We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Host (George Rathgeber) extraordiaire and perfect...”
other traveler has booked this property
Beautiful Sunsets all the Time
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Sunsets all the Time
Better here than the Office HOUSE FLOOR PLAN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beautiful Sunsets all the Time
Better here than the Office
HOUSE FLOOR PLAN
NEW KITCHEN COUNTERS AND CABS
FULL SIZE KITCHEN AND ISLAND
COMFY LIVING ROOM AREA
RELAX AFTER A DAY IN THE SUN !
COMFY LIVING ROOM AREA WITH FLAT SCREEN AND MUSIC !
Typical Bedroom w/Queen Bed, shelves, dresser and Hangars
View of the Beach
Bath One
Bath Two
Guest House Garden
Table for Six: Dining Alfresco Everyday..
Screened Porch with table for Six!
Awesome screened porch...what a view!
The view of the Ocean from the porch
View of South Side of Duplex
Propane BBQ to use for free !
Entry to Property
Beach Looking North
Beach Looking south
Tree Trunk Seating for Two
Chairs on the Beach
Nice place to Watch a Sunset
View of Bay from Verandah
Coconut Grove and Cottage
Guest house from Beach
Picnic on the Beach in the Shade
Secluded spot for Two
Gardens and Palms
Veranda Views ....Spectacular !!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MedfordOr...
MEDFORD
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Host (George Rathgeber) extraordiaire and perfect dwelling.”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located on the northern fourth of the island, there are many excellent dining locals. One, named Washington which has no signage so you need to call a day ahead and "discuss" your desired menu. We had grouper which is the frequent "fish of the day" on the island and it was delightful. We bought locally fresh lobster tail (you need to find out from George, cottage owner, where to buy it ). The cost is $7.00 per pound which equals two large tails. The names and descriptions of other dining establishments you can get from George or refer to the typed list of places to dine in the cottage. Included with the cottage are a couple of kayaks. The brilliant blue sea water will leave you with a lifetime photo memory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Great to have you and your family as our guests! Come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Do you wish for peace and quiet with beautiful scenery?”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a group of 7 staying in both houses on site for my 50th birthday and Mothers Day.The property and homes were very comfortable and clean
.George was a fantastic host !He checked in on us everyday to see if we needed anything , offered lots of information ,and made great suggestions for dining & stores.
In 6 days on the beach in front of property is beautiful crystal clear water & white sand beach.We pretty much had it to ourselves only seeing 4 ppl all week!If you want peace and quiet,friendly locals,good food,isolated beautiful beaches(must see Cape Santa Maria- I see why it was voted one the most beautiful in the world)& relaxation you must come here!Away from the tourist masses on Nassau or cruise ships!Thanks again George !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Kevin, It was our pleasure to host you and the gang for a week full of fun !!! come on back soon when you need to get away and recharge !!!

all the best !

george & cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyraCanyo...
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable holidays for the whole family”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in both cottages for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years with our 4 kids and grandparents - just perfect! Since we rented both cottages, every generation could live on its own path: seniors had their early morning coffee and swim, mid-age could do some work in the morning - thanks to Wifi - and the Youngsters could sleep in and kite surf right in front of the property.
Both cottages are clean, colourful, friendly and well equipped! You get a clean up every week and as much towels as you want. Everything is there when you arrive and George is great with organizing whatever it is before you come.
The South part of Long Island had a lot of damages through the hurricane end of September 2015 and you still could see destroyed houses. The area of Whymsical Wish looks much better and although the water raised about 5 feet onto the property, George did a great job in cleaning up and restoring the garden.
George and Cindy are fantastic hosts!!! They helped us with any issue: broken rental cars (ask George for recommendations !), where to get fresh seafood and how to prepare it the right way, where to go for swimming, shopping, sight-seeing and everything else you can think of!
Our highlight was their invitation for Christmas dinner and boxing day with their whole family - imagine we were 8 more to feed! These folks are just incredibly welcoming and generous - we had a great time and want to come again for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: George, Cindy and the beaches
Liked least: sand flies
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildWonde...
Ripley, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Right”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My family stayed with George Rathgeber at the Whymsical Wish house on Long Island Bahamas. The house was exactly what we wanted. The house was clean and airy and well appointed. The location is close to areas you will want to visit, but remote enough that you feel like you are away from everyone else. The house is adjacent to another rental cottage and the house of the owner. George was responsive to our questions and attentive to any thing we needed. George is plugged into the community and has good suggestions for places to eat and visit. It was quiet at night and we enjoyed the evening breeze and woke to the crowing of roosters. This is an Island that is well suited for exploring on your own and this property is well suited as a comfortable base. We would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Airy and Clean
Liked least: Bay is shallow for swimming but great for wading
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“An Excellent Experience, Good House, Good Host”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our family of four had an exceptional experience with George and Cindy and their home on the bay at Wymms. Ordinarily, you would not select a vacation house to rent based on its owners. But in this case, you should.
We were first time travelers to Long Island with our two boys, aged 14 and 17. Our family has traveled to many places in different parts of the world and water based trips remain the long time favorites. We cannot say enough good things about our seven days in Long Island, snorkeling, bone fishing, reef fishing and just generally wandering to the wide open expanses of blue water. What made it special was George and Cindy’s house. We stayed in the four bedroom house and it was clean from top to bottom and very functional. Great kitchen and being able to eat every night on the screened porch was very enjoyable for our family. If you are into stars at night, this is the place. We woke up every morning to a great sky and a higher degree of quiet that you cannot get at home.
A few steps away from the house is a relatively secluded beach that wraps around a gorgeous bay. You can walk the whole bay tip to tip and watch the waves come in. Several nights we ate fresh fish and lobster from a local market and two nights we ate fish that we caught with our boys. Water to table is a quick trip in Long Island.
During our stay, we rented a car with the great help of George. It allowed us to explore road after road, countless beaches and some great roadside restaurants where the locals eat. George provided us with lists of snorkeling spots, restaurants and fishing locations. We packed the car with fishing gear, snorkeling equipment and just set out for the day. Unlike a lot of houses that we have rented, George enjoys getting to know the people that visit and will do whatever he can to ensure that you are able find the things that make you happy on Long Island. On two different occasions, I mentioned to him that our boys wanted to fish the reef and do some exploring. A few hours later George called and had found a great day trip for us to do some fishing off shore and snorkeling.
If he offers, take George up on getting your first night’s provisions. When we arrived, we had dinner and a fresh cold beer waiting for us in the fridge. There is plenty of good fishing all around Long Island. It is a mystifying place to visit.

As we poked around the whole island, we explored from one end to the other, we saw a lot of houses, but really did not see any that we would trade for staying where we did. Honestly, we hated to leave Long Island which is a measure of a good trip but we really hated to leave George and Cindy. They are great people personally and you will enjoy their home.

Jim and Elizabeth Bradbury

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelFFi...
Truckee, California
1 review
“Beautiful Island with friendly people”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent three weeks in the four bedroom cottage with six people and had an amazing vacation. You couldn't find a more gracious host and hostess than George and Cindy. They were accommodating to all our needs and requests and as the Whymsical Wish card states " arrive as a guest , leave as a friend" . The cottage was clean, comfortable and roomy . "Our" beach was strikingly beautiful and we spent tIme fishing, swimming, kayaking , beach combing, exploring and watching incredible sunsets right in our own " front yard". All of our explorations to other parts of the island were fantastic, by land and by sea .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing