We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Vista Los Volcanes
Certificate of Excellence
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I spent two weeks in the beautiful San Lorenzo, San Joaquin area and was travelling alone. I rented one of the apartments on the second floor. My rooms were spacious, immaculate, well decorated and more than comfortable. I had a small kitchen where I prepared most of my meals, two bathrooms with hot water showers, two televisions with a variety of English channels to choose from, free WiFi for my computer, and a view from my balcony of a lush green garden of tropical plants, flowers, and a mango tree. The breakfast, prepared and served every morning by a friendly Costa Rican lady who loved to sing, was always different and included fresh fruit and juice, and delicious coffee. I spent a part of every day on the third floor balcony reading, and enjoyed a tremendous view of the volcanoes and the setting sun. I will definitely go back to this hotel. It is a gem. As a woman travelling alone, I felt safe and secure at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
27
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hose and Mabel are wonderful hosts. Enjoy their wonderful and bountiful breakfast. Sit on the patio outside your door and enjoy the tranquil garden. a restful place within striking distance of San Joaquin de Flores and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I loved the feeling of family and security. It is very clean, and the owner and staff are always very gracious, cheerful, and kind. I stayed for a week and each morning the breakfasts were typical Costa Rican meals. Fresh fruit, a fruit blend drink (homemade), eggs with a tortilla, fried plantains, and a piece of bread or pancakes, french toast, or rice and beans (normal for CR). Each day a little different. They have wifi and sun room with a balcony in case you get a first floor room. Wonderful panoramic view of the mountains. They keep a well kept garden on a quiet street fenced in with security gate and privacy wall. Loved the birds each morning. They have a shuttle that will come pick you up from the airport and take you back. Always tip, the drivers are extra nice.

Room Tip: They have two floors. Upper floor rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bonwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica, and it was definitely the best experience we had during our whole trip. We were warmly welcomed by Carlos, the owner, who was genuinely friendly and personable and looked out for our well-being.

Los Volcanes is on a gated property off a quiet street and had a parking space available for our rental car. We stayed in a lovely, clean room with a couple of beds, a table, and a TV. The bathroom was the nicest of our entire trip, and it even included a mini hair dryer mounted on the wall! Our room was on the ground floor, which opened onto the patio and the well-kept grounds. Carlos made sure we knew about the balcony on the 3rd floor as well, where we enjoyed a bottle of wine while watching the sunset. Breakfast was delicious and filling. It's walkable to San Joaquin, and Heredia is also very close (though not walkable). The staff is all very friendly and helpful, and Victor will patiently engage in very slow conversations in Spanish with your limited language skills. Los Volcanes is very close to the airport, and is a great option to stay at on your way in and out of San Jose. If you were to stay longer and study Spanish, this would be a great place to meet other students of all ages and backgrounds and feel at home during your stay.

In terms of value for our money as well as wonderfulness of the owner and staff, Los Volcanes definitely tops the list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rho718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have visited several B & B Vista Los Volcanoes ... and attention is spectacular! This last visit I made with my wife and was no different, each person with a concept unbeatable service. Each room has a special concept, comfortable and very clean. The amazing view, perfect location make it always an excellent choice to stay at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LotoSpaMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East & West
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a lovely little B&B on a quiet side street. The rooms are spacious, clean, well-maintained, comfortable, and have all the amenities you need: A/C, hot shower, table and chairs, comfortable bed. They provide a generous breakfast and take the time to get to know you; you can get to know the other guests as well.
The upstairs rooms are quite a bit larger and have a balcony. The management is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Propietario at B&B Vista Los Volcanes, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you very much. I hope....I will see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Los Volcanes is a gem! My wife and I stayed there a week, while we took courses at the nearby Centro Panamericano de Idiomas (CPI). We had a spacious studio apartment, with a kitchenette, two bathrooms and a balcony. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the B&B is located in a quiet street about a 15 minute walk from the center of San Joaquin de Flores (and about 20-25 minutes walk from CPI). The staff here is wonderful--warm, accomodating and friendly--and the owner, Carlos goes out of his way to make his guests feel at home. The included breakfasts, served in a little outdoor patio, are big and delicious, and usually include "gallo pinto" (the traditional dish of Costa Rica), eggs, toast, fruit, and a delicious fresh fruit drink made up, variously, of mangos, starfruit, bananas, watermelon, and others. We enjoyed our stay so much that, at the end of our stay in Costa Rica, we came back to Los Volcanes for our last night before leaving for home from the airport, which is only about 15 minutes away. We highly recommend Los Volcanes, and hope to return there ourselves.

Room Tip: For longer stays (like we had) or for a family, you might want to request one of the two studio apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DaveIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo de Flores
0.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Vista Los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Vista Los Volcanes

Property: B&B Vista Los Volcanes
Address: San Joaquin de Flores | 1.3km norte y 50 metros oeste de Autos Los Amigos, San Lorenzo de Flores 151-3007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Lorenzo de Flores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Lorenzo de Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Vista Los Volcanes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Vista Los Volcanes has 9 spacious equiped rooms with private bathroom, TV cable, hot shower, Wi-Fi and a lounge overlooking Barva and Poas volcanoes. There is a free shuttle to the airport in San Jose, located 15 minutes by car.The B & B has a 24-hour reception and security service. We also offer laundry service, tours and spanish classes. Find us in WAZE B&B Vista Los Volcanes. Our single and doubles rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your B&B Vista Los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Vista Los Volcanes Costa Rica/San Lorenzo De Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing