We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and very low key!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Maris Resort Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very low key!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We first started by staying at Beach Bungalows and Bonefishing Lodge in Long Island, Bahams and was very unhappy. So unhappy that we packed up early the third morning into our vacation and booked ourselves into Stella Maris Resort Club. We call them and asked if we could check in early and they offered to even come and get us at 8:30 in the morning. Luckily we had our own car. We drove there and arrived around 8:45 and they took us to a gorgeous room overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We were so relieved to get out of the "Bates Motel" in Long Island (as in the movie Phyco) and the people who run and own the Stella Maris Resort were to friendly and engaging and did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Our favorite part of the day was the afternoon when we would walk the wooden boardwalk to the natural, tide drive pool that was just magnificent. After a couple of hours of swimming and sitting in the sun, we meandered back to the Moonshine Bar where we had a couple of Kaliks and took it easy by the Moonshine Pool. The food was excellent, the maid service was excellent, the rooms were nicely appointed. I can't think of anything that wasn't wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank industrialtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
With sunny regards from Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    43
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
65
95
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stella Maris is a wonderful low key island getaway: no crowds, no loud music, no tour boats, just good accommodations, food and a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Plus the excellent bonefishing that is available just minutes away with Bonafide Bonefishing. We enjoyed a very laid back and relaxing trip, and the setting is just gorgeous.

Room Tip: We chose one of the one bedroom bungalows, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our one-bedroom cottages do give you some room to spread out, and that nice little swimming pool right outside your door. We are so fortunate to have Bonafide Bonefishing to cater to our angling guests, hope you had a good catch!
Until we see you again, sunny regards from your friends at Stella Maris Resort - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

An excellent resort with stunning views ,friendly staff and many,many exciting venues. The sailing and snorkeling were great. The service from the time you arrive at the airport until departure was outstanding. The food was great. The natural (ocean) pool and is a must !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
That natural ocean pool is great, will have to see if we have a nice photo to share.
Thank you for your compliments to staff, and chef! Hope to see you on Long Island again soon.
With sunny regards from all at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was my second visit to Stella Maris; the first being too many years ago to count! I like off-the-beaten path destinations, away from cruise ships, packaged tours and casinos. Long Island fits the bill. From the East Coast, you can fly direct to Nassau then take an easily arranged scheduled or charter flight to Long Island. It is close enough even for a long weekend and a snap to travel from Florida. The front desk staff will assist you in planning the details. The airport is about 5 minutes from the hotel, so you can be on the beach within minutes of your arrival.
The resort is self-contained and has a meal plan. Chef Bruno does a great job of adding specials so that there is good choice and variety. Lots of fresh fruit and local fish! All of the staff, from housekeeping to dining room and beach bar, will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The owners will take the time to personally greet you and make sure that you do not miss anything that makes this island unique. They obviously love what they do.
The rooms are quite nice, kept very clean and well maintained. I stayed in Room #11, a second floor ocean view with balcony, facing east towards the sunrise. Quiet and convenient to the main building, but you can fall asleep to the sound of the sea. With the ocean breeze and the ceiling fan, I never used the air conditioning. The resort thoughtfully provides beach towels and insect spray.
As with all the islands, bring repellant, baby oil or lotion and something for insect bites. The "no see ums" can be fierce in the Bahamas!
The resort sets up excursions to some of the other beaches and will provide beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkeling equipment and water jugs. By all means, rent a car at least one day of your stay and see Dean's Blue Hole, Lowes Beach and have fresh conch salad at Kenny's Seaside bar.
( I do mean fresh - he picks them up right from the sea and every item is made to order right in front of you. The cracked conch is the best I've had!) The beaches on Long Island are spectacular, with powdery white sand and every shade of blue in the water.
Pick up some natural sponges and Long Island sea salt for souvenirs.
At the resort itself, there are two swimming pools, a beach with a good breakwater and a fabulous natural rock pool reached by a wooden walkway. The only thing lacking is a bit of shade by the rock pool. :)
Stella Maris is run with a great combination of German efficiency and out Island Bahamian friendliness and charm. I traveled solo and felt completely safe and comfortable. I met people from Germany and the UK and never lacked for company when I wanted it. I have traveled a lot in the Bahamas and the Caribbean and it doesn't get much better. I will definitely plan another trip!

Room Tip: Second floor, rooms 10-14, are a good choice. If you are a group, there are villas right on the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jt00187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're delighted that you found your way back to Stella Maris, and Long Island for a second visit. Even happier to hear we'll be welcoming you back again! Thank you for your compliments to management and staff, and for your excellent suggestions. I'm sure other readers exploring via TripAdvisor will find them helpful.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoy Stella Maris enough to have been three times, and we expect to return often. The main attractions for us are the casual and very friendly atmosphere, beautiful beaches, activities and Chef Bruno's excellent food. We've come to know most of the staff and feel that they are friends along with some of the guests from previous visits. Our preference is to vacation in a setting where it is "real"; i.e. owned and managed by folks who care and seem to do it for the right reasons. A particular winter season advantage of Long Island is that it is far enough south that the temperatures are generally in 70s to 80s Fahrenheit. We choose the all-inclusive plan, which includes everything but special excursions with no surprises when it's time to pay the bill! The only disappointment during this stay was that the Internet Wi-Fi service was unstable; a problem that has likely been corrected by now.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldPerrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your compliments to our resort, owners, and staff! We are most fortunate to have guests like you who return time and again to your 'Island Home'.
The inclusive packages are great: flights from Nassau, accommodations, meals and our many complimentary guest activities.
So sorry that the wi-fi was acting up during your stay, one of the challenges of our beautifully remote Long island.
We are fortunate in our winter weather. Did you know that the Tropic of Cancer crosses the north end of Long Island? We are about 300 miles southeast of the Miami/Fort Lauderdale area, and enjoy moderate temperatures throughout the year.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of Stella Maris. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sunny regards from your friends at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stella Maris is a wonderful resort with a family atmosphere. This was our third visit. Two weeks of gourmet dining thanks to Chef Bruno. The owners and staff treated us like family. Very relaxed and laid back; beautiful beaches. Plenty of sun & fun. We'll definitely go back.
Note: Sand Fleas can be an issue in light wind and showers, but, hey, that's the beach.

Room Tip: We stay with another couple in the San Dollar Cottage, which has two bedrooms, each with a private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our first time in the Bahamas and the Hotel Stella Maris on Long Island was a just perfect choice! Already from the very beginning, the friendly backoffice staff was more than helpful with the organisation of the transfer flight from Nassau to Long Island and with any other of the thousand questions I had. The food at the hotel and beach bar was just great and it was easy to have dinner each night at the hotel because the food menu varied each night and everyone could find a meal which suited him/her.

We had a simple king size bed room which was beatifully furnished and very clean.

The beaches were awesome and we also frequently used the free transfer servie to surrounding other beaches which was offered by Stella Maris. They were always perfectly on time and everything we requested was planned and organised to the t. So it really felt like home because we just could rely on Stella Maris.

In general the whole staff, was super friendly and we felt very welcome. And I will always remember crazy - cake - baking Sue from the beach bar! What a woman!! :) Hoping to go back to Long Island soon again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 396Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your compliments, Sue and all our staff appreciate feedback from our guests. It is so nice to hear 'it felt like home', and that you enjoyed our wonderful Long Island beaches. We hope you'll be returning to your new 'Island home' again soon. Until then, sunny regards from your new friends at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.2 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing