We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and luxurious”
Review of Las Alamandas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Alamandas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles,CA
123
Reviewed April 19, 2005

I never thought I could be somewhere so remote and enjoy such luxury and beauty. It is a feast for the senses,the beauty of the grounds, immaculately kept,the lulling sound of the wondrous Pacific Ocean soothing me into a gentle slumber every night, the glorious colors and a decoration with an incredible attention to detail, the heavenly food from the hotel's organic orchard and the attentive staff , always there with a smile, this is TRUE luxury. The luxury of quality of life and unspoilt spaces, not the gaudiness of marble veneers and urban decoration. My thanks to the owner for not selling out to hotel chains and for protecting this wondrous site. Truly the closest place to Paradise on this Earth.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2005

I am writing this because I value the reviews and they help me make my
decisions on where too stay.
We were at Las Alamandas for 3 nights the end of Feburary 2005.
The property is truly beautiful. The staff are perfect. We thought the breakfast was the best meal of the day and the drinks were great.
Lunch and Dinner were good but not outstanding. The hotel and grounds are spotless. It is very well taken care of.
We played tennis, rode the horses, went for walks, had massages,
had dinner in the little hut on the beach, and had a great time.
We will not go back though.
We had a nice room but it wasnt worth the money.
The beds are on cement and I could not sleep at all. Its a very Mexican
thing to do but it never occured to me that a hotel of this class would have uncomfortable beds. I talked to three other guests and no one liked the beds.
We asked to be upgraded becasue we didnt have a great room and even
though there were only 5 rooms being used the last two days we were there they didnt up grade us.
We ended up spending about $700.00 a day including room, food, drinks,
taxes, and transportation. I would not do it again. There are other places in Mexico that are as beautiful and small with good beds.

52  Thank barbara sanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2005

Las Alamandas' location is a beautiful paradox. Wild, lonely setting, with exquisite beach, with carefully manicured grounds for the hotel itself.

You must only go to Las Alamandas if you truly do not ever wish to leave the resort. If you are the sort to crave the occasional night out, or wish to try a different restaurant...you simply cannot. Las A's secluded location is 2 hours from anywhere, so once you get there -- you're not leaving.

The hotel rooms themselves appeared quite variable, some look spacious and lovely. Others less so. As my husband and I were in a less appealing room, it was not a high point of the stay. Far too much money to pay for a relatively mediocre room.

The food too was just ok. The poetry in the brochures and some of the reviews that I have read regarding the food quality and the service level was overblown. While the staff was kind, it was difficult/nearly impossible to get a drink on the beach. Although the beach is large, this would still seem achievable for a hotel which boasts a 10-1 staff/guest ratio. Perhaps many staff tend the gardens only?

35  Thank cathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
116
Reviewed November 18, 2004

My husband and I spent 5 days of our honeymoon here and absolutely loved everything about the place! Every detail is taken care of, and much to the disagreement of the Nov.5 rant about the lack of service, we found that the everyone there was so helpful! We went horseback riding one day and we could have spend the whole afternoon riding on the beach with our guide if we wanted to. You can ask for just about anything to eat at the restaurant. One day we had gazpacho and really liked it and the next day it wasn’t on the menu and we asked for some, and they whipped up a couple bowls for us. We also asked for a private sunset/candlelit diner in a small hut on the ocean and it was done for us the next night. The food is amazing – all the fresh fish, meat, & vegetables are grown either on the grounds or from the area. We had lots of salsa, fruit, juice, and awesome margaritas! The only drawback is the price, but if it’s for a very special occaseion and you love who you are with and aren’t up for sightseeing or a party town and just need to feel pampered, get some sun and rest,… go here. It’s paradise!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2004

What a fabulous location for a hotel. The grounds are perfection not a guest in sight.
Each villa unique and beautiful. 1500 acres to explore with a lagoon and 2 private beaches other than the beach in front of hotel. But do not rely on the office staff to tell you about the property or the many things to do here. Many celebrities pass through these doors but you must be one to receive any recognition from or help from the office staff. The only information on ammenities or activities or even the property came from other guests suggestions.
Do not take any negativity on the hotel itself or the under staff . Waiters bartenders, housekeepers are friendly and helpful.
Just do not wait for a tour or any insight other your own to explore this fantastic property or you will left sitting in your room .
Also call Hotel itself for availabity. I was informed on internet of available rooms thru the 7th of this month but Hotel completely sold out had to find other accomodations once we arrived for last few days of our stay.
Do explore this wonderful oasis just explore on your own.

16  Thank Genegeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
118
Reviewed December 15, 2003

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon and we spent 6 blissful days at Las Alamandas. The grounds (right on the ocean) are lush and beautifully maintained with brights greens and brilliantly colored flowers everywhere. The colors of the villas were amazing.
Majentas, turquoise, yellows, oranges. We stayed at the Casa San Antonio in the upper "honeymoon suite" and were delighted not only with the ocean view but the unique Mexican-style architecture, the beautiful tile details, the oversized tub (big enough for two), the wooden shutters, the private, cozy roof deck. We couldn't have been more pleased. As soon as we arrived, we felt taken care of by the staff in the best way possible: they were extraordinarly friendly, smart, and helpful, but also scarce when you wanted them to be. They made sure our every need was taken care of in our first five minutes.

The food was absolutely wonderful. Each course, each day, was inventive and satisfying. The chef will certainly go out of his way to please.

We had an extraordinary sunset one evening--they drove us to a point on the cliffs overlooking the ocean about 15 minutes from the resort and had set up chairs, a table, flowers, champagne, and simply asked us when we wanted to be picked up. Absolutely perfect.

There were only four other people in the whole resort, which was exactly what we were looking for: quiet, intimacy, peace. It pretty much felt like we had the whole place to ourselves...with a diligent crew to cater to our every need of course.

My husband and I also spent four days at the Four Seasons in Punta Mita to finish off the honeymoon, and it didn't come close to the beauty and uniqueness of Las Alamandas. The Four Seasons felt corporate, overpriced, and full of loud Americans who enjoyed drinking Budwieser in the infinity pool. Las Alamandas has a sophistication and an elegance that those big name resorts can only hope to mimic. We can't wait for another excuse to go back.

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
111
Reviewed December 10, 2003

The previous review misses the point of Las Alamandas completely. Yes it is miles away from everything but that is what makes this place so truly special. And no, it is not flashy and new like perhaps the Cayrees, Tamarindo or Four Seasons Punta Mita, but do you really need that in a Beach Resort? I can get that at most of the new boutique urban hotels. A family that we met while at the resort had stayed at all the aforementioned resorts, and while they found them great, they thought Las Alamandas was the best of the bunch. With 1500 acres, three beaches and less than 30 guests, what you get here is privacy, incredible service, great food and a resort setting that is relaxed and comfortable. My wife and I had romantic couples massages overlooking the ocean. We had a 1.5-mile beach to ourselves for a horseback ride.
Want something special for dinner, the chef will make it for you. No need to sign any bills as everyone quickly knows your name. Want a picnic on the beach, let the staff know, and the next thing you know you are whisked away to a private beach, with a picnic hamper filled with food and drinks. Upon arriving you will see a long secluded beach where awaiting your arrival are two umbrellas, beach mats and towels.
Let the staff know when you want to be picked and until then it is the two of you, the beach and the beautiful mountains. That to me is what a romantic vacation is all about. This was not a honeymoon for us (we actually brought along our 2 year old son who had a blast Beronica was a superb babysitter) but we now heartily recommend this as such a destination for many of our younger friends. I am sorry the previous reviewers were not happy with their room. There are clear pictures on the website and yes, the ocean front rooms are the nicest, but they too are the most expensive. We had a non-ocean front room, with a roof top deck overlooking the ocean, and found it perfectly lovely. In all honesty, most of our time was spent out of the room anyway.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quemaro
15.9 mi away
Careyes
Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
80 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Hotel
22.2 mi away
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
Rancho Andrea Eco Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tomatlan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Paraiso Costalegre
Paraiso Costalegre
#1 of 2 in Chamela
7 reviews
19.0 mi away
Villa Polinesia Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alamandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alamandas

Address: Km. 82 Carretera Federal 200, Quemaro 48850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Quemaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quemaro
Price Range: $397 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Alamandas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Alamandas is an exclusive resort situated on 1,500 acres within a private estate on the Pacific coast and is a pristine nature reserve. It is Mexico's ultimate escape! This secluded haven, named by many magazines as one of the most romantic hotels of the world, was designed and developed by Isabel Goldsmith-Patino. It offers to its guest's luxury, comfort and the highest standards of personalized hospitality in an exquisite setting.Las Alamandas was featured on the cover of Architectural Digest and was chosen by The Robb Report 100 as one of "Earth's Most Exclusive Retreats". It is not a diamond in the rough, it is an exquisite jewel on the Costalegre. Managed like an elegant private estate where guests feel completely at home. The resort is ideal for a romantic getaway, intimate honeymoons, unique family reunions and spectacular beach weddings. Seven villas luxuriously designed for gracious indoor-outdoor living and beautifully appointed suites offer privacy, comfort and accommodate up to 42 guests. The clients are such as Brad Pitt, Sting and Trudie Styler, Maxwell, and Cindy Crawford. Robert de Niro has taken the entire hotel for the Christmas holidays several times. With a clientele of many celebrity guests and Fortune 500 CEO's, the hotel is often rented out in its entirety for a special event and is a favorite location for fashion shoots. Guests can enjoy gourmet Contemporary Mexican Cuisine featuring a fusion of finest Mexican recipes prepared with fresh and organic ingredients, fresh seafood and produce grown on-property. Meals are served at the "Oasis" restaurant, at the main Beach Club "La Palapa "overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the privacy of your suite or as a gourmet-picnic on one of the four private beaches. Guests can indulge with spa treatments and massages to the sound of the Pacific. They can enjoy horseback riding at sunset, kayaking on the lagoons, take bicycle tours or hike to Look-out Point or simply sunbathe by the pool or take a siesta gently swaying in one of the many hammocks. More than a luxurious vacation retreat, Las Alamandas is the perfect hideaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Alamandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alamandas Hotel Quemaro
Las Alamandas Quemaro
Las Alamandas Mexico/Costalegre - Quemaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing