms.) and Lom 940 kms.). This is the driest area in Norway, perfect in the autumn for mushrooms and berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pollfoss Hotel og Gjestehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollfoss Hotel Og Gjestehus Norway/Skjak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing