We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Catherine's Lighthouse

St Catherine's Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Niton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A light to warn shipping was first established on the Southerly tip of the Isle of Wight in 1323. Today the distinctive octagonal tower of St.Catherine's Lighthouse provides a waymark for vessels navigating in the English Channel and a guide to vessels approaching the Solent. Each tour is approximately 40 minutes. Tours of St Catherine's Lighthouse are operated by Andrew Booth, under licence from The Corporation of Trinity House.
colchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fabulous views on the walk down, worth a visit just for them. never went in the lighthouse so cannot comment on that but enjoyed the walk, although the walk back up was somewhat steep and certainly not for the less able.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike2001Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    39
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“St,Catherines Lighthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Take a tour to the top of the lighthouse your guides are men who have worked the lighthouse and are very interesting to listen to, imparting a lot of imformation about who pays for lighthouses and how the money is collected, well worth the couple of quid or so that it costs.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Informative Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Enjoyable tour of this operational lighthouse. It is quite a steep walk down to the lighthouse from where you have to park, and there is little in the way of guidance as to which is the right way to approach the lighthouse, although fairly easy to figure out and we enjoyed our little detour!
When we got there there was a notice advising that the next tour started in an hours time, too long for us to wait. But, we managed to tag on to the tour that was just starting. When we had finished our tour around 30 mins later we noticed another tour was just starting. Not sure why they would look to give out incorrect informtaion which may lead to people walking away and a loss of revenue (£11 for a family of five).
We asked a lot of quesitons and I was amazed at how little power is used to actually operate the beams that are sent out.
Well woth a visit if you are in the area. But, make sure you know whether the tours are on or not. I am not sure how my wife managed to confirm that the lighthouse was open the day we went. I can understand some other reviews on here that express disappointment at having to walk down to the lighthouse only to find out it is closed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grifjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great place great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

history of this place is very interesting because guides are very knowledgeable. Great views, well worth the visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank supertrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour of Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Easier than most lighthouses to climb up to the light. First class tour guide, lots of great info and well explained. Very enjoyable and worth the £3.50 entrance fee

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank M1BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Catherine's Lighthouse also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to St Catherine's Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing