We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel "Oude Abdij"

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lo-Reninge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel "Oude Abdij"
Ranked #2 of 5 Lo-Reninge B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Used the hotel a few times on a 4 day battlefields tour with students
Always found the staff helpful and accommodating
True its not the Ritz but found the rooms comfortable and clean. The prices are excellent and there is plenty of room for the students to "spread out"
I would recommend this hotel to anyone esp those with school groups
A great location too

Room Tip: If you can get in the old house do so - the rooms have much more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
10
8
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at Oude Abdij in the small Belgian town of Lo in Belgium. This was our fourth visit as a member of a branch of the Royal Marines Association doing a battlefields tour. The hotel is divided into two parts the main part and another part catering for school parties.

The key points for us were:

The location seems a bit out of the way but is actually well situated geographically for a number of battlefields sites and other places of interest. The town of Lo is small and has a number of shops and cafes.

The rooms are basic, clean and functional with good beds and fresh towels (we tried to keep ours and do our bit for the environment but the seemed to get changed anyway).

The continental breakfast is of a good standard with a wide range of items on the menu, cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats, fruit juice, tea, coffee etc. The evening meal is a set three course menu and whilst not really adventurous is of good quality, well presented and efficiently served.

Every time I have been all the staff have been friendly, helpful and professional. We keep going back so they are definitely something right!

A point to note about the school trips. These aren't everyone's cup of tea and I have had occasion to speak to both children and staff about standards of behaviour on one visit. However following a discussion the issue was resolved. That said I have to balance that comment by saying most of the school kids really good and the group that were staying at the same time as us were an exceptional bunch of young people.

'HM the Wife' and I are looking forward to our next trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RV4Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location for a battlefields tour and is quite cheap, however the rooms are dated and worse unclean and heavily covered in grafitti. The staff are adequate but unfriendly and the food is no better. I believe the normal accomodation to be better but the rooms for school trips are awful. The facilities are however, good with table tennis and nice sofas. The eating area is also quite nice. Other facilities are not so great (for example, food is ONLY available at meal times and there is nowhere to get a drink). All in all, a conveniently placed hotel which needs a lot done to make it a pleasant place to stay.

We went on a trip for 13/14 year olds organised by our school.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edwardino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lullington, Swadlincote
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thank you Anna and staff for yet another excellent stay in your family run friendly hotel, we know that the village is very peaceful place, but that all adds to the charm to us, I think we had stayed with as least 8 times now and we will be back again in December when we come Christmas shopping

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineb1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on a ledger battlefield holiday the holiday experience was fantastic and the hotel helped to add to this. 1st off this hotel is a family run hotel so don't expect something like a holiday inn . It is located in the Plesant town of Lo in Belgium the area is very quiet there are no shops in the town only a butchers and a bakery no supermarket there are two bars in the town and they were only open once whilst I was there so the only place to have a beer is at the hotel which was fine the main beer is Jupiler which is very Plesant ,you might want to try some of the local dark beers (high alcohol content ! ). The hotel it's self is surrounded by trees a lake which is very nice. The hotel has 60 rooms but it is never that busy I stayed in a room on the 3 rd floor and it was very Plesant it had a very comfy bed and the room was very clean (no tea making facility's) the main part of the hotel was originally an Abby so the rooms are alittle cramped and the bathrooms are a prime example of that ,there is no shower they are baths with a shower head but there is no curtain so you have to have a bath or you risk water going everywhere over the 4 nights the room was "cleaned" every day by that I mean the beds were made and new towels were put in the bathroom ,that was it . If you plan on eating in Lo the only place yet again is the hotel I only ate there once and it was typical home cooked food we had tomato soup to start and turkey salad and chips for main and strawberrys and ice cream for desert . It wasn't "fine dining " as stated on the website but none the less it was very good 16€ for a 3 course meal you can't complain. The staff were friendly and all could speak English well note they speak Flemish in Belgium not French but most understand French. Over all the hotel was a nice place to stay if you are looking for a quet place to stay then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank callumbann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have been using the hotel oude abdij run by ANNY and her family for many years ..we are an ex P.O.W. association and also have links with the A.T.S. now W.R.A.C. and the War Widows association..we first used the hotel some 10 years ago by accident as a travel company booked hotel/rooms for us ..for us it is well placed for the war graves both in France and Belgium even trips dowwn to ARAS , Vimy Ridge are all do-able within the day and of course the evening in YPRES for the last post so easy back aat the hotel for a good drink with the group ..trips into Brugge , Ostend all easy we have even traveled into Holand bit of a late return but we managed it ..we found the hotel well priced and most rooms comfortable the meals are all ok for us northerners ..we cant fault the hotel at all ...good staff friendly people and we are always made welcome ..have just eturned from our 8th trip alpne and was at the hotel just 18 months ago with the "heros return " lottery funding ..not one person had a complaint ...

Room Tip: all rooms are okay we use the rooms in the front the old part of the hotel, but the annex is new and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Firstly, my experience is based round a school battlefeild trip in Flanders. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and there is even space to play open games like football. Also the hotel is situated perfectly for various trips to Ypres and other famous WW1 landmarks. Rooms were average for sharing up to 4. However, I found that the hotel atmosphere and hospitality was very cold and the food was terrible. I cannot express that enough. There was no menu saying what you were eating aswell, which was a bit disconcerting. Location wise fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel "Oude Abdij"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Oude Abdij"

Property: Hotel "Oude Abdij"
Address: Noordstraat 3, Lo-Reninge 8647, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Lo-Reninge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lo-Reninge
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing