We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Team!”

Saba Deep Dive Center
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Dive Team!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Owners Tony & Cheri run a great dive center on the wee island of Saba, with Big Mike, John, Inge & Lazlo aboard to guide the divers through some of the most pristine waters ever. We so appreciated the team's genuine enthusiasm for the sport and knowledge of the underwater topography and sea life, as well as tales of the island's history and culture. The team does all the heavy lifting, including gear setup and tank changes, leaving us to just have fun! The fish, turtles, rays and other sea life are completely at ease with divers, swimming right up to us in this protected Marine Park. The vividly colored soft and hard corals are magnificent, the fish abundant. Much of the diving involves submerged volcanic pinnacles, encrusted with draping corals, huge sponges, and fans, making it fascinating terrain to explore. The water is a deep cobalt blue, the sand a fine volcanic gray. And, when the morning's dives are done, we enjoyed terrific lunches at the small restaurant upstairs. If you go to Saba, this is the place to dive. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank blowbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    6
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Amazing Dive Shop”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When you dive with Saba Deep, you receive VIP treatment!! Very friendly and knowledgable, and the best dive guide in the caribbean, Big Mike. Can't wait to come back. Thank you Lazlo and Big Mike for an amazing 3 dives. And a special thank you to Cheri for everything you did from booking our day and arranging our taxi, to organizing the new dives with our past saba dives and for the extra concern during our lunch break. I was very surprised that you kept sheets on all of your divers and their past dives on the island to try to prevent repeats. My wife and I could not have asked for a better adventure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NICEST DIVE TEAM on the island”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cheri, Tony and their team are 1 fanstastic group of people. From arrival to departure they know what you need, what you might need, and what you miight want and its all taken care of. They know the dive areas and are more than willing to give you a tour, a history lesson and answer all questions.You do not feel rushed or crowded. Its very personal and professional. They have a great relationship with Queens Garden resort, so if you stay there pretty much all is taken care of from travel to harbor, lunch and gear without a single worry. They know the island and the people so don't hesitate to ask for food, entertainment, etc.. reccomendations. A special thank you to Cheri for putting up with me hanging out while everyone was diving, to Laslo for making our stay just a little more personal and to to Tony who was nice enough to visit with me on the boat and did his very best to help me with the seasickness.) You all are wonderful and we look forward to our next trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Dive Team!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Saba Deep is has the most terrific dive team! THey were amazing. So attentive and ready to answer all my questions (and I ask A LOT of questions). They set up everything. All you have to do is dive! Best part is, they keep their groups small, so you don't feel like cattle. the most we had diving was about 6 and there were 2 dive guides with us. THey are very adept at reading the weather and currents which really helps when deciding which dive sites would be the best for that days conditions. So when you go out, don't pester John or Tony by asking "Where we goin? WHere we goin? every 5 minutes, like I did. THese guys know these waters and planned exciting dives every day. Big Mike, John and Inga (the MOST enthusiastic dive guide EVER!) and the owners TOny and Sherry are just great all round people with so much experience. Had nice long talks with Tony about conservation and you can tell he really cares about the health of the reefs and the life surrounding it. And they have a little cafe to hang out in during surface intervals and for some refreshing beer and food apres' dive. And don't forget to say hi to the shop dog, Splash!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peteythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a class act”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This dive shop helped us plan our whole trip, not just our dive. They connected us with a great hotel (at a great price) they asked about what we liked in casual conversation to turn around and make great recommendations of other things to do on the island. Oh yeah, they took us to some of the best dive sites I have been to. I could not imagine diving with anyone else on Saba.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeadS0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saba Deep Dive Center also viewed

 
Windwardside, Saba
Windwardside, Saba
 

Been to Saba Deep Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing