We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Vista Los Volcanes
Certificate of Excellence
Arenal, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Vista Los Volcanes is my favorite place to stay in the San Jose area. Carlos the owner is a great guy and his staff is top notch. I've stayed there several times and can recommend it highly. They will provide transfers to the airport if you need it and breakfast is included in the rates, which are reasonable. You cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtm6621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
27
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was one of the best stops in Costa Rica. The owner was very friendly, picked us up in the airport and dropped us there as well, contacted taxis when we needed to go to other places, we felt we were at home. The breakfast was great, the room was very good and clean, the place is beautiful. Highly recommended!! And it's very good cause it's close to the airport.

Uno de los mejores hoteles de Costa Rica, principalmente por el dueño que es muy amable y nos ayudó con todo que necesitábamos: nos recogió en e aeropuerto y también nos dejó allí después, llamó a los taxis cuando necesitamos ir de paseo a algún lugar, nos cobró precios muy buenos. El desayuno fue excelente, la habitación era muy buena y limpia, el lugar es muy bonito. Recomendamos mucho!!! Es muy cerca del aeropuerto (en carro).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handewitt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This small little B&B is the perfect place to stay in San Jose/Costa Rica. The friendliness of the owner and his employes is absolutely extraordinary. You check in and immediately feel at home. The breakfast is typical Costa Rican style - lots of fruits, eggs prepared in different ways, beens, baked bananas - and everything fresh! Rooms are nice, very clean and comfortable. Everything you want or need is instantly arranged by the stuff (speaking a little Spanish helps!!). Whenever I have to go to San Jose again I definitely will come back! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: If you do not need a room which is a 100 square meters big this is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Propietario at B&B Vista Los Volcanes, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much. I was very nice to meet you. You are very welcome to my B&B forever. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The B&B Vista Los Volcabes is very comfortable, clean and safe. We are sure It's the best place to stay for arrival and departure from the airport. The shuttle service was perfect.
Carlos, the owner, was realy the nicest and most helpful person we met in Costa Rica. We had a great time there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel is excellent, the personal attention is even better, the city is safe, free transportation from Juan Santamaria airport. Breakfast is delicious and enough to get you going for the whole day. I recommend the hotel with 5 stars. Greetings to Carlos and his amazing team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardoMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Gerente at B&B Vista Los Volcanes, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias Gerardo. Aprecio mucho su comentario. Vista Los Volcanes le espera siempre que quieras visitar tu país Costa Rica. Muchas gracias por habernos dado el honor de hospedarlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retsof
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was so fortunate to find and book this B&B. Being my first trip to Costa Rica and I needed to stay in that city,I was uneasy about booking a B&B. This is more like a 4 star hotel. It is beautiful, clean and spacious and nestled in on a quiet street with a relaxing courtyard. Carlos is the perfect host, kind, helpful and highly professional. He and Rosie greet you cheerfully and prepare a delicious breakfast that included the best Costa Rican coffee.Carlos reserved a marvelous canopy tour(zipline) at Volcan Barva and even arranged for our taxi to and from the location. On one occassion we were returning from San Jose and our cab driver got lost and we gave Carlos a call at his home@night and he helped redirect the driver. He had provided his card with phone #'s and I am so grateful for that. He truly makes you feel so secure during your stay. Great guy, great sense of humor and ok I'm going to include...handsome ! Stongly reccomend this lovely treasure of a find.

Room Tip: All our beautiful. If you are on the lower level...no problems the 3rd floor has a beautiful lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeRetsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booking a hotel in Central America online made us anxious for good reason, but this place proved way better than expected. It's a gem hidden in the small village or neighborhood of San Joachin/San Lorenzo, northwest of San Jose on the edge of the sprawling metro area. Several restaurants and cafes are within a 10-min. walk in several directions. The neighborhood seemed relatively safe compared to metro San Jose. This is really a very small hotel in many ways. We stayed for 8 nights and made it our home base. There are only 8 or 9 rooms of various sizes. Traveling with our 2 adult sons, we booked the 2 family suites which covered the entire second floor. There is an enclosed rooftop balcony with a view over the top of the area and the mountains. It's practically brand-new, tries hard to be eco-friendly and is remarkably nice. The enclosed courtyard featured native plants, a mango tree, a breakfast nook and room to park. There were no air conditioners and no screens on the windows, but also no bugs and the high-altitude temperature was as advertised: 80-ish during the day and 60 at night. The hotel and rooms were way better than expected, but the deal-breaker was the staff. Carlos Granados Rojas, the owner and manager, is friendly, helpful, and wants every visitor to have a perfect experience. (Not possible in Costa Rica, but he sure tried!) He's a fixer, an arranger, an interpreter, a tour guide. For four gringos who don't speak Spanish and didn't have a rental car, I would say Carlos was the difference between a really challenging trip and a great vacation. He always seemed to be available to help us plan a day trip, find a restaurant or arrange transportation. (Note: I'm glad we didn't rent a car. We took buses, taxis and once hired a driver. Driving is insane in CR. Narrow, windy, potholed streets with no names, directional signs or house numbers; dogs, pedestrians, road-rally taxi drivers, buses, motorscooters, traffic . . . both in the mountains and San Jose metro.) Another daily highlight was the breakfast featuring Costa Rican coffee, fresh fruit and local dishes. Rosi, the cook and cleaner, was a delight. The hotel is very secure and even had a nighttime security guard, Juan Carlos. We hated to leave and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The family suite has two rooms, two beds, two bathrooms, kitchenette and sofa sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5678jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo de Flores
5.4 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,767 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
4.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Vista Los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Vista Los Volcanes

Property: B&B Vista Los Volcanes
Address: San Joaquin de Flores | 1.3km norte y 50 metros oeste de Autos Los Amigos, San Lorenzo de Flores 151-3007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Lorenzo de Flores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Lorenzo de Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Vista Los Volcanes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Vista Los Volcanes has 9 spacious equiped rooms with private bathroom, TV cable, hot shower, Wi-Fi and a lounge overlooking Barva and Poas volcanoes. There is a free shuttle to the airport in San Jose, located 15 minutes by car.The B & B has a 24-hour reception and security service. We also offer laundry service, tours and spanish classes. Find us in WAZE B&B Vista Los Volcanes. Our single and doubles rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Vista Los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Vista Los Volcanes Costa Rica/San Lorenzo De Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing