We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirkby House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$43
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badgers Mount Hotel(Elmesthorpe)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa(Market Bosworth)
$64
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1(Leicester)(Great Value!)
$47
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill on the Soar(Leicester)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$65
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
106
26
8
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
26
8
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmallory parkguest housesunday lunchlow beamswalks of lifekirkby houserace circuitcould feel the springsensuite roomcomfy sofasbooked last minutepiescheese boardhuge bathrooma wonderful stayhome from homesingle bed
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 154 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We came across this quest house by chance and i must say we were very surprised. Our room was very large with a lovely big bathroom with a double jacuzzi which looked so inviting we nearly decided to skip the wedding we were going to. We were made to feel very welcome and they were very helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to the wedding venue. There is a quest lounge and a bar and they do evening meals as well. We were a little suprised to find it bursting with young ladies in their underware doing a photoshoot for miss england and young men dressed as gangsters but my partner liked it lol

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theferrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our first impressions of Kirkby House were that it was an amazing building, we were told later it was built in the 1700's and it retains all of its characteristics. We checked in and our room did not disappoint, we had requested a large bathroom and had a large corner bath and a seperate shower. Everything was very old fashioned and authentic, wooden beams and the like making it very charming and romantic.

The rooms were spotless and all the staff really friendly. They recommended a local Indian Restaurant for us (literally two minutes down the road) that was very high standard. The next night we ate in their restaurant however we were a little disappointed with the food as we had such high expectations having been impressed with everything else. There was a good selection of starters and main courses but I would only give the food we chose a 3 out of 5 based on the fact that my starter (pate) and dessert (treacle pudding) seemed supermarket bought.

Breakfast was lovely with a good selection both days and overall we had a really nice stay and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kierakiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed here for 9 days due to a deal that was being offered. Steve, the principal manager, is extremely friendly and helpful and the building looks good and picturesque (with high quality and good looking UPVC windows) but otherwise this is a pretty ropey operation that is more like staying in a family b&b than a real hotel.

A number of the cleaners are lazy and quite rude - one told us one morning that our room hadn't been cleaned the previous day because she had to leave early for family reasons; hardly our problem but just an example of how poorly the cleaners seem to be managed. Another told us another day that our room hadn't been cleaned because we supposedly were still in the hotel - despite us actually having left hours before and the carpark being empty; it was clear she knew this was a lie and just didn't care.

Incidentally the room cleaning only happens before 10.30 am - so forget any idea of staying in bed after 8.30am if you want your room cleaned. Even when our room was cleaned it was only hoovered once over 9 days and we eventually had to insist on the sheets being changed as they weren't otherwise.

Overall the setup is to benefit the management rather than guests - for example we were told that all the breakfast things needed to be taken away by 8.30, so clearly anyone wanting a breakfast later than 8 am is out of luck.

Breakfast is not included in the price anyway.

The management would clearly prefer you to eat in rather than go out, but the prices are not cheap. There are also prissy signs in the bedrooms warning of undefined charges to your credit card if you have the temerity to eat any food in the room; and in theory any alcohol you bring into the building incurs a £7.50 per bottle 'corkage' charge!

Beware the cheaper rooms as their bathrooms and toilets are on different floors.

The bathroom carpets were dirty and needed replacing. Toilet rolls were not renewed.

Heating goes off during the night and after 9 am during the day, so bring some warm night clothes.

The race circuit is very close so you will hear this during the day if you are not out and about on a race day.

So not bad but some real problems ... It could be much better.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUROPETRAVELLER1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

After a very disappointing visit to a close-by hotel, my partner and I arrived at Kirkby House on a Friday afternoon to a warm welcome and a fantastic room. As we were a last minute arrival we stayed in two different rooms due to bookings already in place. The first night in one of the courtyard rooms and the second in the main house. Both rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The food served in the restaurant was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff.
I would highly recommend this B&B for a variety of reasons, either events at Mallory Park, weddings in the area, a relaxing weekend or visiting the nearby Battle of Bosworth battlefield, which was our aim.
Thank you and congratulations to the whole team at Kirkby House for providing a relaxed, friendly atmosphere underscored with professional, high quality service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gecko262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Myself and a friend stayed here for 1 night after diving at nearby Stoney Cove (about 15 mins drive away).
Great hosts, very friendly, very secure, very clean throughout.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimbobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews