We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with Nature, Close to Elephant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kushalnagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dubare Elephant Camp
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay with Nature, Close to Elephant”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located on the bank of river Kaveri, We stayed in Jungle Lodges resort in forest area facing river. They ensured that all facilities are available to visitors without disturbing environment.
Rooms were spacious, good and clean.

Staffs were really nice, helpful and courteous.
Naturalists will be there to guide you throughout your stay.

Morning walk of around 2 KM in forest area was excellent to feel aura and aroma. Naturist will talk about trees and plants, Also will talk about elephant who would visit forest area in the night.
Did not see any animal during Jeep Safari except for peacock and Neelgai, Still worth seeing the nature.

No network coverage except for BSNL(As I remeber), So you are free from phone calls, Enjoy whole stay with peace.
Minimum usage/availability of lights in night to preserve this forest area.

Real attraction is interaction with Elephant which include feeding, bathing and riding them. Staying so close to elephant was really awesome.
1-2 elephant goes to Mysore Dussehra festival from this camp.

Fire camp in the night is good attraction if you are in large group or already became friendly with other visitors.

Overall good place to enjoy vacation, Enough time to do activity as well as enjoying time with family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YashwantJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    73
    17
    13
    3
See reviews for
86
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

resort is good neately managed , sometimes they give to bunch of peoples thats bad , we have to select an good cottage , advance booking is must because very few cottages are there,dont expect too much from the elephant camp , very few around 18 elephants are there, not so interesting, they suck the money for everything, apart from that cauvery river is good rafting playing in water swimming is good , nice scenery,food not up to that expectation, if kids are there they will enjoy, it is better to keep it as an stop when u are going to kerala or nearby places, kannur two hours journey from there, kannur has an beautiful driveinn beach,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkpraveen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Jungle Lodges a Karnataka government run chain of resorts pleasantly surprises you. Right from their website and the help received from Jayanthi at their Bangalore office for bookings to the resort itself, it has been an absolute pleasure. Other states really need to take a leaf out of these guys and up their service levels.

We booked a car from Mangalore and this place is a good 4 hour drive from there. Road conditions are ok. Once you reach the jetty, you need to cross the Cauvery river by their boat to reach the camp. There is no cellphone network when you reach the jetty, so please call the resort manager the moment you reach madikeri town.

Once you cross the river, you care transformed into a different place. The resort is about a 100 meter walk from the elephant camp. So it's extremely convenient.

They have beautiful cottages with a private sit out. Nothing luxurious but well managed, clean and great views of the river. The resort itself is big itch enough greenery and activities for kids.

Food is basic and hygienic. Served at specific times at their restaurant. For our kids, they served non-spicy food before their scheduled time. This speaks a lot about their service. Food is freshly prepared.

The best part is their naturalist who accompany you to the elephant camp where you can feed and bathe. Make sure you feed the elephants especially the younger ones. The jungle safari in their jeeps was also a great experience. We saw only a few peacocks and some elephants, but the greenery and peace was amazing. We also saw a few birds. The coracle boat ride too was a wonderful experience. In the summers we were told that there are a few crocodiles that come ashore. We didn't see any though.

Cell phone network is erratic in the resort. We had some problems in locating our driver on our ways back so do call or fix the time of leaving in advance. There is parking provided for your vehicle at a hotel near the jetty.

He elephant sanctuary gets a bit crowded with tourists but if you go through jungle lodges, typically you are well guided and prioritised.

All in all a wonderful experience for the kids and adults, something close to nature and with great attention to wildlife (elephants). Definitely worth a visit and with jungle lodges you can hardly go wrong. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalskapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dubare Elephant camp was a pleasant surprise. The location was just stunning. We couldn't get enough of the place.
The very entrance to the place was such an experience. You need to cross a small lake to get to the camp and they take you by boat. What a beginning.
The rooms gave a total 'jungle' feeling, with everything made of wood and having a whole cabin look.
They then have this coracle ride around the beautiful lake, taking you on a mini adventure ride and bird watching. They have a huge forest starting right behind the camp and they take you on a jungle safari upto a certain point in the forest. We dint get to see much though except for a few deers and peacocks. And then comes the elephant part. They take you to the elephant camp inside the resort where they tell you all about them and then you can help bathe the elephants in the lake and feed them and what not. The little ones give you the most beautiful times - their running around, being mischievous, getting themselves muddy over and over again after they are bathed - naughty kids they are!
The staff were very friendly. Food was pretty good too.
A very nice place to stay for one or two days at Coorg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewildandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Again... this place fell into my itinerary due to Trip adviser forum. I though of giving my young son a taste of a jungle, animals, river and much more. Thanks to the rains.. and the jungle lodge it became a reality. The boat ride to the resort started the adrenalin rush... which was again pushed ahead during the jungle safari. The drive itself was awesome. Made me wonder why i pay for an off roading experience in the city:). We reached there on a friday and we were the only guests at the resort. The food was prepared to our choice and the activities were also times to your choice. The most important of all, the elephant camp visit, learning about them and bathing them were out-of-routine experiences which we will always cherish... We stayed in the river view cottages and the rooms were professionally kept as in any other star hotel. The hotel staff and well trained and hospitable. Our special thanks to their naturalist Mr.Yashwant...who enlightened us with this knowledge on flora and fauna... Would have got to see more..if not for the incessant rains:(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went with a couple of my girlfriends to Dubare last week. Among all the Jungle Lodges properties, I would have to stay this would be my all time favourite!
Being my first visit here, I wasnt expecting much.... the location is STUNNING. The rooms are definitely the best compared to their other properties. The staff is excellent like at their other resorts. The food though simple, was great!
I would highly recommend this place even though the price may be a little steep. I would go for the river facing cottages... cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Comfortable stay in Forest area but still offers you the "jungle" experience. We've visited this place twice in gap of 3 years. To reach the resort, we need to use the boat facility of the resort. The package includes activities like nature walk, safari, coracle boat ride & etc to keep you engaged.

Room Tip: All rooms/cottages are similar. Try staying for 2 nights as it will allow you to explore Coorg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorabhBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kushalnagar
7.2 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
3.7 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
159 reviews
5.4 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 23 in Madikeri
1,394 reviews
3.4 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
#2 of 8 in Kushalnagar
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubare Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubare Elephant Camp

Property: Dubare Elephant Camp
Address: Near Madikeri, Kushalnagar 571254, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Kushalnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kushalnagar
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Dubare Elephant Camp Hotel Kushalnagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing