We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Alamandas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Alamandas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

All I can say is if you have a special celebration or want a truly memorable vacation look no further. This place is the most romantic place I have ever been. The staff was amazing and so accommodating. We went by horseback up to see the sunset where we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us, skinny dipped on private beaches which they had perfectly set up for us before our arrival, dinner with a bonfire on the beach...totally above and beyond.
I am a very discriminating traveler I and pored through multiple reviews/sites trying to find the perfect spot. Look no further...this is your place. Beware though...it is not inexpensive but worth every penny for those who want the ultimate memorable experience! PS As much as the two-hour drive was a total (and expensive) drag, it was worth it. Book it!!!!

  • Liked — secluded casual and luxurious
  • Disliked — travel time to get there
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cocokrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

Once you've entered the gates at Las Alamandas you feel like you've arrived in paradise. If you need to get away from it all and fall into immediate relaxation, this is the place. Listening to the sound of the ocean, swinging in a hammock with margarita in hand, you feel like it just couldn't get any better. But think again becuase the staff is so accomodating, they will do just about anything to make your stay one of a kind - picnic on the private beach, wine and cheese on a cliff overlooking the ocean at sunset or horseback riding just to name a few of the ways to enjoy your stay. The fact that there is hardly another guest in sight also contributes to the feeling of celebrity. You can dine in the comfort of your private villa or head to the restaurant, no lines or reservations required here. Speaking of the food, it is not only delicious, most of it is also organic. I highly recommend the fresh fruit plate at breakfast, it's amazing.
The rooms are extremely clean and well kept inside and out and the decor is colorful and traditional.
Not only are the accomodations 5 star, the staff is as well. I highly recommend taking the drive from Puerto Vallarta or Manzanillo and staying at Las Alamandas at least once in your life. You will love this place!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2006

Las Alamandas is a fantasy of a paradise.. just a few hours south of P.V. Ultra-luxury accommodations, pristine and secluded beaches, massive lush grounds, 5-star service, wonderful food, great cocktails, professional and friendly staff...

When you are arrive, you are driven directly to your casita where fresh lemonade and margaritas are waiting. The sound of the ocean kisses the air, everywhere you look is paradise. You may see one couple during your entire stay. It's a place for ultimate privacy.. no wonder celebrities come here. But it doesn't have one ounce of snootiness.. everyone is treated like royalty.
Every night, the staff lays a mosaic of fresh flowers on the bed,
It's one of the most romantic places on earth.

The activities are also well thought out and planned--just ask and all will be accommodated. Horse riding to the beaches and lagoons, biking, swimming, snorkeling, etc.

I have to say this is one of the most beautiful hotels in the world.

  • Liked — Ultimate luxury and fantasy getaway
  • Disliked — Expensive, but worth it. Service and VAT adds 30% to the cost.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book multple (4-5 night) packages.. you'll love the time and the cost savings
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SFAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

My girlfriend and I went for my birthday, as it is our tradition to travel somewhere for her's and mine each year. We have been to some of the best hotels in the world and this was our best vacation ever.

We felt like we had the entire resort and beach to ourselves, I believe they only accomodate something like 27 guests, so the staff outnumbers them, absolute paradise (Corona commercial comes to mind). The meals were all included in the room rate, and you could order whatever you desired that wasn't even on the menu. We sat at a private table by the beach for my birthday, accessable by a path of candles under the stars. The entire restaurant staff (including head chef, who signed my menu which I will frame) came out to sing "happy birthday" in Spanish.

We stayed for 4 nights, and were able to arrange at no charge horseback riding, mountain biking and a guided boat river tour.
Air-conditioned SUV airport service was also included, and the roads were surprisingly smooth, in good repair, and scenic.

The tiny negatives: Light-sleepers beware: the ocean waves crashing actually kept me awake somewhat, and we had trouble initially getting service at the pool or beach, though it was quickly resolved.

This is an absolutely indescribable experience for those that want to get away from it all and avoid the mega-resorts. We spent a lot but not once regretted it. We will remember Alamandas for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

Las Alamandas is the ultimate luxury getaway. We recently hosted a 4-night yoga vacation there and it was fabulous. The staff was superb and flexible to all guest needs. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The grounds were stunning. Guests spent their days horseback riding along private, white-sand beaches; reading in various hammocks throughout the resort, eploring the grounds, relaxing by the pool and enjoying fabulous meals. The sound of the waves crashing all day and night was sensational.
It is easy to forget about the rest of the world while at Las Alamadas and we all agreed that after just 4 nights it felt that we'd been there for weeks. We will be back in the near future!

Helpful?
8 Thank yogaandsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

Las Alamandas is the best place I have ever spent time at. and I have been travelling for 35 years. Don't bring the kids.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

First, as noted by others, Las Alamandas is listed as being in Puerto Vallarta but is in fact in the middle of nowhere - 2 hours south of PV.

Secondly its very hard to describe the kind of luxury that Las Alamandas offers - its barefoot, trouble and hassle free, very very relaxing and laid back. It reminded me of time I spent sitting on a beach in Kovalum, India, about 15 years ago. The difference being that now Kovalum is hideously overdeveloped and I am much older and expect a few more luxuries.

It is not a gleaming hermetically sealed luxurious 5 star resort where staff patrol the pool side waiting on your every whim. If you want that go to Punta Mita in Puerto Vallarta.

There are lizards in the rooms, there are no attractions to visit, no martini bars, the gym equipment is quietly rusting away, in September it could have done with a lot more air-con, the mountain bikes were falling apart.... I can see that this would drive some people very mad, especially as Las Alamandas is also very very expensive.

And yet as my wife and I dozed by the utterly deserted swimming pool, picnicked on empty beaches, sat mesmerised by the Pacific surf and watched the fireflies as we sipped the obligatory evening Margarita, I have to say that Las Alamandas came very close to being Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Digbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quemaro
15.9 mi away
Costa Careyes
Costa Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
20.5 mi away
Cuixmala
Cuixmala
#1 of 2 in Careyes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
#1 of 5 in La Manzanilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
22.2 mi away
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tomatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alamandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alamandas

Property: Las Alamandas
Address: Km. 83.5 Carretera Federal 200, Quemaro 48850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Quemaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Alamandas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Alamandas is an exclusive resort situated on 1,500 acres within a private estate on the Pacific coast and is a pristine nature reserve. It is Mexico's ultimate escape! This secluded haven, named by many magazines as one of the most romantic hotels of the world, was designed and developed by Isabel Goldsmith-Patino. It offers to its guest's luxury, comfort and the highest standards of personalized hospitality in an exquisite setting.Las Alamandas was featured on the cover of Architectural Digest and was chosen by The Robb Report 100 as one of "Earth's Most Exclusive Retreats". It is not a diamond in the rough, it is an exquisite jewel on the Costalegre. Managed like an elegant private estate where guests feel completely at home. The resort is ideal for a romantic getaway, intimate honeymoons, unique family reunions and spectacular beach weddings. Seven villas luxuriously designed for gracious indoor-outdoor living and beautifully appointed suites offer privacy, comfort and accommodate up to 42 guests. The clients are such as Brad Pitt, Sting and Trudie Styler, Maxwell, and Cindy Crawford. Robert de Niro has taken the entire hotel for the Christmas holidays several times. With a clientele of many celebrity guests and Fortune 500 CEO's, the hotel is often rented out in its entirety for a special event and is a favorite location for fashion shoots. Guests can enjoy gourmet Contemporary Mexican Cuisine featuring a fusion of finest Mexican recipes prepared with fresh and organic ingredients, fresh seafood and produce grown on-property. Meals are served at the "Oasis" restaurant, at the main Beach Club "La Palapa "overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the privacy of your suite or as a gourmet-picnic on one of the four private beaches. Guests can indulge with spa treatments and massages to the sound of the Pacific. They can enjoy horseback riding at sunset, kayaking on the lagoons, take bicycle tours or hike to Look-out Point or simply sunbathe by the pool or take a siesta gently swaying in one of the many hammocks. More than a luxurious vacation retreat, Las Alamandas is the perfect hideaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Alamandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alamandas Hotel Quemaro
Las Alamandas Quemaro
Las Alamandas Mexico/Costalegre - Quemaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing