We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in need of refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Chesterfield North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    244
    83
    18
    8
See reviews for
108
201
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Strange I got room 302 also but found it quiet during my two night stay. However the room was incredibly hot --- the windows dont open very far. I found the bed very hard and along with the lack of ventilation resulted in a poor nights sleep both nights. The hotel felt a bit tired and could do with a bit of a tidy up and a lift that travels faster than snails pace !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langfords2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,Thank you for your feedback we will look into your points of concern and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With regards to the beds we have noted comments from guests regarding our beds and I am pleased to confirm that we will be installing new beds in all our bedrooms by the end of August. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Room 302 is one to avoid, i'm sure there are others at that end of the hotel.

We stayed with the intention of just having a good sleep, due to a long journey the following day.

7am delivery lorry crashing and banging,then just as we started to go off to sleep again, the dustbin lorry turned up!
We checked out at 8am, when i asked if the hotel was full they said no so i asked why we had been given a room over a delivery door etc they apologised and said thay had not thought about it!

Room Tip: Avoid staying at the rear of the hotel, far left hand side unless you want an early wake up call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 755patriciaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Chesterfield North wasn’t up to expectations and that you were disturbed by deliveries. I am currently reveiwing the delivery times with the suppiers concerned and again apologise for the disturbance. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was not having a good day as the lift had been out of order for quite a few days and with no fast fix in view. The room was clean and comfortable but so warm , we opened the windows but it still made the night less than comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant which I suppose you could say you got what you paid for. We did have issues with one of the main courses but this was sorted by the very pleasant young lady.

Room Tip: If the lift is working or you are fit choose a twin room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. Firstly I apologise that the lift was out of service during your visit, the lift has now been repaired and I regret the inconvenience that this may have caused. On a positive note I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and tidy. Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming back in the future. Kind regards Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had to travel to Sheffield to go to the Rother Valley Country Park. I often stay in the IBIS in Sheffield and therefore felt comfortable booking this one as I now know the chain. Did stay in one the previous week in Preston too. No issues with the key cards this time. My room overlooked the back of the Hotel, not pretty, but I was not there for the views. Nice check in and good explanation of the services. Mind you I cold not find my kettle in my room, there was not one but got a replacement immediately. TV channels are limited, but again I was not there for the TV. It was 9 minutes from the Rother Valley County Park. Bed comfortable, room clean, breakfast tasty. I made breakfast last about an hour as I was in no rush. Ate in the pub/restaurant next door in the evening, worth going to with a bigger menu. Would stay again. Booking in advance gets you better rates.

Room Tip: Depends if you are there dor the views, front looks over the car park, back looks overe a little gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager10, General Manager at Ibis Chesterfield North, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your thoughts Tripadvisor, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Janet Cummings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford Herts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we were very satisfied both times. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet (we were on the third floor). For the money (£34) we thought it was very good value for money and would recommend to friends wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janemarion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
9.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
6.0 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chesterfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chesterfield North

Property: Ibis Chesterfield North
Address: 3 Tallys End | Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Chesterfield North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chesterfield North hotel is located 8 km from Chesterfield and 16 km from Sheffield Airport. Admire the nearby Chatsworth House or wander through the famous Sherwood Forest of the Robin Hood legend. Book one of our 86 rooms and benefit from the hotel amenities on offer, including four meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, a restaurant and a snack bar open 24 hours 7 days as well as private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Chesterfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Chesterfield North Hotel Barlborough
Ibis Chesterfield North Barlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing