We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first experience of The Bahama's and i will never go back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My first experience of The Bahama's and i will never go back!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The resort itself was clean and tidy and most staff were helpful except for the bartender who was just rude.
We stayed for a week which was far too long! We were told there would be lovely sandy beaches right by the resort which there are not, it is on the Atlantic side and nothing but rock, you certainly would not want to swim in it, as it is far too rough. On the Caribbean side of Long Island the beaches were gorgeous, Cape Santa Maria beach was particulary beautiful, they did provide a free bus to a few beaches.
There onsite resturant was very expensive and there breakfast was a joke! We went to the nearest shop to stock up (which was a gas station approx 3miles away!) which ofcourse in that heat you do not want to walk, so you need to hire a car which they do offer but its not particulary cheap. Could not believe they did not have a shop onsite!!
Nothing to do of an evening so its gets very boring as there are no TV's in the rooms, which for the price you pay you would expect. Air conditioning did work but sounded like a tractor!
All in all a extremley boring week and i could not wait to get outta there - avoid this Island completely !!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saveoursharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
There are 700 islands in The Bahamas, with over a dozen offering unique vacation experiences from the bustle and nightlife of Nassau to the solitude and nature of Inagua. Long Island and Stella Maris are found closer toward the latter. Genuine old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness are hallmarks of Long Islanders and it is very rare that anyone describes any of our staff as other than friendly and accommodating. Never the less we are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with one of our bartenders and we will make sure to look into the matter.
Long Island has so many beaches, as we show on our website, from stretches of leeside beach to Atlantic side beach coves. It is nice to hear that you utilized our complementary shuttle to visit a few.
We do offer to accommodate a range of budgets and appetites with several dining options, from full course meals or entrée only options in our dining room, to light dining options at the ocean/pool side Moonshine and in our clubhouse lounge; even catering to special diet requests. Our breakfast options, Continental or Full American, are generally reported by our guests to be quite satisfying and at $16 including selections of beverages, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs/omelets, French toast or German pancakes; quite reasonably priced.
We appreciate our guests’ feedback and are always looking for ways to accommodate your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    44
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
65
96
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitford, Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We traveled to Long Island to experience another side of the Bahama Islands. We had spent the previous few days in the bustle of Atlantis. From the moment we were picked up by small plane at Nassau we felt welcomed and informed. Long Island itself was interesting and we could have stayed several more days to get a really good look around. The owners and staff at Stella Maris were friendly and informative. Nothing seemed a problem and the travel advice was much appreciated. We stayed in Rainbow House. For us this was a great choice. It was roomy and gave our Teenage children a space each to spread out in and enjoy. The infinity pool was great. The weather wasn't 100% kind to us but the views over the Atlantic ocean were superb. The food was good although a small walk up to the restaurant and main bar area where you can also access internet. Suggest to anyone going here organize a rental car (can be done through Stella Maris). There is a lot of interesting things to see and gorgeous beaches to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Although we didn't stay here, we took their resort dive course (Peter is great and extremely knowledgeable about diving and ocean conservation) and then went for one dive at Flamingo Tounge Reef later that day (Rober,the dive master is awesome). It was our first dive but they really took care of me as I was bit nervous. The reefs are beautiful and the water is crystal clear. The bar food was so so but the dinner menu looked very sophisticated and delicious. The resort really seems to cater to their guests. We even met one couple who has been going to Stella Maris for 27 years! On site, they have two swimming pools as well as a natural sea water pool carved into the rock plus their own airstrip which is very convenient. There's also the tide pools (very cool) and the Love Beaches. The resort is very spread out as far as the natural attractions and other private homes in relation to the Inn and club house. There are many roads with nothing on them. I highly advise renting a car, even just to explore the north end. We traveled up to the north area 3 times from our centrally located cottage in Pettys because there are more attractions to see (Columbus monument with the BEST snorkeling IMO in the bay just below, tide pools at SM, beach at Cape Santa Maria). Key advice: do your homework when traveling to an Out Island. Example: one previous post from "grrrrah" blames the resort for her no see um bites. Yes, they are all over the island and no one can do anything about it. Its best to be prepared (we used baby oil as they can't bite through the oil) which worked great.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jungledriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We recently returned from a 1-week stay at the Stella Maris Resort on Long Island, Bahamas and it was a truly lovely vacation. This was the 2nd trip to this destination for my husband and me (see "This Place is a Gem!" review posted in October 2007 for comments regarding that trip). We enjoyed our stay so much back then that we decided to return this summer, this time bringing our kids (ages 14 and 11).

Long Island is a delightfully sleepy island; there is simply no hustle and no bustle. The island doesn't even have a traffic light! Despite being fairly remote, it's easy enough to get there: we opted for Stella Maris Air from Nassau, which made the logistics very easy. We were able to book a non-stop flight from Philadelphia to Nassau, then took a 5-minute taxi to another part of the NAS airport where we were met by Joel (Stella Maris' pilot/manager/host/server) who loaded our bags onto their aircraft and before long we were enjoying a spectacular flight over the gorgeous Exumas and on our way to the resort, Within less than 6 hours from the time we departed Philadelphia we were on the ground at Stella Maris!

For this trip we booked the Rainbow House villa, which is a 3-bedroom, 3-bathroom house which has its own pool and overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. This was an excellent choice for our family, as it gave us all the space and convenience we could hope for. I highly recommend this accommodation for families with children ages 10+ and/or groups traveling together. However, I would not recommend the Rainbow House for families traveling with younger children for several reasons: (1) Only 1 of the 3 bedrooms connects to the main living area; (2) there are no bathtubs for bathing younger children; (3) it is a fairly steep walk up to restaurant, and (4) the pool is deep (5' at its shallowest, and 6+ feet deep in most of the pool).

When you walk into the Rainbow House you just have to say "Wow!" The view is incredible, and you just know instantly that you are truly on vacation. Time to relax and enjoy!! The main floor includes an entryway, a bedroom to the right, a kitchen to the left, and a spacious dining room/living room ahead which opens to the upper balcony and overlooks the infinity pool and ocean beyond. There is a wall of sliding doors at the far end to maximize your view. From the upper balcony you can access the other upstairs bedroom, or head down the steps to the lower patio, pool area, private gazebo, tiki bar/grill area, and access to the lower level bedroom.

Furnishings and decorations are quirky and fun in the Rainbow House. Fishing trophies are on prominent display, as are African and tropical-inspired furniture and accessories. Where else will you stay where there's an 8' carved giraffe in your living room? :-)

Each bedroom has something different to offer. Both upper level bedrooms have beautifully updated bathrooms - the one with the better view has twin beds and a nicer (IMO) bathroom, while the other upper level bedroom offers only a partial pool/ocean view but is a bit larger and features a king-size bed. The lower level bedroom is by far the largest of the 3 (sprawling really), and features an incredible view of the pool/ocean, but its bathroom is vintage 1960's (that said, it IS both clean and functional, so you really can't complain - especially considering the room size and view!)

We enjoyed lovely warm (OK, hot) weather punctuated by a few brief occasional showers (not enough to disrupt any activity). We took advantage of complimentary resort excursions including snorkel/boat trips, visits to the Cape Santa Maria beach (a MUST!), and sightseeing at the Columbus Monument (which entails a hairy car ride over some rocky terrain, and a steep uphill climb - WEAR SNEAKERS - but definitely worth the trip). In addition, my husband and son went scuba diving every chance they could get (which, if you're not on a scuba-inclusive package, seems to be available only every 2 or 3 days). TIP: If you're interested in doing a lot of diving, the SCUBA-inclusive package would be a better way to go. They'll take you diving every day with that package, and the diving is splendid..

A few other things to mention about the Rainbow House: There is a DVD player and CD player, and the resort provides a full-size water cooler for drinking water. The tap water is potable but not tasty; the water cooler is a much better alternative. The Rainbow House kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glasses, utensils, cookware, etc. You can have a taxi driver take you to the local grocery/liquor store so that you can stock up on supplies. There isn't a dishwasher, but if you opted for housekeeping services you can leave your dishes in the sink and the cleaning staff will wash them for you in the morning. Can't beat that! In addition to the full-size kitchen on the main level, the lower level bedroom also has a mini-refrigerator as well.

The "new generation" of managers is doing a commendable job, and the hallmark friendliness of this resort remains intact. We were delighted to recognize a number of the same staff we'd seen back in 2007. For this trip the standout employees included Stacia and Queen in the restaurant; Robert on the dive boat; Shawn in the bar; and Miss Sue at the Moonshine grill. The front desk staff was always there to greet us with a smile. It was also great to see owners/former managers Peter and Bruno again - although they may be semi-retired (?), they are still very much present and making their marks.

Stella Maris is a resort that consistently earns repeat business, and it's easy to see why. The majority of guests are repeat customers, which speaks volumes regarding the quality and uniqueness of the resort experience here. This was our 2nd trip to Stella Maris Resort, but I dearly hope it won't be our last!

I highly recommend Stella Maris Resort to anyone who is seeking a quiet and relaxing chance to get away to a unique and lovely tropical destination. ENJOY!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2Travel_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Everyone was extremely friendly, food was unbelievable, and the resort was beautiful. We are highly recommending it to everyone we know. The island has the most beautiful water I have ever seen, and I have been from Hawaii to Panama and other parts of the Caribbean. Also the activities, they were great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The resort and island far exceeded our expectations. I had read that the staff at Stella Maris make you feel like an old friend or part of the family, and my wife and I certainly found this to be true. The food and drink was unbelievable, and the setting could not be better. We opted for the "all-inclusive" and were not disappointed. You can relax on the beach or do any number of activities - all of which are included with your stay. We left our wallets at the front desk and never needed them all week - everything was taken care of. The island is so sparsely populated that you never feel cramped, and there is virtually no crime. I would highly recommend this resort for your next trip - Long Island's best resort for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes_smith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We would go back in a heartbeat- we loved the gorgeous setting/ landscaping, extremely clean accomodations, delicious food, helpful staff (they went way above and beyond.) We thought it was a good value because so many activities were included in the rate. Our nine year old son loved it and was never bored even without a t.v. in the cottage-(he did bring his ds and portable dvd player.) He had a blast at the pool and playing foos ball every night after dinner, they also have a pool table and an outdoor ping pong table. Everything was extremely laid back which we loved. The beach immediately in front of the resort is rocky (but still really dramatic and beautiful) but the resort will take you to a variety of calm sandy beaches for snorkeling/swimming and will even pack a lunch for you. We did rent a car for 3 days just to explore the island on our own. We have been to several of the Bahama Out Islands and the USVI's and we feel that this is our favorite island /resort so far. I had 2 mosquito bites and maybe 10 sand flea bites the whole time I was there- son and husband had about the same number so bugs were not really a problem for us. Used Repel Lemon Eucalyptus when we thought about it but sometimes we forgot, which is probably when we go bitten. Fabulous trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.2 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Andros
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing