We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I spent eight days in a 1 BR villa with a pool. We are seasoned world travelers, and our experience was as good as it gets in terms of the helpfulness of the staff, the raw beauty of the location, the food prepared and served, and the activities available. One of the managers picked us up in Nassau in a small aircraft for the 50 minute flight. Upon arrival, we were collected and delivered to our villa within 5 minutes. For lunch we ate at the Moonshine Bar and were graciously served by Sue. It became a daily ritual. We ate our other meals - breakfast and dinner - in the dining room and chose the meal plan. Every night was superb! Daily we were taken on beach, snorkeling, or kayaking excursions on our schedule. Most of the time we would have a stunningly gorgeous setting to ourselves until we were picked up at the agreed upon time. The managers and proprietors often personally attended to our needs and chauffeured us around. Their recommendations were always just perfect. The villa had air conditioning. Even though our stay was August 7 -15, we never used the air conditioning. The breeze kept us very comfortable. At night the stars were awesome. We even caught the August 12-13 meteor shower.

If you are looking for lots of action and glitz and casinos, do not go to Stella Maris. If you are looking for beauty, laid back island life, great food and drink, comfort, and memories galore, you cannot beat Stella Maris.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas by the pool are strategically located and have a great nighttime breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72wolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for your compliments to staff, management, and our exquisite Long Island. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Best Sunny regards from Sue, and all of us at Stella Maris. Hope to have you back at your 'Island Home' again soon - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    44
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
65
98
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and two children, ages 9 and 7, just spent out first week in Long Island and Stella Maris. We had an incredible time, but the wekk was not long enough to do all we wanted to do (and not do) in Long Island, so we will be back to Sella Maris. The Stella Maris resort staff were all very helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go. I will write this review in sections to make it easier to read.
The room
We stayed in the Sand Dollar Cottage. The bedrooms, closets and bathrooms were all very big and the beds were comfortable. We only needed the air conditioner one night as there was a nice Long Island breeze for most of our stay. We were greeted with so many nice touches at our room: a platter of fresh fruit, four beach towels ready in our room when we arrived, bottled water in the two bedrooms, in the living room and in the refrigerator, and a bottle of gin with two cans of coconut water. There is a coffee maker in the room, and plates and silverware fi you choose to eat in the room. The room was always clean and the service was great each day.
The food and drinks
We ate at the restaurant a number of times, for breakfast and dinner. The food was fresh, well prepared and tasted great, and there was variety. My kids had many choices and they loved the New Zealand butter. The Kalik was cold and the wine choices were varied enough for us. The lunches at the Moonshine bar and grill were very good and came with great tips on excursions from the staff.
The resort
It must be safe at the resort if there are no keys to the rooms. We always felt comfortable on property and everyone asked us if we needed anything, from a raft to take for our kids in the water to advice on where to go for an adventure. We did not get a chance to take out the bicycles, sailboats or kayaks. We did take excursions to Deal's Beach (for snorkeling) and Cape Santa Maria (for beaching). The drivers took us there and picked us up as discussed,a nd were so friendly. The pools looked nice, but we never went into them, we were too busy in the ocean, the sea and the natural pool, which was amazing. The cave on property was so cool; we went in the late afternoon one day as the bats were all flying around the roof preparing to leave. What an experience!
The flights
It was great having Joel fly us from Nassau to Long Island and back rather than deal with commercial flights with Pineapple Air or some other airline. The views from the plane were great, and the flights were smooth and on time.
The island
We did not have enough time to experience all that we wanted. We got to Dean's Blue Hole to jump off the cliff and spent hours swimming and snorkeling in Turtle Cove. We snorkeled with a sea turtle in 3 feet of water. We snorkeled across the inlet to Guana Cay and fed the curly tailed iguanas and soldier (hermit) crabs. The color and beauty of the fish and coral on the various reefs was breathtaking, as were the beaches at Salt Pond, Cape Santa Maria and Deal's Beach. We were the only people on the beaches every day we were there. The people are incredibly nice. Everyone knows everyone else, everyone waves to each other and all want to tell their favorite stories. We met a family and went to their house and now will keep in touch via facebook. It was beautiful at Columbus Point the day we went there, and the snorkeling in the harbor was great. The rock pools and love beach are incredible at low tide.
We rented a car from the resort. It was easy and a solid car.
A paradise
I cannot say enough about how much we loved our trip to Stella Maris and Long Island. We are working our way through the family islands but we might have to return here because there is so much more we want to do. It was great to get away from the crowds and overscheduled life we have in the States. Our kids had so much fun. My daughter was crying when we left.

Thank you all at Stella Maris!

P.S. This is not "Atlantis"
The Atlantis resort has the water slides, casino and restaurants, but they also have the crowds and the expense. We stayed at the Atlantis for two days after we left Stella Maris and it was very depressing for me, as the peace and friendliness of Long Island was exchanged for crowds and rudeness of many of the guests at Atlantis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deo741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are happy to have you join the Stella Maris 'family' and look forward to your return to your new 'island home'.
With sunny regards from everyone at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of our favorite places to stay in the Bahamas, and we fish the Bahamas over a month a year (used to be over 3 months). Stella has it all, from stunning panoramic views of the blue-purple Atlantic Ocean, to a wide variety of ocean side and lee side beaches, snorkeling, diving, reef and offshore fishing, and some of the best bonefishing in the islands, led by ace guide Docky Smith. Docky is super popular so be sure to book your fishing days with him as far in advance as possible. And you can also DIY bonefish on flats near Stella or rent a car and head south to fish the Deadman's Cay and Clarence Town areas, or up north to fish around Cape Santa Maria. Jill Smith and the staff at Stella are awesome, and they can help with anything you need, including car rentals or setting up whatever activities you have in mind. The resort has planned activities most days and evenings and they will give you the rundown during your arrival orientation. In terms of accommodations, Stella offers choices suitable for everyone, from regular hotel style rooms, to bungalows, to beachfront homes with private swimming pools. We love the Rainbow House. If you want to treat yourself, stay there. Food is good at the resort, especially the snapper when they have it fresh, but be prepared for high food prices, just the way it is in the better Out Island locations. And remember that Stella has their own air charter service from Nassau (and Exuma or other islands on request) which makes it easy to come and go. Have fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Best regards, and thanks from Docky for your compliments. And from hotel management and staff, too! Love spending a day in a rental car exploring Long Island, it seems you never run out of things to 'discover'. Rainbow Villa is a great spot - 3 bedrooms and that beautiful big private pool - it's popular with families or a group of 3 couples. We are a bit 'off the beaten path' and our flight service between Nassau or George Town, Exuma and Stella Maris makes it so much easier to get here. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With sunny regards from your friends at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Long Island. Last year my wife and I stayed at the Cape Santa Maria resort, but this year we opted to divide our time between the Cape and Stella Maris. We wanted to take advantage of the "Fly Free" program between Nassau and Long Island, and also be a little closer to some DIY bone fishing at Adderley Bay. I was happy with the mix. My wife still prefers the Cape. Here is a rather intensive comparison of the two from my perspective.
Stella Maris CSM
1. Great food 1. Great food
2. Very comfortable room with great 2. Comfortable room. So-so A/C. Fantastic ocean
A/C, but so-so view. view! Just steps to the beach.
3. "Fly Free" program 3. No flying allowance
4. Lots of beach options with free 4. If you love looking at beautiful white sand and
transportation to many of these, crystalline blue water, you don't need to go
including the Cape beach. anywhere
(Love Beach is AWESOME, isolated,
and appropriately named...our highlight
of our stay as SM :) )
5. VERY FUN rum punch party! 5. No parties. Just peaceful days and quiet dinners
6. Free bikes and kayaks 6. Ditto
7. Definitely more kids here. Pools 7. Few kids here in my two visits, and always at the far
are more conducive to young kids end of the beach near the villas.
swimming. Also has a playground
and tennis courts. This is a plus
if you are bringing your children
or like to be around other's children.
It's a minor detraction if you want to
hang out around the pool with your
sweetheart.
8. Staff is helpful and 8. Staff is helpful and always exceptionally
accommodating of everything I asked friendly. They make it feel like they are happy
but not very personable. (Sue at the to see you every time you are around.
Moonshine Bar was the exception. She
was fun. I also really liked Rico ).
9. Poor water pressure in the shower 9. Good water pressure in the shower
10. Multiple pools 10. No pool, but the bay is one big pool
11. Plenty of good snorkling nearby 11. Not much to see most days in the bay
12. Rental cars available 12. Rental cars available
13. Owners are on-site and are 13. Owned by a Canadian group. Managers
personable are typically on-site and very friendly
14. Seems to lean more to the 14. Fewer Americans (during my visits), more
American and German visitors European "vibe"

Room Tip: Dolphin House is awesome if you bring a bigger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Delighted to have you stay with us. Yes, the Love Beach is one of my favorite places to go with my sweetheart, so very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed this wonderful beach hideaway. It is a hard to read your comparison, I'm on Google Chrome, so perhaps it's my browser? But It seems as though you have discovered that Long Island is a great destination with a good variety of activities and a diverse clientele! Hope to see you and your wife back again soon,
With sunny regards from all at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The planes was delayed five hours and I knew I would miss my connection so I called Stella Maris. The wonderful women at the front desk (Yvonne? and Lakera) booked Orange Hill hotel (family run & close to the Nassau airport) and rescheduled our flights for the next morning. A cab was waiting for us at the Stella Maris airport and 10 minutes later we were in our cottage. The hotel rooms may have a better view but we enjoyed the extra space in the cottage which had cute decorations and were immaculately clean. Also, we were the only ones who used the pool which was steps outside our door. We relaxed at Moonshine's beach bar and over the course of a week became friends with two wonderful Long Island bartenders Sue and Queen. We loved the Salt Water pool, you've got to see it to believe it and visited it several times a day to experience it during high and low tide. Peter and his grandson drove us on several complimentary excursions and we appreciated the fact that the he was willing to send us on a shorter kayaking trip, we enjoyed Deal's Beach and loved the snorkling at Columbus Point (I saw a turtle!) Except for the rum punch party with a rake and scrape band, it was quiet in the evening but we enjoyed talking to Shawn at the bar and there is always the pool table and foose ball but my favorite activity was walking to the beach and looking at the stars. Service at breakfast (Laura?) and dinner was excellent and Bruno's food was an interesting combination of Bahamian and German. Everyone was friendly and helpful but most importantly seemed genuinely happy to be working at Stella Maris, a sure sign of a well run resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments to our staff. We are glad we were able to help you through your flight delay, as a remote destination, the journey is part of the adventure. I love the snorkeling at Columbus Point, too - one of my favorites for exceptional 'finds'!
On behalf of all the owner/managers and staff, I send you sunny regards, and a wish to welcome you back to Long island and Stella Maris Resort soon! - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

You have to make your own night life here but if you want your very own beach, this is the Island to be on. The staff at Stella Maris couldn't have been more friendly. Trips around the north end of the Island are included and realy save on Taxi fare. Everything in the Bahamas is pricey, expect about 2 times the US, but this trip was truly worth it. Would love to make this trip again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Our very best wishes to the bride & groom. We are so very pleased that you chose to honeymoon with us. My husband and I honeymooned at Stella Maris in 1990. We loved exploring the secluded beaches and roadside stops. The excursions we offer at the hotel are great. We also enjoyed renting a car for a day and exploring on the hotel's complimentary bikes.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon - maybe an anniversary visit?
Sunny regards from all of us at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived by boat (three of us), then had the rest of the family fly over (15 more) and just loved everything and everyone on Long Island. From the great food to the warm smiles and of course those RUM punch parties that Stella Maris throws once a week....All fantastic!
We will be back........Thank You all for making our summer vacation great!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace34346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Our thanks to your family for spending some of your summer with us! We are delighted to hear that the 18 of you enjoyed your time on Long Island, and the Rum Punch :) Hope to see some, all,next generation? back at Stella Maris Resort again soon.
Sunny regards from your Long Island 'family' - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.1 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.2 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing