We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Rooms and Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel Pemaling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pemaling
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dirang
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the way to & from Tawang on 11th & 14th April. We had booked 2 standard rooms. On arrival, the check in & baggage transfers were done promptly. We were allotted room nos. 3 & 4 which are good. Room no. 3 has some views but not room no.4. However the rooms were neat & clean and sufficiently spacious. The room service was excellent. The Manager arranged sit out for us in lawns where we enjoyed hot packoras. Although, our return booking was on 15th April, we decided to return to Dirang from Tawang a day in advance as one of our family member was not well. On advising telephonically, they readily agreed for the
pre ponement. Hot water was always available. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Pemaling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Ashok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had been booked into this hotel by our tour operator. I understand it is the only "western" standard hotel in the area. We were very disappointed. We were given 2 "standard" rooms (8 and 9 on the ground floor). For standard read "dank, dark, dirty dungeon". The rooms were filthy, the bathrooms dirty, neither room had any natural light as the "window" opened on to a concrete rock face. We had to demand the rooms be cleaned. The mattress was 2 inches thick. The rooms were freezing cold, not helped by never getting any sunshine. If the power went off you were plunged into darkness. There was rarely power and the hotel had to use its generator. I discovered some electric heaters in the manager's office but was first told they were broken and then told they would not work off the generator. I asked to change into a first floor room, a "deluxe" room, it had a window with a view over the town but was told they were all reserved for later in the week. All in all a very poor experience! There was nowhere warm to sit so I spent any spare time in the bed in my room.
The only warm thing was the smile on the receptionist's face! She told us that the hotel had an owner that rarely came - wow! that explained a lot!
Food! Rancid butter, only 1 bottle of coke, I was glad I had bought a box of biscuits!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a deluxe room, ie one with a WINDOW that lets in light. Most of the rooms face North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First the pros:
1) Decent rooms
2) Excellent location (you will a good view of the Dirang valley if you are lucky)
3) Internet facility

Now the cons:
I was travelling with my parents during late March 2013. Thankfully it was not too cold, so we could bear through the frequent power cuts without a heater, but taking a bath became a problem without hot water. With the money they charge for a basic room, you will expect some generator backup. Apart from the electric power cuts, their phone lines also tend to disconnect pretty often, so don't rely on a steady internet connection as well.

I don't think I would have mind the frequent power cuts, if I was paying half the money they charge for a room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palitsambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was travelling with my friend and stayed in this hotel for the night of 29th December, 2012. Dirang was a stopover between Tawang and Tejpur. It was extremely cold when we checked-in and there was no power. The check-in experience was poor though we had done previous booking. The lady at the reception was not very helpful and could not provide any help during our stay. We requested that they start the generator so that we could use the room heater but nothing was done. Even when the power came back, we found that the room heater was absolutely useless and provided no warmth. The blankets provided were insufficient. The geyser in the bathroom did not work. Overall a pretty pathetic experience.
The location is great though and you get a good view of the dirang valley from the verandah. Dinner was served in the room and was good. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sku26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Travelled in Dec 2012, on the way to Tawang.

Rooms: Standard but comfortable, clean and warm. No central water heaters and the small ones in the washroom need a lot of time to heat up even for a bucket full of water.

Location: Great location with beautiful view of the Dirang valley. I guess location wise its the best hotel in Dirang.

Food: Food across all hotels in the Tawang circuit is not that great. Breakfast was good. But the dinner was just about ok. Also with the rising altitude, and the tiresome drive your appetite anyways will take a beating.

Service was very good. no complaints at all.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: Book the more expensive ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushanta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stay there both enroute and while returning from Twang, in the month of Oct 2011. It's a nice property, with the owner's house in the same compound where you can park your car. The landmark, for the reaching the property is the Petrol pump, which belongs to the same owner. Once you cross the petrol pump, there is a road going up towards the left.

The moment we reached, we were welcomed by a nice girl, who was the manager. She was a Nepali girl from Guwahati. The rooms were nice and cozy. And we ordered our dinner in the room. It was tasty. In the morning we spent a lot of time in clicking pics while breakfast was being prepared. Although it was far of place, they served us some of the best simple food.

They have a nice garden on the upper level, and you can spend hours in clicking pics of these flower. I still regret that, I planned this hotel only for transit and not for a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JunaidParvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I can’t remember it became a welcomegroup heritage when we stayed here. Whatever it is, doesn’t matter. What matters are :
1.0> Dirang is a dream honey-moon location, pristine, undiscovered so far.
2.0> This property is situated in a heavenly vantage-point from where, the windows of all valley-facing rooms opens up to a spell-binding view of the Dirang Valley and the Kameng River deep down below. And up there, it gives an awesome view of the Sella Peaks, the pass leading to Sella, the sky atop Sella.
Sitting in the room of this cottage, you can see the color-changes atop Sella-Road Cliffs and plan your journey ahead. If the sky turns dark, cancel your journey. There’ll be snowfall ahead in the pass. If sky is clear in the evening and night before, move one.
3.0> Anyhow, what’s there in Tawang?? Nothing but a monastery. Stay here, consider enjoying in Dirang. Heaven on earth. Beautiful valley. Idyllic river. And a wonderful accommodation. Clear out of a movie. Vantage location. Chilling outside, warm-inside. Cozy bed, Fireplace in place. Sumptuous food. Dirang in daytime is a bustling hill-town. Services of the cottage wonderful. A beautiful lawn, garden. You can finish entire memory of your DLSR by taking snaps all around this property.
4.0> There is another property just adjoining it. In fact when you approach Pemaling, the first adjoining one is probably the government lodge. 2nd one is the Pemaling. So don’t get confused.
5.0> Do retain your vehicle that you have hired from Tezpur. Of course from Bomdilla onwards, it will advisable to take an Arunachali driver. The road ahead of Bomdilla to Dirang upto this cottage is pretty challenging. There’s a place called “Munna” before you reach this cottage in Dirang which usually has monstrous landslides that tastes every drivers’ nerves to the hilt. And journey ahead from Dirang to Sella is adrenalin-pushing for both drivers and the photographers.
6.0> Stay at Pemaling, have a trip to Sella, Nooranang War Memorial, Jung Falls, take snaps to your hearts fill and come back to Pemaling in evening. Have sips of your drink as per your choice with hearty snacks sitting inside the cozy room with the curtains of spacious glass panes of your windows open. In night, you’ll see the lights of Dirang valley below blinking out. High above, there are ethereal uncanny lights atop the lofty peaks of Sella. Then have a delicious dinner. Sunrise and sunset tinges the peaks. Don’t miss them. Best time to go – 3rd week of November. Enjoy your holiday in Pemaling. Have your honeymoon revisited here.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms that the face Dirang Valley and View of Sella Pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirang
1.9 mi away
Norphel Retreat
Norphel Retreat
#2 of 2 in Dirang
29 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Pybss
Hotel Pybss
#1 of 5 in Itanagar
16 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Taktsang
Hotel Taktsang
#9 of 17 in Tawang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pemaling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pemaling

Address: P O & P S Dirang Near Petrol Pump | West Kameng Dist, Dirang 790101, India
Location: India > Arunachal Pradesh > West Kameng District > Dirang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dirang
Price Range: $22 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Pemaling!!! If you are looking for a fresh atmosphere and warm hospitality while in Dirang Hotel Pemaling is the perfect place for you. Located amidst the lush green mountains and overlooking the beautiful Dirang valley, this hotel offers 23 well designed rooms and suites with personalized services especially for you comfort and well being. Enjoy the natural beauty of the place , delight yourself to the local cuisine and also learn the fascinating culture of the local tribal Monpas while on your stay in Hotel Pemaling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pemaling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing