We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation guaranteed in this great lodge”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mizpah Ecolodge

Mizpah Ecolodge from the field showing green roofs, green walls and glazing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mizpah Ecolodge from the field showing green roofs, green walls and glazing.
Decking and BBQ area providing plenty of space to sit and relax after long days cycling or walking Open plan design
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Mizpah Ecolodge from the field showing green roofs, green walls and glazing.
Decking and BBQ area providing plenty of space to sit and relax after long days cycling or walking
Open plan design
Comfy double bed where you can relax and just check out the view or watch a movie.
Plenty of internal space
Winter view from the south
Harvest time
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining with a view
Utility room with washing machine, additional sink and iron/ironing board
Misty winter's morning
Looking out west
Harvest time from the green roof
Spoiled for choice, which cycle route to take? On road or off road...
The Ridgeway offers some of the best single track MTB routes. Over 80 miles of car free cycling
Views of open countryside
BBQ area and bikes for hire
Winter 2015 -8c outside and 20c inside and notice snow not melting on roof.
Drones birds eye view of lodge and surrounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Benson, Wallingford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TheBorder...
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxation guaranteed in this great lodge”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mizpah Ecolodge is the perfect place if you want country surroundings with wildlife galore, but within a short distance of the beautiful Henley-on-Thames and the city of Oxford. Wallingford (1 mile away) is a real gem of a town, with lovely shops and a superb riverside walk along the Thames to Benson.
We cycled in the Chilterns with our 10 year old, swam in the outdoor pool in Wallingford and Didcot Wave Leisure Pool, walked for miles in Oxford and enjoyed the atmosphere and beauty of the river in Henley-on-Thames. We even had a day in Legoland Windsor only an hour by car if you avoid the rush hour traffic.
Tim and Sarah were perfect hosts - so friendly, there if you needed them and so generous with special touches in the eco lodge and so committed to green issues.
The lodge easily accommodated our family of 3, and we loved the feeling that we were almost living outdoors in a very special build. We'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meroujan...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place I have probably ever had the pleasure to stay in ”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2016

This is by far the nicest lodge/hotel/b&b I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
The second we were shown in felt like we were in a safari house in Africa.
Everything was open plan with the bed in the back of the living room. You have your own front garden which has fairy lights to switch on at night.
An oven, fridge and all else which could be needed. Tv with sky and hdmi port to plug in fire stick. If I ever felt like I was actually on holiday it was while staying at this lodge, I honestly cannot wait to stay again and hope we manage to find some time when it is not fully booked :)

10/10 cannot fault it in any way.

Beautiful!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles G
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“So good I stayed again this year!”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My experience staying here was so good last summer, that I decided I would do it again this summer. Once again I was blown away by the friendly welcome of my gracious hosts.

They remembered that I needed an extra fridge in the property (because I was going to be cooking for 5 or 6 people on a couple of days) and it was there waiting for me. As before they left me with some eggs fresh from the hen house and some home made jams and chutneys.

The weather being a bit more typically British this year we stayed indoors a bit more but when we did venture out the location was fantastic as ever. It is nestled in the spectacular Chilterns but still close enough to a main road. Wallingford is close by and Henley not much further away. It is a great jumping off point for Oxford as well - one friend popped in to stay the night on the sofa bed so we could have dinner on her way to Oxford the next morning!

And this year the ecolodge got to show off it's eco properties a bit more! With the outside temperature wobbling between 10C at night and maybe 18C in the daytime, the temperature inside was a very pleasant 20C and never really fluctuated more than +/- one degree.

I commend this beautifully located and practically set up / equipped cottage to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and generous hosts
Liked least: The shower could do with a thermostatic valve - it's a little fiddly to get right
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenaDaw...
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful, spacious ecolodge nestled in the countryside, with lovely views and great amenities. The owner was kind and helpful, providing us with delicious homemade jam and fresh eggs. The lodge has everything you could possibly need, and the added touches all over the lodge make this place a real treasure. Would love to stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thanks so much for spending the time to write a review. Really appreciated and hope you return again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSurr...
Surrey, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect peace and warmest welcome”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The owners, Sarah and Tim, clearly delight in welcoming guests to their ecolodge and go out of their way to make you feel at home with lots of thoughtful treats: homemade jam and freshly laid eggs were much appreciated. Tim is also eager to share his passion for the sustainable building methods used in its construction.
After a long walk through the stunning local countryside, we spent the evening in our warm and cosy lodge, slept like logs with all the curtains open and awoke to an aerial display provided by the many red kites that nest nearby.
One night was not long enough - we'll definitely be going back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Thank-you so much for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We would be very happy to provide you with some mountainbikes for your next visit so that you can explore some of the many beautiful trails through the Chilterns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity12...
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Eco lodge with great hosts, can't wait to return”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Mizpah Ecolodge is lovely and homely, I loved the fact I woke in the morning to the fields & farmers bringing in the harvest, it was 10 mins drive max to Wallingford and so easy to find everything you needed. There was tea, coffee, milk, juice and fresh eggs on arrival and I met Sarah and Sammy (dog) both lovely. Tim was also kind enough to pick up my husband and daughter from the station later in the wk as I was working during the day. This also meant that my husband had chance to find out lots more about the lodge regards the building process and my daughter fed the chickens and played with Sammy. We took a single air bed for my daughter, but there is a very comfortable sofa bed, there is everything you need in terms of the kitchen, linen etc. May daughter keeps asking when are we going back to our little house........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good clean space with all amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2015
Thanks so much for spending the time to write a review! Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime in future and there'll be some newly hatched chicks for your daughter to "look after" ! Kind regard Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C
Bromley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic - clean & comfortable - everything I needed!”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely lodge in beautiful setting; looking out over the countryside. The sun streams into the lodge morning and evening. Everything was there and the lodge was very clean, tidy, and ready to stay in. Couldn't ask for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact there were no issues.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2015
Thanks so much for writing this review. Great to know that the lodge also suits business travellers as well as holiday guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing