We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Resort which pampers you but certain things make you wonder is it worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kushalnagar
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive Resort which pampers you but certain things make you wonder is it worth it”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Upside:

This resort treats you like royalty. They make you pay royally too.Property is by the banks of the river Cauvery and full marks to the location. Now lets come to the amenities...

1. Rooms are spacious and the sofa cum bed in the living area actually becomes a double bed which works well for the kids.

2. Pool.. the pictures on the website is good, but the water needs to be cleaned regularly. I found the maintenance of the pool wanting.

3. Restaurant : Food was mixed where some dishes were cooked well and the others not so, but it was nice. When they had a larger crowd the service level sank, where getting basic things like a bottle of water, a beer etc became tough. Otherwise I am not complaining.

4. The ampitheatre in the evening where they showed movies kept the kids busy. Otherwise the place would be a boring place in the evening. If they would organize certain events like in Zest in the evenings, it would be nice. I am sure they can afford it....

Overall the staff is helpful, hospitable and cooperative, but I would appreciate it if the Manager was reachable. when things go wrong I did see a tendency of everybody o brush things under the carpet.

Downside :

The room service was pathetic. The coffee machine was not working and I had to do without coffee in the evening as nobody knew who was repairing the machine till the next morning till I got annoyed. And then when the coffee machine was brought in... realized that there was no milk powder, then forr a couple, it was just a single sachet of coffee.....believe me Coffee became a project. Various other counts, the room service was found wanting.

Liquor : Its like a government store where most brands are not available. You drink what they have and still pay for it like a 22 year Single Malt. I would suggest to take your own drinks if you are particular.

Coffee Hut : It was not operational at all. When the coffee maker was not functional. When I complained, the restaurant sent me two cups of coffee and reminded me twice that it was chargeable...... but that was a one off incident !

Spa : The charges were criminal. 8000 INR for a body massage... thats expensive by Western standards. And then they have only male masseurs for everybody. Some women might not be comfortable with that. And the package they offerred me, they did add a small component to allow a discount on the massage, but we could not avail it at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from Amanvana Spa Resort

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We note with regret the negative experience you have had at the resort.

Please accept our apology. The issue has been addressed with concerned department managers and request you to treat this as an exception to our usual standards.

We are determined to make a positive impact the next time around, and we sincerely seek another opportunity to serve you.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I would be happy to facilitate it, and look forward to welcoming you at Amanvana soon.

Regards,
Suraj Chengappa
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    233
    44
    25
    25
See reviews for
356
248
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After seeing just wonderful promotions and reviews, our group of 6 friends decided to book Amanvana expecting to be pampered to the hilt.

Unfortunately, the negatives outweighed the positives, and we came back pretty underwhelmed by this "eight island luxury resort"

Here are the positives and negatives

Positives:
- Beautiful, well kept and spacious rooms and wonderful bathrooms with lots of sunlight
- Nice big swimming pool
- Good seating besides the river
- Very attentive, well mannered & patient staff, always smiling and willing to help.

Negatives:
- HORRIBLE food :- Cannot begin to describe the atrocities!! Watery, salty soups, eye wateringly sour idlis, chewy chicken, no pav for the pav bhaji (we were given breakfast bread slices) & the list goes on and on! The chef was constantly taking feedback and trying to improve, but for such an expensive place, how can one have such basic level food go wrong?! We were there for 2 nights and 5 meals, and one of us had to experiment the buffet before telling others what to eat. Disaster!

- Bad lighting:- The pathways were almost pitch dark at night, so walking from the room to the dining area or recreation area was such a task.We had to shine our cellphones to light the way.I can only imagine how older guests must be managing? Even the dining area had lights that didn't allow us to see what we were eating.

- Dangerous Trekking:- My husband, who is 6'3" tall, decided to go for the "eight island" trek and came back after seeing the river water being chest high even for him for cross.The website says knee deep, but to have adults wading through chest deep eater and then walking through a forest completely soaked does not make sense. And is not safe.

Overall, it was definitely not worth the money we spent for a place that calls itself "luxury". For an eight island resort, its surprisingly tiny with so many cons as compared to pros. Would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prikhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amanvana Spa Resort!!!

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we are glad that you were pleased by the conduct and professionalism of our staff members as well as with our services, we do regret that the variety of food was not at par with your expectations. We appreciate and welcome constructive feedback as it helps us make necessary changes in certain areas to enrich our guests experience.

We really hope that this one off encounter would not put you off and we will get a chance to be your host once again in future.

Regards,
Suraj Chengappa
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

this place is an amazing place the location is just mind blowing its on the banks of river kaveri. The food spread was just awesome food was very good.Many of the other reviews i read it said the food was bad but totally disagree with them. the pool was not so well maintained there was oil and insects all over the table tennis table was broken and was not maintained.the service was just excellent.the place is very calm.it is filled with flora.The room were as good as a 5 star resort.u can enjoy your watch through the skylight in the toilet.in all the place is worth giving another visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms are standard so no worry's you can choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utsav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings From Amanvana Spa Resort.


Thank you for your Valuable Feedback.

Your review will encourage us to keep up our service standards high, we are very glad that you had a wonderful stay here with us in Amanvana,

We have improved on certain things which you have pointed, hope to see you back at Amanvana and have a wonderful experience with us.

Regards,

Suraj Chengappa

AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The property is in a Very Good Location .. The Rooms and Restuarent Charges Are 5 Star
Priced .. The Service is 2 Star to put in simple Words .. I Sincerely loved The ambience and
Planning of the Structures around the 7 acre property with the Cauvery River flowing Beside the property ..
The river trekking was an awesome experience of a Lifetime .. Thoroughly enjoyed the 1 hour, trek with water reaching shoulder Height at places .. My kids were taken Good care of During the trek .. They had a Huge Non functional Pool during my Stay ..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashanth_alva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amanvana Spa Resort


We highly regret for the inconvenience occurred, Your feedback will help us to improve our service standards and we are working on it.

We are very glad that you had an amazing trek at river kaveri and you liked the ambiance and location of our resort . Hope to see you soon and serve you better.

Assuring the best of services at all times


Regards,

Suraj Chengappa

AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We got carried away with some amazing feedback on Tipadvisor while booking this resort to celebrate our friends first wedding anniversary. We hadnt imagine that the place will turn out to be so aweful that we will not want to come back ever, even if they will sponsor to offer a free stay in this property. First of all i would like to question the management what is meaning of LUXURY to them. Everything seems to be ordinary in this resort. starting from reception to pool to rooms to food. Infact there is so much confusion among the staff that when we asked about the island tour, they all were clueless. The worth thing which would happen to us was yet to come. One day in advance I had requested them to arrange for a cake & Flowers for my couple friend to celebrate their First Anniversary. They kept assuring me that it will be taken care of and i shouldnt worry about it anymore. i gave them a reminder again in the evening to be on safer side.
Then the nightmare happend at 12 midnight when we were eagerly waiting for the surprise. But they managed to surprise us in return by not sending the cake and flowers. when we enquired about it, they said kitchen is closed.

They managed to ruin our trip as well as my frds first special occasion. Upon asking the reason, they kept saying kitchen was close and claimed they have really great feedback on tripadvisor.

All i can say to my friends not to visit them ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vtomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,



Greetings from Amanvana Spa Resort.


Our kind apologies for your bad experience at the resort, we highly regret for the inconvenience occurred during your stay, We value your feedback and we have taken necessary action to keep our service standards. We appreciate if you could visit us again and have a wonderful experience at our resort



Regards,

Suraj Chengappa

AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was one of the better spas and middle level luxury resorts that I have gone to.Right from the reception to the restaurant,swimming pool & spa,the experience is tremendous.There is also a wonderful adventure trip in the kaveri river which gives city people an idea of "roughing it out".The guides are excellent

Food is very good and caters to all tastes from Indian to Chinese to continental to Coorgi

Room is also superb with all facilities & an excellent sitout/garden
Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Look for the rooms with a good sitout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Amanvanaspa Resort!!!


We thank you for your valuable feedback,


We highly appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, these review's will help us to serve you better and maintain the service standards of the resort, we are very happy that you had a tremendous staying experience with our Amanvanaspa resort, our main aim is to satisfy the guest and make them feel out of the world. And also we are very glad that you had a very good trek in the river Kaveri,

Hope to welcome you back at our Resort


Assuring the best service at all times


Warm Regards,

Chandan S.G

Accommodation Manager

Amanvanaspa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is good , ambiance is also great and food is also excellent. I stayed in villa and find every type luxury things which will satisfy you trip.The service of staff, both at reception and restaurant was excellent. The rooms were clean and good. Only thing is that the restaurant serves less dishes if you are going for al carte you just have few items to choose from. Overall experience was great. I would recommend this resort for all who visit Coorg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_kunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanvana S, Manager at Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Amanvanaspa Resort !!!


Thank you for your valuable feedback


We thank you for your wonderful review on our resort, which will always motivate us to keep the standards of service and luxury up to the mark, We are working on our a-la-carte menu at the restaurant, we will assure you about lot of changes in the menu. Hope to welcome you at Amanvanaspa Resort again.


Assuring the best service at all times.

For Amanvanaspa Resort

Chandan S.G

Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kushalnagar
16.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
24.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Evolve Back, Coorg
Evolve Back, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,741 reviews
16.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
442 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg

Property: Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Address: No 21,Guddehosur | Coorg, Kushalnagar 571234, India (Formerly Amanvana Luxury Boutique Spa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Kushalnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kushalnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Amanvana Eight Island Luxury Spa Resort in Coorg to reinforce and emphasize the beauty of returning to the essentials of life.. to reflect..to rejuvenate.. to commune and to contemplate,… You will find it all here… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing