We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bof”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Vallagon
California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bof”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great location, very relaxing spot, lovely castle, no reception, very disppointing quality customer service, food was OK but not my cup of tea and definately not what to expect in the Loire area. Too bad chateau de vallagon could have so much more potential. Give it a try if you do not have high expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    101
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
65
147
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I have returned from a week in the Loire. We spent 4 nights at the Château de Vallagon. Overall we were pleased. The château has retained its French Charm and inherited a Dutch twist. It is organised, efficient and clean yet still looks and sounds like an old château. We were offered (on several occasions) the opportunity to eat at the in-house restaurant. From other people we spoke with (non-residents) that had eaten there (for Sunday Lunch), we understand that the food was very good. We decided to eat elsewhere as we wanted to diversify a bit and explore Montrichard and also found an excellent (cheaper) restaurant in Bourré (that was full of locals). We did, however, eat breakfast every day at the hotel. The breakfast was nice, although a bit of a limited choice given that it was €11 per person per day. Despite these (relatively minor and hopefully constructive) suggestions for improvement, we would definitely stay there again. The place has a really nice feel about it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandsarah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and three teenage children stayed at the chateau in April 2012. It is not "perfect", rather it is a 150 year old castle with the turrets, big stair case, big windows, quirky art and picturesqu gardens. It is perhaps a work in progress. We loved it! The bathrooms were newish and in good condition. Perhaps the best thing of all was the food! Fabulous high dining quality! We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed. Enjoyed their own wine too! We all rate this as one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyThompsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geetbets
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

In mid-December we stayed three nights this hotel.
When you arrive the first impression is wonderful. It's a real castle with turrets and so, not just another large country house. The reception was very warm and personal. Not surprisingly as you know that the first night there were only we and one other couple. The following two nights we had the castle exclusively for us.
The rooms were exactly what you might expect from a castle of 150 years old : floorboards, walls that aren’t entirely smooth, antique furniture, single glazing, not quite sound- and draft-proof. But we have slept very well! We were there during the passage of the storm Joachim. All night the wind roared through the trees and he whistled through the cracks of the ancient windows. But it had its charms.
Yet a few drawbacks: as said the rooms are quite noisy. If you have the castle for yourself this is of course no problem, but I can imagine that in the high season this can be annoying. The coffee machine is very slow. The coffee was very good however.
In short, we have had a very nice, peaceful short trip in an authentic castle, with friendly owners and great food. You accept the few minor setbacks with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights back in 2008 and still look back very fondly on the experience. The owners, especially Tineke, were very welcoming so it almost felt like we were visiting friends. We stayed in Room 2 in the Chateau which had a single bath, a large bedroom, and a smaller bedroom in the turret of the castle. My three year old at the time very excited to stay in his crib in his own room in the turret of a castle; he also enjoyed the playground and sandbox outside as well. The rooms were well furnished and beautifully restored. You have to remember that this building is pretty old, so you can't expect there to not be some creaky floors and little bit of noise coming through the walls. It all adds to the character to the place. With that said, we never found the noise to be bad.

The owners of the castle seem to take a lot of pride in the set up especially with the cooking. They were personally in the kitchen putting together the meals. We did have dinner there which wasn't inexpensive, but it was very much worth it. The food was well prepared and the desserts were spectacular. We dined outside under a canopy next to the woods and overlooking the castle. Good wine, good food, and luckily perfect weather (in May)!

The location of the Chateau was really good as well. It's very close to all of the main sites in the Loire Valley especially to Chenonceau. There was no difficulty driving to and from the castle and parking was right on the back side of the building. Also, if you need to hit a supermarket for any reason, there is a Carrefour less than 10 minutes away just south of Montrichard. Montrichard was also a nice little town to visit especially since it wasn't overrun by tourists.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A handsome 19th century building on a minor road out of Montrichard; charming comfortable bedrooms with clean and modern en suite facilities; plenty of cupboard space; traditional furnishings; not much in the way of flat screen TVs etc. Outside: well groomed lawns and a modestly sized pool (which we did not use, but which seemed to be popular with children and teenagers).

The clientele: some Dutch, some French, some English; very much a hotel for families. Charming, friendly and informal management, always willing to help with taxis, hairdryers etc. The ("gastronomic") restaurant not cheap but good, with a mildly unexpected Asian influence. The estate's own wine a very acceptable and reasonably priced option.

Three possible areas for improvement:

First, sound insulation is somewhat lacking: not a problem at night, so much as in the morning when children clatter up and down the stairs, being "shushed" rather ineffectually by their parents. On the other hand, one wouldn't want to lose the nice wooden floors and the great advantage of other people's children in the morning is that one doesn't have to deal with them personally...

Secondly, the 10.00am check-out is rather a challenge (especially after a late night): wouldn't 11.00am be possible?

Thirdly (and most urgently), the hotel's buffet breakfast needs attention: the hot milk ran out; the hot water was no longer hot enough to make tea; the coffee machine needed refilling; the croissants were good, but one had to stand in the kitchen door waving the empty basket pathetically. All these problems could be and were remedied, but made breakfast rather a wearying experience and could have been avoided altogether with a bit more care and supervision from the staff. Perhaps it would be better to bring guests their tea/coffee/chocolate, rather than leaving them to fend for themselves.

But overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

Local outings:

The donjon (castle keep) in Montrichard is worth a visit: nice views of the River Cher and an enjoyably traditional museum with a wonderfully random assortment of objects in glass cases with manuscript descriptions on white cards. Also a skeleton or two.

Montrichard itself (as in Montrachet, the 't' in the middle of Montrichard is apparently not silent) is an attractive small town, with several mediaeval buildings in the centre, and a sandy "beach" on the river bank with a demarcated swimming area.

Only slightly further afield, Chanonceaux is a top grade Loire chateau: royal history, famous furnishings, Van Dycks, Murillos etc, very good audio-visual ipod tour, huge crowds.

In the other direction, Pontlevoy is also attractive, with a mediaeval abbey and well-devised information boards to guide one's walk around town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourre
3.7 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
358 reviews
7.0 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
848 reviews
12.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole
13.6 mi away
Chateau du Breuil
Chateau du Breuil
#1 of 2 in Cheverny
797 reviews
14.5 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vallagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vallagon

Property: Chateau de Vallagon
Address: 62 route de Vallagon, 41400 Bourre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Bourre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bourre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Vallagon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once, the Vallagon property was part of the Chenonceau estate and was then called “Les Drageonnieres”.The building of the castle took place in the 16th century as a little castle for two “fires” (residence for the family).In the 19th century a rich Bourgeois, Mr. Rance, would like to settle here and built the recent house in 1851 with stones of Bourré, surrounded by forest and vineyards.He has installed a wine press in the barn, dating from 1814 and 1825 and has completed the ensemble by building stables in 1864, a barn in 1866 and a little house called “Vendangeuse” in 1867.All buildings were made out of stone of Bourré, her gates marked with pink stone creates an ensemble of architectural harmony.During the 1st world war the property was prepared as a recovery place for evacuated American soldiers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Vallagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vallagon France/Bourre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing