We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dusty Miller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusty Miller
Ranked #2 of 3 Barlborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a trip to meadowhall on a Sunday we fancied a Sunday dinner but thought it might be a bit late to find anywhere still doing carvery as it was 5 o'clock,a friend had told us about the dusty miller so I rang them to see if they were still doing carvery to my suprise they was upto 7-30 so we arrived,the staff were really helpful in explaining the way the carvery was served as there was an amazing selection of food available,after filling our plates we sat down and enjoyed one of the best tasting carverys we've ever had.needless to say we both cleared our plates,Will definitely be going back amazing food at a reasonable price and friendly staff around great meal out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Layton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review it's really nice when someone else recommends you to try us and what you find when arriving is everything plus more that you were happy with.
I will pass your kind comments onto my chef's and staff as they also like to know they are being appreciated.
We are now serving a new bigger Carvery display with even more choice and 3 different gravy's.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    43
    13
    14
    5
See reviews for
57
43
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

After a family outing we called for lunch we had the carvery which should have been £5.25 Monday to Friday with an increase to £8.25 Sat- Sun and this was a Monday true it was a bank holiday Monday yet it specified nowhere I could see that this day the price had increased by a £1 .

Having said that the food was good except for the mash potatoes they were very dry and lumpy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirianpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the visit with family members sampling our very popular Carvery,yes it is slightly more in cost on a bank holiday Monday for obvious reasons but we do also pop on more expensive dishes on the display besides roast meats.
So it is stil very much value for money.
Carvery is from £5.25 mid week and 2 course from £6.95, weekends and bank holidays differ.
We now have a new look carvery,bigger with even more choice.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

To be greeted by a surly chap exclaiming "Oi where do you think you're going?" probably set the tone for my family's stay for the evening. A roadside cafe masquerading as a hotel. Quite who gave this tawdry place a three star rating defeats me. The rooms were damp and the crockery at breakfast was dirty. In future I would rather sleep in the car. The carver of which they are so proud I'm sure is excellent but there is nothing else worth recommending in this awful establishment. I won"t be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TornadoF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am the landlord and owner of this establishment and am very proud of the Dusty Miller.It has been in the same family since 1976 which is testament to the ongoing commitment my staff and myself show to make people welcome,happy and have a enjoyable experience be it staying over night or just popping in for a relaxing drink and a bite to eat.
I was not on duty for your visit and feel that something or a member of staff ruffled your feathers from the start for whatever reason which set your mindset for the rest of your stay.
I would very much doubt that if anything was said inappropriately that it was intentional.I wish i had met your family because i am sure that your extremely over exaggerated review which does not describe the Dusty at all or what we are about ,would have been different.
Having said that we do try to improve things all the time and take on board sensible comments if being praised or customers looking for us to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

My daughter and I stayed there in October 2011.

My biggest regret was that on the way up I had promised her Pizza Hut for dinner and nothing I could do would change her mind to go for the carvery which was not only excellent value but looked superb.

This was further confirmed by the excellent breakfast which was included in the price.

The pub also had a live band - but sadly due to my daughter's age an early night was better - from the little I heard they were very good.

The room was small, but completely functional and I have no complaints.

Would certainly go there again.

Please remember this is budget rooms and if you are expecting 5***** hotel and all the facilities you would be disappointed - but a fantastic place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianF80, Owner at Dusty Miller, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for the positive feed back.Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlborough
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
6.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusty Miller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusty Miller

Property: Dusty Miller
Address: Dusty Miller Inn Sheffield Road, Barlborough, Chesterfield S43 4TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dusty Miller 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusty Miller Inn is set in the pictures'k village of Barlborough and is ideal for staying over in one of there en-suite rooms while visiting the peak district and for commuters alike with it just being a 2min drive from Jcn 30 of the M1.It has a warm welcome with comfortable surroundings and a great place to eat,drink and relax.Also it boasts 2 top music nights being Wednesdays and Saturdays. The Dusty daily Carvery is renowned for Miles also the Steaks and other offerings from there extensive bar menu.Sunday's special Carvery is a great day out with over 300 plus meals being served and a great Child's menu or Child's Carvery .Large Car park,picknick tables overlooking one of the most pictures'k view's in the area also a garden centre directly opposite-just across the road and your there.All roads lead to the Dusty Miller.Privately owned by the Fazakerley Family since June 1976.Need we say more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusty Miller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusty Miller Barlborough, Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing