We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-October vacation in Montenegro”
Review of Villa Kristina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Kristina
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great mid-October vacation in Montenegro”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at charming Villa Kristina and had wonderful time there. We checked on reviews from Tripadvisor and Expedia prior to booking the hotel room. It even exceeded our expectations. Great quiet location, incredible views of the Bay, warn and calm sea (water temperature was around 19-20 degrees C), nice staff and tasty food. It is actually close to the tourist attractions also - we visited beautiful Kotor, Perast, old Budva town and Petrovac. The longest trip was actually around 30 min. We rented a car and did not have problems reaching all these places. We had nicely decorated room on a third floor with balcony. It was enough space for two. One of the complementary features was a Jacuzzi :-) Room was very clean, and owner and staff made our stay there very pleasant. They shared about cuisine and culture of the region, recommended best restaurants in the cities we were going to visit and other attractions. We felt more like a family there rather than just hotel guests. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Clean room, great food, owners and servants were really carrying. Could not be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

That is what the sign says, and it really means it.
Villa Kristina is a bit quirky but the sheer delight of the place soon overwhelms any other feeling. First the quirks. There is no real front door. We arrived after dark and had a hard time finding our way in. We might have had the same problem in daylight, as the entrance that we used most was up a set of stairs between two buildings. As I said, a bit quirky.
Once inside we were pleased and put at ease by the design and layout, verging on design genius. The guest passes by the dining room; a semi detached building airily built with laminated beams arching across the open area. Glass walls and sliding doors look out over the Bay of Kotor toward Tivat. You can watch boats and ships come and go and see fishermen at work from your table. The breakfast menu runs somewhat to eggs with ham or sausage and feta. I tried most of them. They all were pleasing. Coffee is Turkish, a warning to some, a delight to others.
We swam in clear blue water from the front patio.
The apartment we stayed in was nicely laid out. Semi circular glass faced onto our balcony. The balcony gets morning sun; a fine place for the early riser to great the day. Heavy drapes maintain a darker interior for those who prefer to sleep in. The rooms seemed very quiet. We were seldom aware that there were others in the building. Hot water was plentiful. The lights and mirror were sensibly placed for shaving.
The staff is friendly, helpful, and eager to please the guests. By the third morning the Coffee Angel brought my first cup to the balcony. Bliss.
We found the location convienient to the places we most wanted to visit. The old town of Kotor is only a few minutes drive, Perast just beyond it, and Budva might have taken as long as twenty minutes. Lots to see without hours in the car. We feel that Villa Kristina was perfect for our visit to Montenegro.

Room Tip: The website offers video of all rooms and common areas. Check it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MittenHed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 2 nights in September as part of a weeks holiday in Montenegro. The setting is idyllic with stunning views of the bay. The room was very clean, comfortable and charming, though it was quite little. Breakfast was tasty with a lovely view. The owner and staff were friendly and welcoming and the whole place had a homely feel about it. The location is good - remote enough to be quiet and peaceful, but not very far from the amenities of Tivat or Kotor, I would imagine it might be a little bit difficult if you don't have a rental car though. Local restaurant options and mini market are around 25 minutes walking distance. You can pretty much step straight from the steps of the villa into the sea; the water was calm, clean and warm - just perfect! Would definitely recommend if you are looking for somewhere to relax and unwind!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. I have given the room a 4 instead of 5 because it really was quite small, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassietripadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Kristina and found it absolutely charming. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the views were fabulous. Special mention for Dragana!

We used it as a base while visiting the attractions of Montenegro. My only regret is that we didn't spend enough time lounging by the sea at Villa Kristina. Sun lounger cushions may have tempted us to, as the plastic loungers were a bit hard.

John & Lynne

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in early June 2013 for 3 nights towards the end of a busy 2 week vacation. Villa Kristina was the perfect place to chill out and relax with great views over the bay from the balcony outside our room (Executive Suite #1). Our room was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable. As others have mentioned in their reviews, the owners and staff are extremely helpful and go above and beyond in ensuring that your visit is enjoyable without being overbearing. The food (and wine) in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner is excellent and is complemented by the views.

One of the biggest advantages of Villa Kristina is its location. Although it is in a very quiet spot at the edge of the water, it is just a 15 minute drive from Tivat (for nightlife, restaurants, ATMs,etc.) and a 20 minute drive from the city of Kotor (for the old city and, if you are fit enough, the climb up the old city walls) - so it provides the best of all worlds.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Villa Kristina to any of our family or friends and would certainly consider adjusting any future travels in the region to include a visit to this delightful establishment.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites immediately above the restaurant have a nice large shared balcony excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent three nights at Villa Kristina, and had one of the most memorable experiences in our many years of traveling. The beauty and tranquility of the setting, and the kindness of the owners and staff, make this small hotel, a gem. We made a last-minute reservation, due of a problem at our hotel in Kotor, and feel this was a fortunate stroke of serendipity. This small villa has recently undergone a high level reconstruction, and the restaurant provides excellent meals. If you are looking for a bit of paradise, you will find it at Villa Kristina.

Room Tip: Ours was a last-minute reservation, and the only available room was the smallest one. It was very we...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 50coveview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

such a nice place.
this villa is design as a boat so the feeling and atmosphear is very nice.
the room are like in a cabin with a large terrasse with sea view
the captain of this boat is very friendly and helpful.
his wife is fantastic and she is also always ready to pleased you and help you with something.
it's a very unique place with no one around you so if you are looking for quiet and peace it's the place if you are looking for night life avoid this place you won't feel such atmosphear there.
for me was so nice feeling after working coming back and just to sit in the front of the sea...perfect!!
you can go and swin if you want there is a private access with an original shower.
I couldn't try the kitchen as it will be open soon for the season

they have a lovely dog who is the guardian of the place, you can't ignore him

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bjelila
2.4 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Hotel Carrubba
Eco Hotel Carrubba
#1 of 1 in Donja Lastva
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Magnolia
Hotel Magnolia
#6 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Palma Hotel
Palma Hotel
#3 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maki Apartments
Maki Apartments
#1 of 5 in Radovici
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vizantija
Hotel Vizantija
#3 of 23 in Tivat Municipality
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina

Property: Villa Kristina
Address: Bjelila, Krasici,Tivat | TIVAT, Bjelila, Tivat Municipality 85323, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Tivat Municipality > Bjelila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bjelila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kristina 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kristina - completely renovated in January 2012 in a very luxurious way, with four comfortable apartments, classified with 4 star. Villa Kristina is an exclusive apartment building sighing with refinement and comfort in which elegance and functionality are mixed in a very simple but very luxury way, as well as absolute peace and above all clean water. Calming azure of the sea and the sky blends with the interior in such a way that it is often difficult to tell whether you are inside or outside. Villa Kristina landmark of style and refinement, the most luxuriously designed at the Montenegrin coast, will make your every moment unforgettable. Integral part of this exclusive Villa is our restaurants.. Irresistible splendor of colors, scents, top tastes and aromas will satisfy the most choosey guests, here you can enjoy local and international culinary specialities prepared by one of the best culinary experts of these areas. Aside of everyday board and lodging offer and ready local dishes the restaurant has fish in the menu, stell-fish (sea food), traditional specialities like cheese in oil, smoked ham (perschutto), etc. Culinary charming are supplemented with a large assortment of local and imported high quality wines, as well as other sorts of drinks from all over the world, and the pleasure will be completed by unforgetable and unique view of sea and mountain Lovcen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Villa Kristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Montenegro/Bjelila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing