We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Donation Duties

After losing our horse a year ago, we felt it was the right time before the winter to donated her... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
christine b
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Very good

Went to the open day lovely sunny day lots of of good work done here, lots of rescued animals... read more

Reviewed September 14, 2018
fishnorwich
,
Norwich
Read all 124 reviews
  
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
93
21
2
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
21
2
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rescued animals open days bric a brac vegan cakes shire horses well worth a visit dedicated staff gift shop raising money their lives heart breaking second hand bookshop lovely afternoon young ones book shop farm equipment interesting museum
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 124 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

As animal lovers, we were drawn to the Hillside Animal Sanctuary by road-side signage that intrigued us. This a wonderful rescue and retirement sanctuary for draft horses (primary focus) and lots of other animals as well, including goats, pigs, cows and deer. The horses seem happy to be visited, the staff happy to talk about the animals and the facility, and we were entranced by a foal racing about with cheerful energy to burn.

Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited here for the day and loved the various animals, the volunteers do a wonderful job donated in box towards hay etc for the rescued animals

1  Thank dely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The sanctuary is not just based on rescued animals, it's also based around being a vegan and giving up all animal products, and using none at all. The café is a bit rough, and very expensive, and is all dairy free and animal product free. I bought a cupcake not realising it was £2.00! The staff were friendly enough, and there are lots of animal themed goodies in the small gift shop. It was okay, the kiddy park isn't very good unfortunately. I don't know how long this park has been open, so am wondering if it's just beginning as a work in progress.

1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time in Norfolk and found it by accident. Thoroughly inspiring place to visit. They take in a huge variety of abandoned and unwanted animals and home them for life. Also do some hard-hitting exposes of the darker side of farming. Reinforced why we are both vegetarians! Pity it is so far away from where we live so we can't visit regularly but we now support their work financially. Nice that there are some people who care enough about animals to do what they do.

1  Thank AlloaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A well run place for an assortment of animals, cannot speak highly enough about everyone who works here, and their time and effort that they put in to find homes for all the pets. keep up the good work ! We love our new addition to the family, Pugzy we love you our Staffie dog.

4  Thank arthurheathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews