We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manzac d'en Bas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzac d'en Bas
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Manzac d'en Bas is a beautiful place. Situated on top of a hill, the view of the valley below with the rolling hills stretching towards the Pyrenees is truly lovely. The gite is thoughtfully designed, spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. Sitting out on the balcony off the main bedroom at night listening to the crickets and reading my book was one of my favourite parts of the day at Manzac.The pool, the garden, the sheep, the rabbits and Daco the dog all made Manzac very special especially for our kids (aged 10 and twins aged 8). Manzac is a great location for either a relaxing, peaceful retreat or as a lovely base for exploring the surrounding countryside. There is lots to do and see -Toulouse, Carcasonne and the Pyrenees all within an hour to hour and half's drive.Giles and Louise have very thoughtfully set up a folder showing some of the wonderful places you can visit. Speaking of our hosts, Giles , Louise and family were very welcoming and accommodating and made us feel right at home. We hope to return some day to Manzac for another wonderful family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
24
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a wonderful place for a family holiday, great house which is very well equipped and in a fantastic location with incredible views. The pool is beautiful and there is lots to see and do in the area. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend this Gite very highly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The upside is that we just spent a fabulous week at Manzac d'en Bas. The downside is that we are unlikely to find anywhere else that gets even close in terms of facilities and local amenities,

Finally we found somewhere that provides something for everyone in the family. Culture (and shopping) in the fascinating nearby cities of Toulouse and Carcasonne, stunning Cathar castles and local markets with all sorts of temptations. Outdoor pursuits with tree climbing, cycling, hiking in Pyrenees and of course that swimming pool to relax by.

The charming Giles and Louise have a created a rural idyll in this delightful corner of France. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I really can't rate this destination highly enough. Giles and Louise go out of their way to ensure all their guests are catered for on all fronts. The location is superb with wonderful views over the open French countryside and the Pyrenees in the distance. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and airy. The food is exceptional....always plenty for everyone and of excellent quality. The hosts were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for them. They seemed truly happy to cater for all requests. As a loction for a painting holiday...I doubt it can be beaten. Wonderful locations just minutes away. What more can you ask for ??
To sum up in one ord....FABULOUS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was a truly excellent experience. Gilles and Louise are wonderful hosts who enabled us to focus solely on our painting and not worry about details. The meals were wonderful and well thought out. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The evening get togethers overlooking the Pyrennes were remarkable and when the weather became inclement the kitchen was large enough to accommodate us all comfortably. The studio, although not completed when we were there, will become a valuable asset when finished and we were able to have our final critique in there on our last evening. Gilles and Louise have stopped at nothing to make this a magical place to come to. Am looking forward to returning both as a student for another art holiday but also potentially to bring my family sometime to such a fabulous place with superb hosts. Thank you Gilles and Louise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Words cannot express how perfect Manzac is. Scenery fantastic, hosts so friendly and helpful, food excellent and accommodation so comfortable. Every need is catered for, almost before it is thought of. A painting holiday here is so relaxing with trips to beautiful old villages and rural locations, delicious picnics being laid on, and should the weather not be perfect a purpose-built studio to retreat to. An experience I certainly hope to repeat. Laura S.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a wonderful location for a painting holiday. Giles and Louise are exceptional hosts and work tirelessly to give their guests a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The food and wine was delicious and plentiful. For me the ultimate luxury is to paint all morning by a river or in a village and then find that a delicious picnic has been laid out under a shady tree for me to enjoy! The accommodation surpassed my expectations and was comfortable and attractive. The weather in May was perfect and it was great to know that if it did rain, we had a newly converted 50m2 studio with a fantastic view in which to carry on painting. Penny

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castex
15.7 mi away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
10.2 mi away
Haras Picard du Sant
Haras Picard du Sant
#1 of 6 in Saint-Girons
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Maison Matalot
#1 of 1 in Castex
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzac d'en Bas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzac d'en Bas

Property: Manzac d'en Bas
Address: Lieu Dit Manzac D en Bas, 09350 Castex, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Castex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Castex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to MANZAC D'EN BAS, traditional luxury self-catering holiday "gites" set in the truly spectacular, peaceful and relaxing countryside of the Ariège in South West France. It is half way between the City of Toulouse (1 hour's drive) and the Pyrenees Mountain Range, in the Arize valley between Foix and Carbonne. The three spacious, self-catering "gites", called "L'Écurie" (The Stable), "Le Logement" (The Dwelling), and " La Grange" (The Barn)after their original uses, combine traditional charm with comfort and modern amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing