We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful”
Review of Las Alamandas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Alamandas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I spent six fabulous nights at Las Alamandas with my husband. Its so difficult to really describe the beauty of the place, you have to expierence it first hand.
Las Alamandas makes such an impression that it makes it so hard leaving. The staff are really wonderful and make you feel so at home.
If you want an expierence like no other then you must go to Las Alamanadas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julestoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Las Alamandas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 137 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is by far the most romantic resort my wife and I have been to, the service and the privacy was beyond my expectations, it was like a second honeymoon, taking a bottle of wine as the sun sets on the multicolor sky at the lookout point, enjoying the dinner at the beach surrounded by candlelights, and the amazing beach, which was all to ourselves, with no one arround, now that was privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Reservation: Staff were very prompt and responsive in making all the necessary arrangements. We booked the Casa Duomo, which has two bedrooms and three bath. They had great specials with 4th night free compared to their advertised rates.

Arrival: The driver met us at the PV airport with a luxury SUV. The drive from Puerto Vallarta airport to the resort is around 2 to 2 and a half hours. It is scenic for the most part but can be hard to tolerate. Our driver was amongst the best I have had. Las alamandas is a nature sanctuary, so you will not find ANYTHING or ANYONE around it except for a small village that is right adjacent to it. We went at the end of the dry season, so most vegitation composed of cacti and for the most part dry trees. But once you get to the actual hotel grounds, it is kept very tropical with greeneray all around. Our car stopped right in front of our Casa and we went right into our room with our luggage delivered immediately.

Casa Duomo: This is the house that is on most of the pictures of this hotel. It is very much architecturally appealing and functional. You have the most amazing privacy that can be described. The other four Casas are located adjacent to Duomo, but the view of Duomo is only towards deserted beaches and cliffs that go on for ever. The beach itself is spectacular in many ways. The sand is very soft (almost as soft as Amanpulo), but not white. The ocean is NOT swimable due to massive waves and currents. But it is amazing to look at.

Resort ground: There are two restaurants in the property. One is by the beach and the other a bit more inland towards the reception. The beach restaurant is open for lunch and breakfast while the other one is for dinner. There is a store with artwork, clothing, jewlary as well as basic necessities. There is also a TV/Library that we did not use. Other amenities included a lighted tennis court as well as kids playground and ping pong table.

Food: In summary: Just great. No complaints at all. Fish meals were prepared amazingly well and healthy. Options can be limited though due to remoteness of the hotel. On the last night of four nights that we were there, we had the hotel drive us down the road to Careyes resort's restaurant which also offered pretty good quality meals, but not as great.

Activities: The location of this resort is the quietest that I have ever stayed in. There are very few rooms for guests and the occupancy was very low during our stay. So we were pretty much by ourselves the whole time. We went horseback riding, boogie boarding, had massages by the beach, toured the extensive property and had a great time with the local wildlife. There are so many birds around and the local night time companions are these animals that look similar to Racoons, but much friendlier called Tejons. My six year old son as well as my wife had a blast in feeding these creatures every night. All activities were very well organized and high in quality. We also had a picnic lunch during our last day at a deserted beach that was highly momorable.

In summary, this hotel is one of the best option if one is looking for tranquility and peace. The service level is very high for Mexico and the fact that it has been kept as a nature sanctuary, it is perfect for nature lovers. Your view from your room is nothing but unspoilt beaches with no one or no structures to be seen. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luxrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We had a fantastic time! We stayed for 4 days for our honeymoon. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly. The property is beautiful and impeccably maintained, while nature is pristinely preserved. One is completely surrounded by nature. We were fortunate to watch humpback whales and dolphins from the hotel’s main beach. We also had a great tour of the property guided by Graciela, the staff biologist, who showed us their turtle hatching program. The place is great for hiking, with miles of roads and breathtaking views of the seacoast and the river. Fantastic for birdwatching too. The beaches were beautiful, although families with kids should be aware that the strong sea currents may prevent them from swimming, depending on the conditions. The food is fresh, authentic and always delicious. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have just returned from 5 nights at Las Alamandas with our two small children (3&6 years old). I knew this place was special when we arrived and I asked about a room key. One of the many staff members that appeared magically out of nowhere said
" If you need one, we would be happy to provide one for you, but Mrs. Cannon, we assure you that your belongings are very safe here. If there is anything else you need, please let us know as we are here to make you happy". And make us happy they did. Las Alamandas is a very special place.

We passed our days on this 1500 acre property in the following ways;

1. A lingering delicious breakfast overlooking the private beach on the wild Pacific.
2. An excursion to one of the 4 beaches on the property to be enjoyed exclusively by us. Umbrellas, sand toys for the kids, towels and a picnic lunch were already set up for us upon arrival.
3. A visit to the top notch gym on the hill above the resort.
4. Quiet time in the room (when the sun was at it's hottest). A movie for the kids (provided by the hotel) and books for us on the beautiful balcony.
5. A visit to the stunning pool. While the pool is not specifically built for kids, it does have a ledge and stairs that the kids can safely play on. It was also nice to see that some floating toys were provided specificaly for children.
6. Happy hour margueritas by the seaside while our children either played with the hermit crabs on the beach, at the playground in the shade, or with the large lawn chess set.
7. A delicious dinner at the restaurant where the menu changed nightly but anything was available that you had enjoyed on a previous day.
8. We would end our days with a visit behind the kitchen to toss tortillas to the tejones (a nocturnal animal related to the racoon). Obviously this should be done with care as these animals could carry rabies, but this was a highlight for our kids.


Other activities that we participated in included a horse back ride, and an Easter egg hunt.

If you are planing to visit Las Alamandas with a family, here are a couple things that you may want to be aware of:

1. Although it is pricey you may want to use the car service from the airport that is arranged by the hotel. We rented a car for about half the price but this was a little bit of a hassle with small kids after a plane ride. I would not recommend taking a taxi unless you want to be terrified and are okay with no air conditioning.

2. This resort is very quiet and secluded. I would not recommend it for the extrovert and you should really enjoy the company of the people you are traveling with. People tend to keep to themselves and with only 35 guest at a time you often go for hours without seeing another person.

3. While the beach is visually stunning, this is the wild Pacific and the waves are big and sometimes dangerous. We did not go in the water with our kids. Also, some of the more remote beaches had garbage that had washed up on them. This of course is not the fault of the resort but just something you should know to expect so as not to be surprised.

4. While the resort is working on their kids program, I would suggest talking to the staff about what kind of activities you can arrange for your kids during your stay (many are complimentary). As they do not have a lot of kids staying there at any one time, a daily program probably does not really work for them. To the resort, I would suggest a menu of suggested activities that people could arrange with a notation as to any additional costs.

5. Finally I would love to see a "Kids Menu". The resort will make whatever you want but I always appreciate some suggestions.

6. 3-5 nights is ideal at this resort.

7. While most everything I mention above was included in our stay, the best money we spent was $100US to have a table set up on the beach with our own bonfire. This was absolutely fabulous for our whole family and entirely worth the money.

To the staff of Las Alamandas, we would like to express a sincere thank you !!! You made this a very special trip for us. After our visit with you we spent two days at a mega resort in PV and wanted to come racing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Travel-Tot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Las Alamandas is the ideal location for someone who values privacy and is willing to pay a bit more for outstanding service. My husband and I took our kids out to the Las A pristine beach (2 minute walk from our room) and it was a surreal experience to have this magnificent beach all to ourselves. We had just come from Suyalita, where you had to fight for enough room to put your towel out and faced a never-ending line of locals pushing their wares on you.

The beauty of Las A was stunning, the food was amazing, and the service was the best I have received at any top hotel - anywhere. We enjoyed horseback riding, surfing, tennis, and ocean-side massage...and we were only there for 2 days! This is definately a place I want to visit again, and plan to stay longer. Thank you Isabel for everything!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaneyutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This was my second trip to Las Alamandas -- went with my partner -- we will be back again and again. Its truly a mind blowing eco-paradise -- recently remodeled and updated rooms are stunning.

The staff are fantastic -- some have been working for the owner for a decade or more. They will do anything to make you happy, and seem somehow to anticipate your thoughts.

This place makes the Four Seasons feel like McDonalds.

The food is marvelous, the drinks are tremendous. There is a cool art gallery, swimming, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, fantastic margaritas, and I love the various beaches -- choose your private beach and go for it. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about, I have been swimming on all three beaches and the waves are great. Some of my friends went surfing, and bodysurfing. Lagoons inland, secret swimming coves, vista points, tennis courts (in fantastic condition). It just never ends.

If you are with a lover, go there. If you want to have a special celebration with a group of friends (we were there on this visit with 20 people to celebrate my 40th birthday), go there. If you want to unwidn, decompress, and charge your battery, go there. If you love nature, go there.

Thank you Las Alamandas and congratulations to the owner on creating detail by detail one of the most amazing destinations on the planet (this from someone who has travelled to 55 countries and stayed in the best of the best).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quemaro
15.9 mi away
Careyes
Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
79 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Hotel
19.0 mi away
Villa Polinesia Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Paraiso Costalegre
Paraiso Costalegre
#1 of 2 in Chamela
7 reviews
22.2 mi away
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tomatlan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alamandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alamandas

Address: Km. 82 Carretera Federal 200, Quemaro 48850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Quemaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
Price Range: $248 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Alamandas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Alamandas is an exclusive resort situated on 1,500 acres within a private estate on the Pacific coast and is a pristine nature reserve. It is Mexico's ultimate escape! This secluded haven, named by many magazines as one of the most romantic hotels of the world, was designed and developed by Isabel Goldsmith-Patino. It offers to its guest's luxury, comfort and the highest standards of personalized hospitality in an exquisite setting.Las Alamandas was featured on the cover of Architectural Digest and was chosen by The Robb Report 100 as one of "Earth's Most Exclusive Retreats". It is not a diamond in the rough, it is an exquisite jewel on the Costalegre. Managed like an elegant private estate where guests feel completely at home. The resort is ideal for a romantic getaway, intimate honeymoons, unique family reunions and spectacular beach weddings. Seven villas luxuriously designed for gracious indoor-outdoor living and beautifully appointed suites offer privacy, comfort and accommodate up to 42 guests. The clients are such as Brad Pitt, Sting and Trudie Styler, Maxwell, and Cindy Crawford. Robert de Niro has taken the entire hotel for the Christmas holidays several times. With a clientele of many celebrity guests and Fortune 500 CEO's, the hotel is often rented out in its entirety for a special event and is a favorite location for fashion shoots. Guests can enjoy gourmet Contemporary Mexican Cuisine featuring a fusion of finest Mexican recipes prepared with fresh and organic ingredients, fresh seafood and produce grown on-property. Meals are served at the "Oasis" restaurant, at the main Beach Club "La Palapa "overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the privacy of your suite or as a gourmet-picnic on one of the four private beaches. Guests can indulge with spa treatments and massages to the sound of the Pacific. They can enjoy horseback riding at sunset, kayaking on the lagoons, take bicycle tours or hike to Look-out Point or simply sunbathe by the pool or take a siesta gently swaying in one of the many hammocks. More than a luxurious vacation retreat, Las Alamandas is the perfect hideaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Alamandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alamandas Hotel Quemaro
Las Alamandas Quemaro
Las Alamandas Mexico/Costalegre - Quemaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing