We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kallangur Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kallangur Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kallangur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked in to stay with kids and mentioned that we were staying as 1 child had a heart condition and was having surgery. We arrived to what looked like squalor out the front of one rooms which we were placed next door to. Upon entering the room we had a wonderful view of rubbish and torn up toys out the window and the wonderful stench of cigarette smoke filled the room. The swimming pool has tiles lifting from the bottom and is slimy and we had the pleasure of having children who belonged to either the people running it or the squalored room constantly coming up to the fence and making snide comments. Then we got the great pleasure of watching 2 dogs run around freely outside the back door. that evening we went to go out in the car only to find that a ute complete with trailor was parked behind the car despite us asking reception to get it moved an hour earlier. we went to shower the kids and a horrible Stench came out of the drains. the light in the toilet didnt work and a light fixture was hanging off the wall with no bulb the bunk bed was missing bolts and when we were trying to get the kids to sleep we had constant Cigarette smoke wafting in dispite the doors being close triggering wheezing in 2 of my children as well as yelling from either side as the guests in both units had visitors. so come 9.30pm we packed our belongings watch the people in the next room take dogs into their room and drove home. I will never recommend this motel to anyone. Without the owner and management being available and having contacted reception earlier but with no results. reception being extremely friendly with the guests whom are in the squalored room we were left with no choice but to leave early

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mumof42010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the kallangur motel for 6 weeks between december 13 and jan 14...i found my stay there very comfortable....the staff were very friendly with new towels and tea/coffee filled up each day...the tv was fantastic also. The motel was in a good location with a woolworths close and also thre bus stop! If youre looking for a nice homely stay i recomend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanchezjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The fit out in the room we had looked like it had been completed by a home handyman with limited ability. The air conditioner was the old in wall style, very loud and clunked every time the thermostat cut in and out. Sleep was regularly interrupted by this. Good tv, shower had good pressure and temperature. Bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The guy at reception had no idea where you could buy a breakfast meal. If early bird squawking is not for you, then neither is this motel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed December 2013 the place was dirty. The people next door had been fighting from the time we arrived at 10am till 2 in the morning the spa jets I don't think had been cleaned when I drained the spa there was black hairs in the bottom. I am a blonde. The cleaner was a young guy with no eye for detail. Filthy finger prints all over the fridge. Crack in the basin in the bathroom we were going to stay 2 nights which I paid for but we got a nights refund when I complained about the people next door. There should of been a phone in the room to call management, I`m shocked that they said they didn't hear anything as the police and ambulance were called, Never again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodi1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kallmot, Owner at Kallangur Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Firstly we at Kallangur motel would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at our motel, we do our best to make sure that our rooms are clean, welcoming and comfortable. With regards to your comment on the spa there would have been no reason to drain it initially as we do not leave water in there, it is scrubbed, bleached and rinsed out every day. The number you called to initially to reserve your room at the Kallangur motel is the number to the desk/ management I would advise any of our customers to contact us at any time if there are any issues with regards to the room, or you are welcome to walk the 5 meters to reception and ring the bell and somebody will be with you in seconds.
With regards to the quarrelling couple we do not offer couples guidance at the motel and it was a regrettable incident but as we stated earlier you are welcome to call or contact us at any time. Even though we are a small family run motel. We do not have resources to pay staff 24 hours a day or employ security to patrol the area but we will always strive to help.
We do not condone the behaviour of the guests that were in the motel and they were asked to pack their bags the next day. We returned your deposit immediately.
If you want to give us another try you are always welcome,
Kind regards
Kallangur motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were needing accommodation in the area to attend a family function and having stayed here once before we were fairly comfortable about staying here for the required three nights. Although you do get a small amount of noise from patrons leaving the Kallangur Tavern it doesn't last long. Friendly management who made sure we had an early check-in due to our early flight arrivals and despite being busy that morning they were keen and eager to please. Very handy to have the Tavern right next door for meals. All in all this place is a budget motel at a budget price, comparatively. If we needed to we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allofus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Located next to a hotel and wide open car park it seems a worry, no problems encounted. however. The rooms are furnished ok and kept clean .The rooms are of an older style motel but
comfortable enough. The walls seem to be besa brick (hollow which allows noise from people next door to come thru the wall. In all its an ok basic motel but seems to be well over priced, at the right price under $90 it would be an ok stay. want better you will proberly pay more than asked here. plenty of shopping centres within 5 mins and fast food outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winmac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when we were attending a function across the road at Kallangur COmmunity Hall. It was the perfect location for us, as there is no other accommodation in Kallangur and we could simply walk across the street to the venue.

We stayed in a family room, which had 1 queen bed, 1 single bed, and 1 cot bed. The room was clean and the beds comfy enough. There was a huge flat screen TV but limited channels available to watch. The shower was a little awkward as there was no light in there, just a high window/sky light thing, so showering at night was a bit of a dark affair, but other than that the room was perfectly adequate for a short stay, and we'd stay here again if we had another function to attend in Kallangur.

There was a pool and BBQ area also, but we didn't use this. It looked good though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starlet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kallangur
8.7 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
5.7 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Caboolture Riverlakes Motel
Caboolture Riverlakes Motel
#2 of 5 in Caboolture
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Waltzing Matilda Motel
Waltzing Matilda Motel
#4 of 4 in Redcliffe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dayboro Cottages & Llama Walks
11.7 mi away
Caboolture Motel
Caboolture Motel
#4 of 5 in Caboolture
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kallangur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kallangur Motel

Property: Kallangur Motel
Address: 1517 Anzac Ave, Kallangur, Queensland 4503, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Kallangur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kallangur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kallangur Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kallangur Motel is a family friendly Motel Situated in the heart of Kallangur. All of our rooms are equipped with a widescreen TV and a DVD player. We also provide you with a kitchenette that has a kettle, microwave, fridge and sink area.There is space to hang up your clothes and an ironing board and iron are provided in every room.Around the back of the property we have an area with a pool and BBQ patio area.In the surrounding areas there are plenty of eateries, bottleshop, and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kallangur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallangur Motel Brisbane Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing