We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to find - then closed - looked good!”

St Catherine's Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Niton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A light to warn shipping was first established on the Southerly tip of the Isle of Wight in 1323. Today the distinctive octagonal tower of St.Catherine's Lighthouse provides a waymark for vessels navigating in the English Channel and a guide to vessels approaching the Solent. Each tour is approximately 40 minutes. Tours of St Catherine's Lighthouse are operated by Andrew Booth, under licence from The Corporation of Trinity House.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Difficult to find - then closed - looked good!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Niton is easy to find as is the Oratory on the other side but we needed directions from the locals to find our way down to the lighthouse. Once parked on the road side there is no information so we headed down the hill. Unaware that this was a long way down and then of course what goes down has to walk all the way back up - not for the faint hearted, wheelchairs or prams etc. We would not have minded the walk as the views were lovely but having walked down the hill on a Saturday lunchtime we then found it was open Tue, Wed, Thur & Sunday! Such a pity - wish that sign had been at the top of the hill. My elderly Mother is capable of a good walk but this is more suited to a mountain goat.
Looks lovely but sadly I cannot comment on the inside

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Posh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    40
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across during a walk. Great story telling as well as informative tour of the lighthouse. Recommended to others interested in history.

Helpful?
1 Thank JillEHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“lighthouse tour”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The lighthouse guide made the trip very interesting, lots of facts that I didn't know about. The lighthouse was partly dismantled as the original one was too tall and got lost in the mist. Hence it has a dumpy look to it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DelboyAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Learnt a lot!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have always had an interest in maritime subjects so could not resist the chance of a lighthouse tour! For a very modest entrance fee you get a guided tour of the Lighthouse which is full of interesting facts both historical and practical. It was presented with very good humour by a very able volunteer and the 45mins or so that the tour took passed very quickly which is a good sign! Obviously this tour involves climbing steep steps--94 of them so if you dont like that forget this tour!! One slight niggle is that it is not made clear at the entrance if you should just walk in or wait to be fetched-turned out to be the latter! All in all though an excellent experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Romanticcouple60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Worth the entrance fee”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've always loved lighthouses, and St Catherine's Lighthouse was a favourite from an early age so I was pleased to be able to visit it again for the first time in 20 years. For a £3.50 entrance fee, you can have a 30-40 minute guided tour covering the history of the light delivered by passionate guides. 94 steps to the top, 925000 candella and a range of 26 miles - the bare statistics don't do it justice.

Owing to the fact that the old keepers' cottages are now holiday lets, there's no parking on site meaing you have a 15 minute walk from the access road, but the views are certainly worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Catherine's Lighthouse also viewed

 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Totland, Isle of Wight
 

Been to St Catherine's Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing