We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true - a wonderful place and welcome!”

The New Mill Tavern
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Palairos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dear friends we are very happy to inform you that beginning of May 2017 will be open our doors in more spacious and comfortable surroundings. Our new location is between the main church and harbor square , cross the express market. Feel free to to contact us with any questions you may have. We look forward to serving you in our new address. Best Wishes for a great holiday season!! Mahi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's all true - a wonderful place and welcome!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went twice in the last fortnight, we encouraged other people to go after our first visit and they were not disappointed.

I wholeheartedly agree with the reviews that are already posted - not to be missed.

Richard and Barbara

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhouffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    20
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind. Must visit! Delicious authentic Greek food, fun and friendly service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant in our first week, then took a group of people back with us the next week. Food was authentic and delicious, plus the daughter, mum and husband team made the visit extra special. They are gorgeous people, and their personalities, energy, passion and expertise was obvious from the second you walk in. The courses that arrive are surprises, so that's half the fun! The wine bottle that comes to a table with a group is 5 litres in volume, and the wine is tasty! Be sure to ask for water as its essential to stave off the inevitable hangover.... My favour part of the meal was the skordalia, which the mum talked us through how she makes it - its like homous, but made with potatoes instead.... We will definitely return when we next visit vounaki in Greece

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclynrussell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“RoseW”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Cathy and Mahi treat you like family at this brilliant hidden gem! No menu just amazing homemade Greek food and a warm welcoming atmosphere! Watch out for the wine bottles, the bigger the party the bigger the bottle! A definite must if you're visiting Paleros!

Helpful?
Thank Rose1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The warmest welcome”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The warmest welcome and the best food provided by Cathy and her daughter Mahi. No menu, but you won't be disappointed, and they will provide a genuine Greek eating experience. Check out their guest book and the long list of recommendations by a whole list of TV chefs and celebrities.
This has been our fourth family visit since finding the place in 1990, and it's every bit as good now as it ever was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Hospitality and Great Greek cuisine”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the adjacent rooms at Antonio's Guest House and Diving (Ionian Scuba Diving) which we booked through AirBnB. We were very pleased to learn his mother and sister have this restaurant next door and we were fortunate to enjoy their hospitality and wonderful food. We also read very favorable reports from previous guests such as Gordon Ramsay and Jamie Oliver.

We would definitely recommend this family owned restaurant to anyone who is visiting the area.

Helpful?
Thank petendsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Mill Tavern also viewed

Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
 
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
 
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
Palairos, Aetolia-Acarnania Region
 

Been to The New Mill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing