We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for a one night break and was impressed by one the most welcoming and efficient check ins I have experienced. There was an impression of the staff feeling proud of the hotel and wanted us to be there. Rooms were clean and comfortable and totally acceptable for a value break and location was exactly what we required.
Would recommend this without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MrpaulJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review.

The Staff will be overjoyed to read your comments as they really strive to make people feel welcome and comfortable.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    254
    86
    18
    8
See reviews for
114
209
35
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding reception at another hotel and glad we couldn't get in at the other hotel. The staff were amazing sooooo friendly and helpful from booking us a taxi when we checked in for the evening to when we came back at night not having eaten as the food had run out at the wedding reception . special mention to the staff at night Lucy and John you were so helpful and friendly finished our night off better than we thought.The room was very nice and clean very happy for the price we paid.after a bad experience several year ago at another Ibis we said never again but we were wrong you have restored our faith and would try Ibis hotels again. Many thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for a lovely review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am very proud of the Staff here who are always friendly and helpful, I will ensure Jon and Lucy see your review , it will make their day.
Thank you again and we hope we will see you in the future.
Kind regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My room was good with plenty of room. Bathroom also OK. Staff were friendly and efficient. I like the free newspaper they give away. That is a nice touch.
I was not so keen on the lounge and bar. Not very welcoming, choice of beers is poor. And there is the television on at the same time as music. Not at all cosy or comfortable.
Breakfast was just OK but the orange juice at breakfast is definitely not OK. On the cooler they claim it is pure with no additives at all. This tasted more like one of those powdered, dried juices which the Russians used to make by redissolving in water. Horrible. That is against the trade descriptions act!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments.
I was sorry to hear that the orange juice was not to your taste, we have not received any other comments but I am checking the quality with the supplier to ensure that we do not have any further issue.
Thank you for bringing these items to my attention.
We hope to see you again
kind regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really lovely stay . . . especially would like to thank the Gentleman that was on the night shift when we stayed . . . Reason why i had not gave it five was . . 1 toilet roll have gone, one towel and limited coffee? the reason why i would like to thank the gentleman on the desk was because he asked if we were not only happy with or room but if he could do anything to make it better; which he did. Thank you lovely staff and really lovely staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jaynebakerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Jon whom you spoke with, he will be very happy.
I do apologise for the oversight of some items in your room, a little late now I am afraid but additional items are always available from Reception on request.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write and I hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For an Ibis hotel, it was quite all right: good value for money, but a bit run-down. Biggest problem is the bad plumbing and worn bathrooms.

Finding the Ibis Chesterfield is easy enough. It is close to the major roads. Parking is not a problem: there is ample free parking space in front and around the hotel. Close by is a pub/restaurant and a McDonalds. Lobby is clean but dull. Reception is swift and professional. Staff is efficient. Checking in was quick.

Rooms are a little outdated, but spacious. It has room for a closet, desk, TV, chair and good sized bed. TV is rather small for today's standards, but has extra options: pay per view and Internet with cable (no wi-fi) at an extra cost of £9,95. No airco, but window can be opened, albeit limited. Bed is good (new mattress).

Bathroom is of good size and all amenities are present in small quantities. Sink stinks and water doesn't run away. Kept warm water running to get rid of the smell, but didn't work. Because of noise asked for another room. This was swiftly done by very attentive staff. However, the other room had the exact same type of plumping problems and smell. In the morning, having a shower, I had to turn off the water because here too, the water wouldn't run away. I nearly flooded the bathroom. On the positive side: water was warm and had good pressure.

Breakfast is OK, but not more than average. It's a buffet type with eggs, sausages, bread, dairy products and instant coffee from a machine. Adequate. Breakfast room lacks any form of design and is purely functional.

For a one night stay when traveling, the Ibis Chesterfield is OK. Don't expect more than average Ibis quality. I would probably look for something else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator and fire doors. The elevator is slow. Back side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments.
Please be assured that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon.
I am grateful for your feedback and hope that we will welcome you back here in the future.
Kind regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is a standard ibis hotel, the reception welcome is not of a particular high standard. The room we booked was a family room but the childs bed was not made up or pulled out - had to make 3 trips to reception to sort out the bedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank susie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
All comments made are taken very seriously and acted upon.
I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just what we needed for a quick overnight stop. Staff helpful, room comfortable, plenty of choice at breakfast, and very reasonable.
Postcode for hotel misleading - to find way in, search for Treble Bobs which shares the car park - S43 4TX.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ICN130408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you experienced problems with the postcode but glad you got here. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Yvonne Parsisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield North

Property: Ibis Chesterfield North
Address: 3 Tallys End | Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield North hotel is located 8 km from Chesterfield and 16 km from Sheffield Airport. Admire the nearby Chatsworth House or wander through the famous Sherwood Forest of the Robin Hood legend. Book one of our 86 rooms and benefit from the hotel amenities on offer, including four meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, a restaurant and a snack bar open 24 hours 7 days as well as private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield North Hotel Barlborough
Ibis Chesterfield North Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing